Slow Morning Stroll through Historic Uptown

in #goldenhourphotography6 years ago (edited)

LM-0881-.jpg

Morning Stroll in Historic Uptown

St Petersburg, FL

Round Lake Park was a humble oasis in my hometown neighborhood, shaded by a mature banyan tree and a little duck family. Lately, I am terribly missing the proximity of everything in my hometown. It was a small-ish city and I lived so centrally that I could walk or bike anywhere. Round Lake Park was just three blocks away. And five blocks further was the main street in downtown, home to coffee shops, a delicious pho bar, the businesses where many of my friends worked, and all the dog-friendly shops Gallow and I would visit regularly.

Living in a place where I must go by car even to get to the grocer, and where it is 25 miles to the nearest social hub, has stifled my creativity and my zest for daily life. I long to escape.

Reflecting on this photo and my past life has urged me to see the beauty all around me. It isn't like a lightswitch, where suddenly I appreciate everything. But, I could walk outside and breathe fresh woodland air. I could drive to a park and walk with headphones to drown out the rushing street noise. And, I can look forward to our journey in the slow rolling home.

Most importantly, I must keep making memories like these. Even though St Pete is behind me, I have so many beautiful recollections to enjoy for the rest of my life. It's up to me to create those at every stage, in every place, no matter if it feels worthy of remembering. Someday, I will want to remember.

Taken with my iPhone 7+.


See more entries to #goldenhourphotography and publish your own for daily @photocontests.

Daily Photo Contests Schedule as of March 2018
Monday: foodphotography and animalphotography
Tuesday: landscapephotography and cityscapephotography
Wednesday: architecturalphotography and vehiclephotography
Thursday: macrophotography and colourfulphotography
Friday: streetphotography and portraitphotography
Saturday: sportsphotography and smartphonephotography
Sunday: goldenhourphotography and longexposurephotography
Visit @photocontests to learn more!

Hi, I'm Amelia! It's nice to meet you.

I'm a writer, minimalist, tiny home dweller, and maker living in East Tennessee, USA. You might have found me through the Ladies of Steemit curation initiative, showcasing the female voices on the Steemit platform. Let's hang out on the blockchain and see where it takes us.

Proud member of

LadiesOfSteemit-01.jpg

thealliance_banner.png

promo-mentors

SS-pansies-EN.jpg

teamgirlpowa.jpg

ameliabartlett_red.png
banner by @bearone

Sort:  

I love the symmetry of the shadows alongside the asymmetry of the actual subject. It’s lovely. Golden hour indeed.

A really beautiful picture my friend and I absolutely love the environment and how the light sets. Happy sunday beautiful. Cheers! 🤗💕

💓💓 Thank you, my dear! I'm glad you like it. You would love this park. Expansive green grass and huuuuuge Live Oaks shade the entire park except for the water, which has a gorgeous fountain and is always full of tropical birds. Have a wonderful Sunday!

Your welcome my sweet friend 😊 and thank You for sharing this. It really is a beautiful sight. I am sure I would love being there and walk and just taking a breath 🤗
And fountains are just so pieceful and beautiful. It sounds like a place to go and get some recharging energy. Stay as you are and have a wonderful day. ❤️❤️❤️

World of Photography Beta V1.0
>Learn more here<

Thank you for participating in #goldenhourphotography

You have earned 5.65 XP for sharing your photo!

Daily Stats
Daily photos: 1/2
Daily comments: 0/5
Multiplier: 1.13
Server time: 16:05:47
Account Level: 3
Total XP: 566.07/800.00
Total Photos: 54
Total comments: 25
Total contest wins: 6
And have also received a 0.30 percent upvote.

Follow: @photocontests
Join the Discord channel: click!
Play and win SBD: @fairlotto
Daily Steem Statistics: @dailysteemreport
Learn how to program Steem-Python applications: @steempytutorials
Developed and sponsored by: @juliank

Congratulations, Your Post Has Been Added To The Steemit Worldmap!
Author link: http://steemitworldmap.com?author=ameliabartlett
Post link: http://steemitworldmap.com?post=slow-morning-stroll-through-historic-uptown


Want to have your post on the map too?

  • Go to Steemitworldmap
  • Click the code slider at the bottom
  • Click on the map where your post should be (zoom in if needed)
  • Copy and paste the generated code in your post
  • Congrats, your post is now on the map!

Congratulations, Your Post Has Been Added To The Steemit Worldmap!
Author link: http://steemitworldmap.com?author=ameliabartlett
Post link: http://steemitworldmap.com?post=slow-morning-stroll-through-historic-uptown


Want to have your post on the map too?

  • Go to Steemitworldmap
  • Click the code slider at the bottom
  • Click on the map where your post should be (zoom in if needed)
  • Copy and paste the generated code in your post
  • Congrats, your post is now on the map!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.21
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 67003.49
ETH 3502.34
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.87