What would you do on Steemit if you had over 5,000 SP? | Contest Entry for @MountainJewel

in #contest6 years ago

clark-tibbs-367075-unsplash.jpg

This post is prompted by the generous 200 SP delegation contest hosted by @mountainejewel.

Their effort to give back to the Steemit community is beautiful example of what many of us would do if we had excess SP.

Surprisingly, I hadn't thought much about what I would do if I had 5000 SP, or any other amount than I have now, simply because I couldn't imagine doing things differently.

After giving it more thought, I realized how important it is to remember what I'm accumulating SP for!


Promoting + supporting women on the blockchain.

If (and when!) I have acculumated 5000 SP, my first and ongoing act would be to delegate a chunk to my initiative Ladies of Steemit.

LadiesOfSteemit-01.jpg

Ladies of Steemit is a curation initiative showcasing the female voices on the blockchain.

With a health delegation of 2000 - 3000 SP, our vote would go further, we could gather more individuals on the Ladies of Steemit curation train, and we could host more contests to promote engagement within the female community.


Support for independent journalists on the blockchain with Insteem.

If you've yet to hear of @Insteem, you will. I've pledged to help founder @sarasate on her mission to grow her already-established hub for independent journalists and journalism - the only place where we cannot be censored, obliterated, or manipulated.

With 5000 SP, I'd be able to delegate to the Insteem project and support posts with larger upvotes and Dolphin clout.


rana-sawalha-364253-unsplash.jpg

Take this gig full-time.

I currently spend 30 - 60 hours weekly on Steemit writing content, curating for @curie, @ladiesofsteemit, and now for @promo-mentors, and providing private mentorship via Discord. There's nothing I'd rather be doing than writing, engaging with my community, and bringing benefit to the blockchain.

With 5000 SP, I'd begin paying myself in distributions for fiat conversion.

This approach to Steemit is a personal choice and not everyone may choose this route. I have no interest in powering down or removing myself from the platform.

The ability to pay my bills with Steemit is the ultimate goal.

And, the ability to explore other cryptocurrencies with my blockchain earnings wouldn't be so bad either.

Distributions for fiat conversion are something that I've thought of and planned out:

  • Distribute a percentage of my weekly author earnings to an exchange for conversion.
  • Power up the remaining majority percentage of my earnings (after converting to STEEM)
  • Continuing powering up all of my curation earnings via upvotes and organized-curation activities to maintain SP growth.

@mountainjewel, thank you for hosting this contest. You inspired me to take a closer look at my commitments and to reinvigorate my why for my time on Steemit.

If you haven't checked out @mountainjewel's SP delegation contest, see the original post and consider entering.

I'm curious ~ what would you do with 5000 SP?


Hi, I'm Amelia! It's nice to meet you.

I'm a writer, minimalist, tiny home dweller, and maker living in East Tennessee, USA. You might have found me through the Ladies of Steemit curation initiative, showcasing the female voices on the Steemit platform. Let's hang out on the blockchain and see where it takes us.

Proud member of

LadiesOfSteemit-01.jpg

thealliance_banner.png

promo-mentors

SS-pansies-EN.jpg

teamgirlpowa.jpg

ameliabartlett_red.png
banner by @bearone

Sort:  

congrats Amelia, you won!

https://steemit.com/contest/@mountainjewel/winner-of-our-free-200-sp-delegation-contest-or-encouraging-others-to-delegate-sp

we hope you'll feel encouraged to use this SP how you see fit! great job on Steemit; we know you work very hard and have put a lot of yourself into it :)

I saw you won this great challenge and I think they could not have picked a better person! You go girl!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 63595.77
ETH 3415.98
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.49