My story so far - easy access guide 🏰 plus updates on whats coming next.

in #fiction8 years ago

This is just a quick update for those of you who are following my story as I write it here on steemit, or an introduction of sorts to those of you new to my work on here.

I started here on steemit in July and I have been writing ever since, most of the content I post relates to the original fantasy fiction I write exclusively on steemit - but I do post about other topics from time to time.

When I started writing this story at the beginning of the year I had no intention of allowing it to go public, but once I realised the opportunity steemit provides authors like myself - I decided to jump in the deep end and publish as I wrote.

I will admit at first I wrote a sub story based in the world I had begun to build still unwilling to let go of my main story just yet, but as I continued to write it I realised the story I was publishing whilst set in the future was starting to risk revealing major plot lines of my original storyline.

I had to stop before I tarnished the reading experience and sense of discovery, I hope to instill in my overall story and the journey I want the reader to take.

This endeavour was not a waste of time for me or the reader, as I know this part will be included in the main story line in the distant future of the story.

This effort resulted in the following seven part series:

Part 1 Disturbance
Part 2 Survival
Part 3 Escape
Part 4 Shelter
Part 5 The Discussion
Part 6 The Long Watch
Part 7 The Kawahlin

During this time I also started to participate in the Description on the Spot challenges and I wrote another piece, which I also intend to incorporate into my main story at some point fairly early on in the series:

Description on the spot Wanderer

At this point I knew I need more time to work on my storyline, I knew what I wanted to have happen I just had to arrange it all in my mind and figure out how to go about telling this story - who should appear when and do what and when should I reveal the great mysteries?

These are questions I am still answering for myself, I have written countless pages of notes, character profiles, descriptions, backstories and even family trees.

The world of Keltorin is so complex and varied, a lot like our own world. This reality may be set in fantasy and have magic and people with abilities, but like any world it relies on a structure that could and would be able to exist and function - to a point.

Along with this world I have created histories for all the different cultures, some I have revealed to the reader and others remain to be discovered.

As I was creating all of this material, history, culture and even a hand drawn map, I decided to create a book to be used as a resource guide not only for my but for the reader as well.

This book is written from the perspective of the Master of Knowledge from the Kingdom of Valcanne, a Kingdom of major focus in the story - I want the reader to know that the book is written by a man and because of this the information contained within it, is subject to the bias of that man or even his lack of knowledge.

The book is broken into sections areas and topics of focus the first of which was my main Kingdom Valcanne:

Keltorin's World Map and People

The Great War

The Endless Stalemate

The Battle of the Four Tides

The Forging of the Five Kingdoms of Balamy

Trials and Trades

My next focus was the Fauna of Keltorin and all the animals I had created:

Mentoch

Baracaw

Razor Whip

Banded Ant

Firikwea

Kimrie

Then it was time for some flora, different plants medicinal and poisonous alike:

Tellums Leaf

Bellums Root

Fellar Vine

Itono Bush

Cintar Seeds

Willows Claw

Once I had finished creating all the animals and plants (there are still plenty I haven't yet revealed) I decided it was time to flesh out the different countries, their people, history, culture, trade relationships and even religious views and beliefs.

This took some time and again there are many I haven't published on here, as the Kingdom of Valcanne's knowledge only goes so far and Keltorin is a big world.

Here is the countries and Kingdoms I have written about so far:

The Kingdom of Imporo

The Kingdom of Ralteith

The Kingdom of Fentone

The Kingdom of Almain

Irahdah

Kurtah

The Emerald City

So what's next? Well I intend to write a bit more about the Gods, their names and the role they play on Keltroin.

I will also continue to be working behind the scenes fleshing out the story and the characters, even their backstories. I am also trying to sew the fragments of story I have written into a cohesive story that flows naturally.

There is a lot of information I have written by hand that I am organising into folders to try and keep a grasp on things but this story and world are so massive, ensuring the structure and integrity of the story remains intact is taking a lot of time and effort which the readers don't see.

As I am not quite ready for the final leap into the main story just yet, I have been thinking is there anything else I can inform the readers about Keltorin and it's inhabitants?

In truth at this point I'm not sure what else to tell you without starting the story, do you have anything you'd like to learn more about the world of Keltorin?


All images are either created by myself or available in the public domain and are linked to my steemimg gallery with all source information

Like what you've read so far?

or follow me on twitter @krystlehaines

Sort:  

Thanks always writing something these days :D

Thanks so much :D

Good luck and thanks with sharing

Thanks and no worries :)

You don't need luck with all that hard work you are putting in. You are going to do well with the fires in your belly. On top of that you are an inspiration by sharing your process. It's a fantastic way of getting us geared up to read when you are finished with your creations. I will be going through your posts to learn more about steemit and writing. Kudos and keep the fires burning.

Thanks but just a heads up people really don't like copy and paste comments where you're just trying to get people to vote on your post and give as little feedback or input on theirs.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 58522.98
ETH 3089.61
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.41