Free :: 50 Word Story

in #fiftywords7 years ago

This is an entry for the excellently managed Fifty Word Story Prompt Challenge coordinated by @jayna.

The prompt this week: spring

A note: my mom is older and lives alone, and I sometimes I worry about her, as I live roughly on the other side of the country. She also has a cat who is never allowed to go outside. Never ever. Sorry, mom. If you're reading this, don't read any further.



The police broke down the door while I watched. I hadn’t seen my mother in months. But I saw her now. A sullen trapezoid of light fell across her lonely body. And her cat. The cat escaped with a spring in her step.

That’s when I knew she was gone.






Photos by @negativer

Join us at The Writers Block on Discord.
A great community of writers there, helping each other get better at what they enjoy doing.

Sort:  

That cat! Sad at the same time as I imagine cats to be a great company for our elders.

I'm not sure if I'm allowed to laugh, but this is comical and yet bitter-sweet.

I'm glad you saw some humor in it. The cat really doesn't care, does he? He just wants to be freeeeeee! Thx for reading :)

Why does everything always have to go so badly with your stories :0 But in all seriousness, I feel the same about Mom with no one to check in on her regularly. Faithful kitties til the end.

I know. I hope mom is ok sometimes when I don't see her on FB for a day, and I worry she'd have no way to say anything to anyone at the end, or to ask for help.

Ow! That one got me in the gut, @negativer! Especially since cats and elders both have a special place in my heart! You were right to warn your mother. Well done, by the way. This is very poignant.

Thanks! I think my mom did heed the warning; she didn't mention having read this, so I think I can unsaddle some of my guilt

Oh my gosh, Neg! You have feelings towards other people and that is what fuels your insanely horrifying stories! I understand now!
Woah!
This made for a great read all the same, so thank you! :D

I'm glad you see that @caleblailmusik. I do actually hold onto a lot of emotions for various reasons, and I use that to power some of my stories. I don't think I have enough imagination, so I burn the emotions as fuel. Thanks!

"burn the emotions as fuel" XD
That's awful and hilarious too :P
And you're welcome! (as always)

I am not sure how to react. LOL but to say ... the cat was not free but was free to nap at will. There may be greater freedom in that.

Sending you and your mom some positive vibes:)

Thanks @prydefoltz! My cats are free as well...free to run around inside their little prison we call home. :)

A poem for you cats.

prison, sweet prison
where the doors and windows remain shut
but the pets and the kibble flow freely
And the mice, stuffed-dumb, are easily caught

My cats approve of all of this. Food, safety, mice, and lots of pettings.

Thank you for the poem :)

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by negativer 🥓 from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, theprophet0, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows. Please find us at the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you would like to delegate to the Minnow Support Project you can do so by clicking on the following links: 50SP, 100SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1000SP, 5000SP.
Be sure to leave at least 50SP undelegated on your account.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63191.06
ETH 2551.41
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.65