Story - ALICE - Part 7 (Final)

in #fiction7 years ago

Hey SteemFam!

Here's the final part of ALICE.

To read Parts 1 through 6, please click the links below:

Part 1, Part 2, Part 3, Part 4, Part 5, Part 6


"You wanted to ask me something the other day... what is it?"

We were sitting at our usual table at the diner. There weren't many people around since there were no good movies showing and this part of the town was pretty much deserted regardless.

I had had a terrible day at school. I was so distracted by "the question"... the one that was described as "something important", that I could not pay attention to anything taught the whole day. A couple of teachers seemed a little surprised at my lack of attention while the others didn't even notice that I had my eyes fixed on the windows the whole time.

I know I told Alice that I wasn't bothered about "the question", but I lied. I needed to know what he was thinking.

"I did?"

"Yea... after we got out of the house the other night", I whispered.

He looked at me. He seemed confused... a look which quickly turned into one of concern.

"What are you talking about?"

Now I was confused. Did he forget?

"After we came out of the "haunted house" (yes, I made the air quotes) you said that you wanted to ask me something important."

Something was wrong... I could feel it. The look on his face was something I hadn't seen before, and it worried me.

"We... we never went inside the house Marty."

What?

"Dude, you never showed. I waited outside the house for, like an hour. There was something weird going on in that place. I saw someone near the window of the first floor. I don't mean to freak you out... but it kinda looked like you. I tried calling out to you, I tried to get your attention by shining my flashlight on you, but when I did, you were gone."

"That's not possible. We went in together."

"No Marty, we didn't. I know I said I saw you in there, but just to make sure, I called your cell. You didn't answer, so I called your house phone. Your mom said you were in bed with a fever. You seemed to be speaking to someone in your sleep and then you were frozen stiff for like five minutes. You gave her quite a scare... and me too."

I could hear what he was saying, but his words were not making any sense to me. I was at that house... and I was with him at that house. There is no way that I could have dreamt those events in such vivid detail. It was more than just a fever dream... it had to be.

ALICE!

I turned to look around me... she wasn't there.

"Who are you looking for? What's going on with you?"

I turned to face him, unsure of whether I should tell him about Alice. I decided that I should. He needed to know, so that we could try and make sense of what had happened.

I told him everything - starting from how I met her, till our supposed adventure at the haunted house.

"Alice? Who the F is Alice?"

"I don't know who she is... she never told me, and I never really asked."

"Is she here?"

"I-I haven't seen her since that day I came to meet you here... at least, I think I came here... I'm not sure of anything anymore. I honestly don't know what is going on."

"Okay. Can you at least describe her?"

Describe her?

I stared at him with a blank look. At the back of my mind, I was searching for a mental picture of her. But I couldn't... I couldn't find one.

"Marty?"

"I-I can't remember what she looked like. What's going on Jacob?"

We sat in silence, staring at each other. Neither of us knew what to say, or how to explain the things that we had experienced. It all seemed so real and unreal at the same time.

Were my memories false? Or were his?


Some illustrations may be uploaded later.


I recently finished writing a short story, based on Netflix's Stranger things. If you would like to read it, please check the links below:

Story- How Long Have I Been Here - Part 1
Story- How Long Have I Been Here - Part 2
Story- How Long Have I Been Here - Part 3
Story- How Long Have I Been Here - Part 4


Thank you for reading 🙂

Please upvote, resteem and follow.


Check out my other works below


Click here button to follow me and stay tuned for more to come.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.16
JST 0.034
BTC 64333.84
ETH 2760.35
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.65