Rose's Creative Commons Resource Library :: Where To Find Images

in #writing6 years ago (edited)

At The Writers’ Block, one of the things we do when we welcome new members is check their Steemit blog for any possible plagiarism or copyright infringement. The most common thing we’ve come across is the misuse of images.

Most people are not aware that using an image they don’t own is strictly prohibited, unless they obtain a license. The use of images is governed not just by international copyright law, but by the Steemit Terms of Service as well.

@RhondaK wrote an article called If You Publish An Image, You'd Better Own The License For It. Her post explains in detail why it’s important to make sure the images you include in your post either are licensed to you or fall under the Creative Commons license. I suggest you take a moment to go read her post. Once you’re done, come back here to learn about what websites offer the types of images you can use.

Rose's REsource Library.jpg Sources for images used are Pexels, Unsplash, and two from Canva: first and second.

How Do I Find Images I Can Use?

In the weeks that I’ve helped to welcome new members to The Writers’ Block, I’ve noticed that many people don’t know where to go to find images that fall under the Creative Commons license. I decided to compile a list of any sites I find that are either completely free (and legal) to use or have more affordable options for obtaining commercial licenses. Below I’ve listed some of the most popular sites, as well as a link to a spreadsheet that lists many more. Over time, as I become aware of more CC image websites, the spreadsheet will be updated.

  • Pixabay: FREE
  • Pexels: FREE
  • Pexels Videos: FREE
  • Unsplash: FREE
  • Canva: Most images are either free or just $1 (to use and download within 24 hours of purchase). They also have a very affordable premium plan. Check their website or the spreadsheet for more details.
  • Pngtree: Under the free account you are limited to two downloads per day. Not all images can be used commercially, so be aware of that as you browse. If you pay for premium, anything you download can be used for any purpose.
  • CC Image Resource Spreadsheet

Do I Need To Source CC Images?

Most of the websites that provide images under the Creative Commons license don’t require you to source back to them. It’s a good idea to offer a link back anyway. This makes your post more attractive to curation services and shows respect to the original artist.

Think about it this way: If you created something (photograph, drawing, story, etc), and someone tried to make money off of it without asking your permission or attributing it to you, how would that make you feel?

In Summary

We all love having images to enhance our blog posts, but they need to be used responsibly. The website I provided should give you many ways to find the images you need without stealing someone else’s intellectual property. Just make sure to source them properly and you should be fine.

In the coming weeks be on the lookout for a series of reviews I’ll be writing on the different image websites. I’ll cover in more depth what each websites’ requirements are in regards to licensing, attribution, the type of media they offer, and much more.


Sort:  

You should be aware at first that there are different Creative Commons licenses. Many of them, in fact, don't allow content usage for commercial purposes (what publishing on Steemit is).

Therefore it's very important under which CC License a photo is available and what we are able to do with it. As, in an example, some licenses don't allow creating derivative work or there might be some other restrictions.

As well, no matter what the site (where from we take the photo) says in general, it's important to know what the license for the particular photo demands, as most of Creative Commons licenses, in fact, demand attribution.

Here are some of the main Creative Commons licenses listed.
Here are some different licensing types.


Here are some examples of different licenses (and that are just a few examples):

There could be many other variations, therefore, it would be very wrong to assume that in general "the Creative Commons license don’t require you to source back to them," as it's simply not true.
It entirely depends from one license to another.

As well, here is a good guide how the attribution should look like when it's needed.

Great post @therosepatch! A lot of this stuff really isn't known by folks in general. I think a lot of times us in the 'industry' are aware of it, but regular folks are not. For me, the measuring stick is 'would my mom know about this?' More often than not, no.

So, it's good to have helpful rules to follow like this. And when in doubt, cite sources. You can never give too much credit, right?

Wow, this line is so relatable:

The measuring stick is 'would my mom know about this?' More often than not, no.

Yup, when you are in a field and you know the 'common sense' of its world. It's often to measure how general public relate to that 'common sense' by asking this question about a close person to you.

In my case "father" as my mom knows everything.

Exactly! Thanks, neg! :)

Congratulations! This exceptional post has been featured in Episode 13 of The STEEM Engine Express Podcast. Click the link to hear what I had to say, and keep up the good work!

This is fantastic, @therosepatch. Not only have you provided the important guidelines for image licensing and use, but you have also provided the resources bloggers need to find great images and remain in compliance with copyright laws. I will be referring to this often!

Thank you! Thank you for your help in putting this together! :)

This is very helpful. I was going to comment that I think it is just good practice to always provide a link to image sources, regardless of the permission license, and then I read @ana-maria's comment. So, even more reason to do so!

Great resource list!Looking forward to your reviews. Although you like Canva and I found it annoying.

Canva definitely has a learning curve. I found that when I first discovered it. But canva is not for everyone. Also the app sucks. The desktop version of the website is much better.

Ah, I remember @Rhondak post.

I try to make all my 'Original' posts contains only images I own if possible. Though I think it slips out of me sometimes. I always try to mention the source of an image when I use one.

There are also a growing number of Steemians who are electing to use Creative Commons Attribution. Look for the tag #ccommonsart as well as #creative-commons. 🦋

I'm still fairly new to Steemit. One of the challenges I've set myself for improving my content is stepping up what I use for images. I have only ever used images from my iphone or from pixabay, so I think I haven't crossed any boundaries I shouldn't. However, I am feeling an itch to expand my image use. Thanks for your post, very timely for me.

Thank you! I'm glad this will help you :)

Fantastic post Rose, it will benefit many to share this post on their blogs!
This is the reason that people on Farsebook are breaking the law with malice. They share other's images willy-nilly without a care about copyright!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.13
JST 0.028
BTC 57292.40
ETH 3073.43
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.32