Spring Snow in the Wee Dawn Hours

in #photography6 years ago (edited)

I hopped out of bed as though it were Christmas when I saw the flurry outside. The sun was just beginning to rise over our valley, blue light seeping into the dark bedroom, willing to me stay snuggled under the covers.

On the second day of Spring, however, low temperatures and the tempermental wet tendencies of East Tennessee bestowed us the beautiful gift of all-day flurries!

Not much snow stuck to the ground, but especially in the frigid early hours, plenty of snowflakes and frosted branches remained for me to enjoy.

I took these photos with my Sony A7RII in very low light and processed them gently in Adobe Lightroom CC.


Our house is surrounded by woods on all four sides.

These are the views outside our living room windows, but I did go outside the take the photos.

Snow-3748.jpg

Snow-03787.jpg

Our porch becomes instantly picturesque when flurries cover its unused fixtures.

Snow-03810.jpg


Trails from our small "yard" lead into Oak Ridge greenways throughout the city.

We have two main trails from our property - one which leads up a hill to the ridge and travels Soutwest and the other which travels West into the Oak Ridge greenways.

Snow-03791.jpg

Snow-03792.jpg

Snow-03794.jpg

Snow-03797.jpg


Even the Slow Rolling Home enjoyed a light coating of snow.

The light here changes so frequently and with such variations. Some days are bright orange and burn hot in the sun. Others are like this snowy morning, which are a spooky blue, leaving our bus to look like a towering beast.

Snow-03789.jpg

Snow-03790.jpg

Snow-03802.jpg


Did you receive spring snow wherever you are?

Share a photo with me in the comments. I'd love to see your Spring!


Hi, I'm Amelia! It's nice to meet you.

I'm a writer, minimalist, tiny home dweller, and maker living in East Tennessee, USA. You might have found me through the Ladies of Steemit curation initiative, showcasing the female voices on the Steemit platform. Let's hang out on the blockchain and see where it takes us.

Proud member of

LadiesOfSteemit-01.jpg

thealliance_banner.png

promo-mentors

SS-pansies-EN.jpg

teamgirlpowa.jpg

ameliabartlett_red.png
banner by @bearone

Sort:  

Hello ameliabartlett!

Congratulations! This post has been randomly Resteemed! For a chance to get more of your content resteemed join the Steem Engine Team

Very nice post, interesting thoughts and beautiful pictures!!!

good branches i like interesting blogs and posting follow now 😱😱😍😍 have a nice day

You know I'm your fan. Great post again. What kind of lenses are you using?

☺️ I am using a Sony 35mm f/2.8 and that’s it. Right now, I have a super minimal setup. One camera, one lens!

Hi, I see other people get also some snow at this time of the year! I must say I don't like it anymore, I wish it would be warmer. But your trees look great with the snow.
So here is my photo from yesterday with a disgusted duck standing on a piece of ice.

59767720.jpg

I used the photo also in a post today: Spring has not arrived yet.
Special to see it's the same on the other side of the world. -

Must be fun to live in the middle of the woods. Thanks for sharing your photos. Would like to see how it looks in the summertime.

Congratulations, Your Post Has Been Added To The Steemit Worldmap!
Author link: http://steemitworldmap.com?author=ameliabartlett
Post link: http://steemitworldmap.com?post=spring-snow-in-the-wee-dawn-hours


Want to have your post on the map too?

  • Go to Steemitworldmap
  • Click the code slider at the bottom
  • Click on the map where your post should be (zoom in if needed)
  • Copy and paste the generated code in your post
  • Congrats, your post is now on the map!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.21
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 66847.77
ETH 3497.61
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.89