Story - ALICE - Part 6

in #fiction7 years ago

Hey SteemFam!

Here's part 6 of ALICE.

To read Parts 1 through 5, please click the links below:

Part 1, Part 2, Part 3, Part 4, Part 5


No no no no no... where the hell did she go?!

"Everything okay?"

I looked at Jacob as I tried to mask the look of worry on my face. I think he might have caught a glimpse of it... I could see that he looked worried, but he didn't say anything.

"We should check out the upper floor... we might find something there."

I nodded.

As we slowly made our way up the stairs, I scoured the area around us to see if Alice was nearby... she wasn't.

We walked up the stairs, trying to make as little sound as we could. It didn't make sense for us to do that since the house was abandoned and the neighborhood was pretty much asleep. But we did it anyway... you could blame it on us having watched too many TV shows.

From the outside, the house looked pretty massive. The inside seemed to confirm the same. It looked like it was built for royalty or something. Whoever built this place sure had a lot of spare change.

It seemed like all that money could not save the house from time and the weather. For the most part, the house looked like it needed some serious work done. Wallpapers peeling off, glass chandeliers half destroyed (by vandals I presumed), pieces of furniture rotting away in piles and stains on the dirty yet pretty rugs. Dust lay everywhere and on everything. Our footprints were the only things that disturbed this cover.

A few stairs squeaked under our weight as we made our way to the upper floor. It was to be expected considering the condition of the house. Apart from that and the sound of air going in and out of us, there was no other sound to be heard. My heart sank to the pit of my stomach. I grew more and more nervous as we reached the top of the stairs. The hair on the back of my neck stood and my skin began to crawl.

"Did you feel that?"

I felt it alright... and I did not like it. I wanted to get out as fast as my legs could carry me, but I couldn't. My body wasn't responding. My legs wouldn't move... I was frozen.

Jacob did not notice that I was standing frozen on the top stair. He continued to move forward into the hallway. I tried to call him back, but I could not get any words out of my mouth.

You look like you've seen a ghost

That voice!

I turned around swiftly, to find myself facing Alice.

"Where the hell have you been?", I whispered.

"Everything alright back there?", I heard Jacob whisper from a few feet away from me. He was aiming his cell phone flashlight towards me.

"You look pale... did you-"

"No... I just got cold for some reason. Must be the weather."

"Right. The weather."

The weather? That was a dumb thing to say. It's warm out since it's, you know... summer?

Shut it.

I walked towards Jacob. He still had his flashlight trained on me and frankly, that bothered me. The look on his face made me wonder if he bought my excuse... I sure didn't. Why did I freeze? I wasn't scared, to say the least. The paranormal never bothered me.

The rest of the search was pretty uneventful. We did not hear any strange voices... or any noise for that matter. Nothing moved, nothing brushed past us, no doors slammed shut, no cold spots were experienced. Really... truly... uneventful.

To say that we were both disappointed would have been an understatement. Honestly though, no one was more disappointed than Alice. My guess is that she was bummed that she did not get a chance to meet another disembodied spirit.

After coming out of the "haunted house", Jacob and I decided to meet over the weekend, to discuss our midnight tour of the house. He said that there was something he needed to ask me... something important. We decided to meet at our usual hangout - the local diner, which was a little ways from the town's only movie theatre.

I went to the diner, Alice in tow, at the agreed time and sat at our usual table. After an hour and a half, I realized that he was gonna be a no show and I decided to go back home.

It's weird that he ditched you.

"His parents probably held him back. I can always talk to him in school."

You can, but aren't you curious about what he wanted to ask you?

"Not really."

You worried he caught you talking to me?

I looked at Alice. I wasn't surprised at her question. The same thought had crossed my mind too. If he did catch me speaking to Alice, all I had to do was explain it to him. Being the "ghost-nut" that he was, he was sure to believe me... right?


To be continued...


Some illustrations may be uploaded later.


I recently finished writing a short story, based on Netflix's Stranger things. If you would like to read it, please check the links below:

Story- How Long Have I Been Here - Part 1
Story- How Long Have I Been Here - Part 2
Story- How Long Have I Been Here - Part 3
Story- How Long Have I Been Here - Part 4


Thank you for reading 🙂

Please upvote, resteem and follow.


Check out my other works below


Click here button to follow me and stay tuned for more to come.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.16
JST 0.034
BTC 64333.84
ETH 2760.35
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.65