Steemit Beginner's Tips Volume 1 | My Steemit Experience

in #steemit6 years ago

steemit-beg-vol1.jpg
photo by NeONBRAND

Welcome to my first curated + explanation post featuring Lessons & Tips I’ve Learned on Steemit. This platform is amazing. In my first ten days, I’ve earned Steem + Steem Power, made friends, created some stellar content (if I do say so myself), and discovered numerous even-more talented content creators!

Consider these weekly beginner’s tips my Steemit Diary per se, documenting what I’ve found to work for me, what I see not work at all, and some important need-to-knows when it comes to engaging with the Steemit platform productively and ultimately, profitably.

What I’ve learned in my first week:

Steemit is a platform where QUALITY content is king - and being a ‘creator’ only goes so far.

Plenty of newbie guides will stress how important it is to create and share good content consistently. I agree! However, Steemit is just as much a creation platform as it is a curation platform.

Your comments, upvotes, resteems, and flags establish you as a curator.*

Without going into lengthy detail, here’s what I’ve found works for me:

Daily engagement:

10 Upvotes per 24 hours. Here’s an explanation by @taskmaster4450 to explain your voting power. Monitor your voting power at SteemNow. I keep a little tick-mark tally in my planner so I know how many votes I’ve used, and if I go over, I’m just careful to vote a little more stringently the next day.

10+ Comments per 24 hours, and really as many as I can manage that are thoughtful/meaningful. I’ve taken a page from @sykochica's playbook on maximizing your voting/earning power, and she states that the sweet spot to earn the most is on posts that are 20 - 25 minutes old.

I surf the “New” feeds for tags I enjoy, open posts in new tabs, and consume content/comment accordingly.
I also scroll through my feed for new + interesting posts and consume content/comment accordingly.

Follow people whose posts you would actually want to read and resteem. It’s tempting to go whale-hunting and try to catch the eye of big accounts to earn dollars. Steemit is a community, and the more real relationships you forge, the more engagement you’ll see on your posts. I tend to follow 3 - 10 people daily, though that'll probably taper off as my account ages.

Tip, when you follow someone, go through some of their recent posts and comment thoughtfully. You don’t need to tell them you followed them, as they more than likely have notifications set-up.

Resteem posts at a consistent ratio to your own posts unless your intention is to be a heavy-curator/light-creator. If you plan to post once daily, try to resteem 1 - 4 posts you enjoy before you publish your post. Why? When people arrive at your page, the first post they see is by YOU, letting them know you’re just as active at posting as you are at curating.

Set-up notifications or keep track of your engagement through SteemNow, just to get started. Be the first to know when someone engages with your content so you can engage back! I can’t stress enough that creating community and forging real relationships is the key to success on Steemit.

For more reading, please check out this amazing compendium by @sykochica, from whom I’ve learned SO MUCH, and this detailed introduction to Steemit as a whole by @teamsteem. Also, if you have burning questions about the monetary aspect of Steemit, this infographic by @overkillcoin provides a short and sweet breakdown of need-to-know details.

In the next Steemit Beginner Tips, I’ll be covering contests & challenges, communities on Discord, and best-practices for growing your active engagement per post!

As a disclaimer - this post is based entirely on my personal experience and opinion, informed by articles I've read and enjoyed by far more experienced Steemians. Thank you for taking the time to read this article and know that I'm open to your feedback, questions, and criticism in the comments!

Do you have questions from one newbie to another? Share them in a comment and I'll answer them or ask some generous big-wigs I know to help us out!



bonus tip, since you made it to the bottom of this post - Creating a footer like the one I have below is easy to do, using some basic markup knowledge, courtesy of @maxmilan878. Try linking your intro post so visitors can learn more about you and consider sharing a photo of yourself so people know with whom they are engaging!

Ink+VoltAsset 1-210.png

Hi, I'm Amelia! It's nice to meet you.

ORG_DSC02486.JPEG

To learn more about me, check out my introduction post, get up-to-date on my school bus tiny house conversion, and follow me for articles on slow living, sustainable fashion, self-expression, and quality curated resteems!

Proud member of

SS-pansies-EN.jpg

Steem USA #TheAlliance #TeamGirlPowa

Sort:  

Good information as I am just getting my feet wet. And I like DIY stuff. Voted and will follow. One question. I tend to post everyday and comment regularly. I had some concern that if I redeemed (which I do on occasion it would become cluttered on my page. I tend to only vote and comment on posts that I am interested in or who belong to some new friends. I wish there were tabs where the posts could be categorized between subjects. But Its not my house, just playing here. Nice to meet you. Peace

Great post, and Congratulations on being featured in @gniksivart's Buried Treasures! I'm glad I found you!

gonna send this to my nephew he just started his account. keep up the good work!!!

Gonna resteem this so my gf and other friends who are brand new to steemit can read it. Thanks and hi from #thealliance 👋🏻

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 62567.99
ETH 3431.85
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.47