Keltorin's Flora and Fauna of Note - Mentoch - Valcanne's Guide to Keltorin

in #fiction8 years ago (edited)

Flora and Fauna

The following contains information pertaining to the different Flora and Fauna found on Keltorin, this is not a complete guide it only contains records on species of note for abilities or harm they may cause.

Mentoch

Location:

The Mentoch are mostly found inhabiting the higher grounds of the Varin Range, often found around the many rivers and large pools of melted snow that create them.

Appearance:

Mentoch are very large marine iguana's that reside in and around the pools and rivers, located in the top of the Varin Range.

They can grow over two meters in length once full grown, they are characterised by their vivid colourations and their horned face and spine.

They have been known to range in colour from turquoise to amber and their eyes change with them as form of camouflage, their overall colouration also seems to be due to their immediate environment.

Their thick scaled hide acts as armour and most timber weapons will not penetrate the thick hide.

Their large clawed hands aid in fast movement across all terrains, they are also highly adept at swimming - strongly aided by their thick muscled tails and can hold their breaths for elongated periods of time.

Their mouths are full of sharp pointed sleep and they can be seen drooling saliva while they soak the heat.

Dangers:

The Mantoch are renowned for their foul temperaments, it is best to avoid them at all costs.

They move faster than a man on land and twice as fast in the water, if you enter their territory they will attack unprovoked.

If bitten by a Mentoch there are multiple dangers, their bites not only contain bacteria that cause a massive infection in most wounds even those that do receive adequate treatment. Their bite also transfers a venom that causes the the flesh around the wound to begin to die spreading faster the longer the wound is left untreated.

Treatment:

The only known treatment for the bite from a Mentoch is to use a heated blade and cut away the rotting flesh then, reheat the blade and seal the wound and hope you got it all so it doesn't continue to spread further.

All images are linked to my steemimg gallery with more information

Like what you've read so far?

Sort:  

Hey Krystle,
This is great. Ive read only a little of what you've written so far. But im looking forward to actually going back (to older posts) and having a better read through - As your content deserves it.
I really like the world building aspect and think that could be a really cool niche on steemit. Perhaps you could collaborate with some other users for some artwork like drawing the Mentoch or maps / scenes etc. It might help to grow the comments section and promotion of your content a bit as well. But just an initial thought.

Hopefully I will have a more informed response once I've had a chance to read more in next few days. :)

@schro thank you so much for your awesome comment :D

I am so happy to hear your looking forward to checking out my older posts, I think if people were able to follow along a bit easier it would help as well - but I look forward to hearing any thoughts or opinions you may have when you get a chance :)

Funny thing is I won a bit of a competition with @kiddarko an artist who is actually going to create one of my characters for me - I am really excited to see how it turns out you should check it it out when you get the chance.

Also a few post back now I posted a map I made of the world it's not the best thing around but I got some attention over it and I think your right, images specifically relating to my story would be awesome I am always open to collaborating with talented artists to see what we can create together!

thats awesome content thank you for sharing :) i followed you ..perhaps u look at my blog and u find some graffiti that u like! <3 kalipo

Thanks for the vote and the comment I really appreciate it.

Just had a wander over to your page and saw your second last post, you're freakin awesome man love the realism in the faces and I can't believe you achieved it with spray paint - bloody brilliant!

Upvoted and followed!

Thats the third copy paste i have seen you spam. Please stop it.

Nice lizards! But I wouldnt want to get bitten by the that Mantoch in a million years. Very creative @krystle, keep them coming :)

Thanks @ricardoguthrie I appreciate the support!

New post up already much scarier animal in this one in my opinion.

Wow I never knew you got such beautiful lizzards.

Natures beauty is limitless and full of wonders just waiting to be found - and then adapted, transformed and morphed into my world :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 57913.08
ETH 2452.28
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.36