Weekly Anthology | March 19 - March 25

in #curation6 years ago

weekly-header-mar19-25.jpg

Every Sunday, I collect and showcase an anthology of my week on Steemit in case you may have missed something you enjoy.

It's been a wonderful, slightly hectic, exciting week. I had the opportunity to participate in a few contests (and win a couple!), make a couple new friends on the platform, and dive deeply into the female & LGBT+ focused communities on Steemit.

Plus, there's some exciting news brewing in my personal world!

We are embarking on our first voyage in the Slow Rolling Home!

My partner and I are continuing to construct the interior of our converted school bus tiny house and have decided to take a trip to our friends' secluded, remote woodland property to reduce distractions and sprint to the finish line.

More on that soon!

Without further ado! This week on Steemit...


great

What would you do on Steemit if you had over 5,000 SP? | Contest Entry for @MountainJewel

The generous and ever-talented @mountainjewel hosted a 200 SP delegation contest, simply because they are nice! Their post-prompt for entires:

What would you do if you have over 5,000 SP?

While I'd imagined what it might be like to have that kind of power, I hadn't clearly defined for myself how I would make the most of it. I submitted my entry just in time and I won!

Thank you @mountainjewel for hosting this contest and for your contribution to the Steemit community.

Read the full contest entry and consider defining for yourself what you'd do with a little extra power.



los9

Ladies of Steemit, Volume 9 | Strength in Community

Speaking of what I'd do with a heap of Steem Power... Ladies of Steemit is always at the top of the list! This week, I had the opportunity to explore four fast-growing Discord + Steemit communities focused on women, feminism, and LGBT+ support.

Mentioned in this post:

Thank you @enginewitty for being a major delegator to Ladies of Steemit and for featuring us in your Witness Update. You're my no. 1 witness!

Check out each of these communities and get to know the Ladies of Steemit initiatve!



curation

Curation Journal: March 9 - March 18

My first week with a 100% @curie acceptance rating! Not only does this post showcase each of my submissions and detail why I chose them, I also give a curator's perspective to shed light on how I curate and where my interests lie. Each curator has a different style, different subject preference, and different standards for submission.

Learn a bit about Curie curation and enjoy some wonderful curie'd submissions in my latest journal entry.



white

J'adore et je déteste... | Love it / Shove it ~ Amelia Style!

Have you seen the #LoveItShoveIt challenge going around? @Snowpea started a super fun trend and I had to get in on it. I share five things I adore and five things I detest - I encourage you to create a post and join the fun!

Learn a bit about me in this latest personal challenge.

Side note to new Steemians and those looking to expand their network: Participating in community-oriented challenges, contests, and games brings people together. 10 Facts / 1 Lie created by @traciyork, this challenge by @snowpea, and more like it are a great way to connect with new people!


wtl

Women Taking Leaps - Interview with Erin Slocum

Erin Slocum is my hero. She's a low-key local celebrity in Knoxville, TN as she's the brains and creative juice behind Knoxville Weekend, a culture + happenings platform that is the number one place to go for "what to do" in town.

The Women Taking Leaps series is coming to a close next week, so I couldn't be more humbled that this post was curie'd, bringing more eyes to the post by sheer popularity.

Get inspired by this unconventional boss-babe journey and get ready for the series finale next week!



srh

When it All Starts Coming Together | Slow Rolling Home Journey

We are making constant headway on the Slow Rolling Home! This post details our installation of the subfloor, the coming-together of our layout plans, and the next steps we're implementing.

It's coming together quickly after months of research, preparation, and deconstruction.

Enjoy the latest in the slow rolling home journey.



taste

Missing the Taste of Tradition | Hidden Gem Travel Guide

Been feelin' some feels this week, missing my hometown more than I have since I moved nine months ago. This post highlights one of my favorite traditions and local gems: Wat Tampa, the Thai Temple hidden on the Palm River serving up the best food every Sunday.

If you enjoy travel, delicious food, and a little bit of sappiness, you'll love this one.

Definitely visit Wat Tampa next time you're in the (Florida) Bay Area!



feels

5 Songs Exemplifying All the Feels (Right Now)

Speaking of all the feels... I created a mini-playlist for Steemit that helps me communicate my jumbled heart just a little more clearly.

Consider this a poem of my inner experience, told in the arrangement of other musician's songs.

Enjoy some old favorites and a new surprise or two in this short compilation.



pear

Spring Has Sprung in East Tennessee | Tree Tuesday

Spring in Tennessee is quite erratic! No more than a few days after taking these photos and posting them did we experience a full day of snow flurries (which I also shared)!

Check out these sunny, clear-sky captures of my new muse: Bradford Pear trees, and enjoy the lil poem hidden at the bottom.



snow

Spring Snow in the Wee Dawn Hours

Crazy, right? I popped out of bed like a kid on Christmas to capture the moody snowy light that befell our forest. This is the second day of spring, shouldn't we just have flowers and birdsong?

This may be the last snow of the year, so enjoy it while you can!



Photography Digest

I tend to share 1 - 3 photos daily for photo challenges, community contests, and as inspirations for subjects that interest me.

Here are my favorites from this week:

tiffany

Mural Tour with Tiffany the Yogini | Sports Photography

Learn a few yoga pose names and see the full collection from my session with Tiffany.


uptown

Slow Morning Stroll through Historic Uptown

*More feels for my hometown in this golden hour photo and micro-memoir about my old neighborhood.


Elliot

Five Minutes with Elliot | Portrait Photography

In this post, I share the details from my Five Minute Portrait event and a few photos of this handsome fella.


dylan

@Photofeed took notice of this stand-out portrait of baby Dylan and it remains one of my favorite newborn photos in my portfolio!


Next week is a Steemit Beginner's Series week, which means it's time for some fun!

I'm excited to experiment with DTube more and think that a video-based Beginner's Series episode is in order.

Do you have a question you'd like discussed in my next episode?

Check out the previous Steemit Beginner's Series posts to get an idea of how they work:

I have a few ideas in mind but I am asking for your requests!


Thank you for joining me for another stellar week on Steemit. If we're not yet acquainted, please say hello in the comments!


Sort:  

Congratulations! Your post has been selected as a daily Steemit truffle! It is listed on rank 9 of all contributions awarded today. You can find the TOP DAILY TRUFFLE PICKS HERE.

I upvoted your contribution because to my mind your post is at least 12 SBD worth and should receive 67 votes. It's now up to the lovely Steemit community to make this come true.

I am TrufflePig, an Artificial Intelligence Bot that helps minnows and content curators using Machine Learning. If you are curious how I select content, you can find an explanation here!

Have a nice day and sincerely yours,
trufflepig
TrufflePig

It looks like you had a great week, read some amazing posts and met some nice people. I am so happy to read that and share your joy! 💚

Thanks for the exhaustive piece, and for the info on the contest. I am gonna check it out.

You've got very beautiful pictures too. Cheers.

I LOVE THIS! As it turns out, I’ve had to be pretty much offline the last week for work, so this was the perfect way to catch up with your blog. I love these anthologies, so lovely! <3

That white outfit tho!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 62567.99
ETH 3431.85
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.47