5 Songs Exemplifying All the Feels (Right Now)

in #music6 years ago

mark-solarski-183866-unsplash.jpg

Music helps me to communicate my inner workings better than any language. Lyrics, harmonies, keys, style... the innumerable elements eloquate the depth of the emotional experience.

Today, I'm especially feelin' the feels and find the best way to let it out is through soul-soothing tunes.

Consider this a poem of my inner experience, told in the arrangement of other musician's songs.


Iris, Goo Goo Dolls

And I don't want the world to see me
'Cause I don't think that they'd understand
When everything's made to be broken
I just want you to know who I am


Put Your Records On, Corrine Bailey Rae

Maybe sometimes we feel afraid, but it's all right
The more you stay the same, the more they seem to change
Don't you think it's strange?


Keep Your Head Up, Ben Howard

I spent my time, watching
The spaces that have grown between us
And I cut my mind on second best
Oh the scars that come with the greenness

And I gave my eyes to the boredom
Still the seabed wouldn't let me in
And I try my best to embrace the darkness
In which I swim


Come Away With Me, Norah Jones

And I want to wake up with the rain
Falling on a tin roof
While I'm safe there in your arms
So all I ask is for you
To come away with me in the night
Come away with me


Once Upon Another Time, Sara Bareilles

Just yellow lines and tire marks
Sun-kissed skin and handle bars
And where I stood was where I was
To be

No enemies to call my own
No porch light on to pull me home
And where I was is beautiful
Because I was free


Lyrics: Iris, Once Upon Another Time, Keep Your Head Up, Put Your Records On, Come Away With Me |
Header: Unsplash

Hi, I'm Amelia! It's nice to meet you.

I'm a writer, minimalist, tiny home dweller, and maker living in East Tennessee, USA. You might have found me through the Ladies of Steemit curation initiative, showcasing the female voices on the Steemit platform. Let's hang out on the blockchain and see where it takes us.

Proud member of

LadiesOfSteemit-01.jpg

thealliance_banner.png

promo-mentors

SS-pansies-EN.jpg

teamgirlpowa.jpg

ameliabartlett_red.png
banner by @bearone

Sort:  

Thank you @ameliabartlett . Love me some Goo Goo Dolls. Really good stuff. And Norah Jones is really good too. Just do not hear her like I did 15 years ago.

This is a fun list, thanks for sharing this! I absolutely love Sara Bareilles. I got to go see her musical Waitress last summer, and it was definitely a dream come true. Also, Norah looks so young in that video!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.21
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 67003.49
ETH 3502.34
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.87