The Deadpost Initiative - Week 34 - Share your most undervalued work ($24 SBD rewards last week)

in #contest6 years ago (edited)

Join us at The Steemit Zombies and Deadpost Initiative chat in the Steemit Community Catalyst discord channel

What is the Deadpost Intitiative?

The Deadpost Initiative is an attempt to give love to some posts that were overlooked during their short 7 day life span, a chance to bring your old posts back to life and maybe make some friends in the process. The goal is not only to share some love with SBD but also by engagement to generate discussion.

Last week

As I was preparing for an event this week and the prize pool was so large, I thought it best to wait until I pull focus to put this post together. We have one of our biggest payouts so far this week, $24 SBD! Huge thanks to @tribesteemup for making this possible! There were a total of 7 winners, I thought it best to press the love out! Very good posts this week, quite introspective stuff!

Last Week's Winners

—-

@neo-wiza - $6 SBD prize

It’s very hard to get me interested in fungus, especially those which cannot send you into outer space, but @neo-wiza did it. I want to get me some ofnthat Lion Mane Mushroom!

Lion Mane mushroom - Amazing healing properties

—-

@alignment - $5 SBD prize

@alignment s brief but powerful post is rather self explainatory. This is a steemians that shares a lot of wisdom.

Your life is not the repetitive story your mind tells.

—-

@acesontop - $4 SBD prize

@acesontop first shares with us a bit about the culture of beggars in Romania and then makes an interesting comparison to some behavior on steemit.

"The hand that doesn't tell a story gets no penny"

—-

@lenifty - $3 SBD prize

@lenifty shares a story with a lesson. I enjoyed this, it’s like a story you share with your kids.

You Can Do Whatever The Hell You Want!

—-

@inuke - $3 SBD prize

@inuke is a wonderful, loveable steemian and friend and he’s been contributing nice deadposts for a while. I like his perspective on the darkness inside.

The Evil within Me - Samurai Jack analogy

—-

@wales - $3 SBD prize

Spiritual fiction! A genre very close to my heart as I thought I had invented it. But it turns out there are others writing it, some at steemit! @wales does a great job at it.

The warrior from out of the blue

—-

Week 34

BD538A7A-3EC3-435C-B7A2-1EA06F080595.jpeg
(From pexels)

Share your best Deadpost in the comments!

The best posts will be rewarded with the fluid payout from this post (split between winners) and will be featured in a future post.

Rules

•Please only submit 1 post.
•Posts must have a payout of less than $5.
•Posts must be at least one month old.
•I recommend you don't enter the same post twice in the same month if you didn't win the first time.
•Vote for 1-3 post by others. Please share WHY you liked their posts. If you don't vote for someone else's post by commenting you will not be eligible to win.
•Winners will be chosen based on how original, creative, informative and well written their posts are, as well as how well received they are in the comments. I will use the quality of comments as the main factor in judging who wins.
•There will be a slight bias towards smaller accounts but large accounts are welcome to join and compete or join just for fun and to share their old work.
•There may also be prizes for stellar comments and engagement.
•There will be 2 or more winners depending on how big the payout for this post is and depending on how many quality posts are entered into the contest.

Please upvote generously on your favorite post in the comments below, we'd like to generate a sense much support as possible for all participants and the prize pool is still growing.

Upvote and resteem to help us raise our reward pool! And remember to comment and upvote on comments in this post please to show support for deadposts! :-)
The prize pool will be the fluid rewards from the post plus any donation to the initiative.
I'm still looking for more SP delegation to offer larger upvotes on all submissions. Thanks to @krnel for his delegation and @tribesteemup for their trail support.

This is not merely a contest, this is an opportunity to have your material read and an opportunity for us to really discuss each other's posts.

The Steemit Zombies and Deadpost Initiative discord channel

—-

Sort:  

I very much like this initiative @whatamidoing — it has always seemed a shame that so much great content appears on Steemit, and then vanishes largely unseen and unappreciated. So thank you for doing this!

This post is from about five months ago; it's about the way all our technology designed to "connect" is often the cause of our crumbling communities, and sense of community:

https://steemit.com/society/@whitelightxpress/our-crumbling-communities-disconnection-and-lost-empathy-in-the-age-of-connectivity

Bright Blessings!

P.S.: I will have to come back and engage with comments once there are more entries here!

And to think that people are getting more lonelier than ever even if the population is increasing by about 200,000 everyday. This just shows that technology can only do so much, but it can never replace the satisfaction brought about by actual human interaction face to face.

This is something I have been thinking about for ages but have been unable to put into exact words! I am so glad you posted it!

this is what happens when what's supposed to be a tool becomes a chain.

This is what happens
When what supposed to be a
Tool becomes a chain.

                 - artofwisdom


I'm a bot. I detect haiku.

Well done!
This is so true. I never realized how much damage technology may have done to communication and how much loneliness it caused until now. We may talk to people from all over the world on so many platforms, we may even see them through Skype, WhatsApp and other platforms that allow video calling, however, none of that compares to having them around physically when it really matters.
I do have a question about this though. Most people try to have distance relationships with people probably in another state or country through social media. Does this also mean they start to see them as things and not persons anymore?

Hey @whitelightexpress, methinks that for those whom unfortunately have a disability of some kind that prevents them from having much of a social life, if any, being able to communicate on a daily basis by means of th’Internet with others whom are themselves living in different towns, cities, and countries, is a godsend.

It is also an important means of socializing with like-minded others for those whose interests are not necessarily mainstream, such as those whom are passionate about tiny houses on wheels, for example.

It is pathetic and revolting, though, to see a couple at a cafeteria that are completely ignoring not only each other, but also their young child whom is basically sitting there all alone beside his self-absorbed parents whilst they themselves are "busy" texting others.

Here's my blog entry where I talked about living without a smartphone, and some advice, while using zero pictures https://steemit.com/ulog/@virtualself/ulog-17-living-without-a-smartphone

When my smart phone broke, I felt completely isolated.
I was out to dinner with a boyfriend and all of his friends. I thought "no big deal, I'll have plenty of people to talk to anyway!"
And that was when I noticed that everyone... and I mean everyone was staring into their phones talking about what they were looking at. Or not talking at ALL. It was the most awkward I have ever felt. I remember trying to find something to do with my hands. So desperate that I even pulled out a pack of cigarettes and just held it like one would a phone.
It is insane when you think about how reliant everyone is on their cell phones for... well, everything.
Clicking on your post was an eye opener for me because it made me realize that I really do judge a book by it's cover all the time on steemit. I look at things that catch my eye.
And I am probably missing out on a lot of content because of that! Thanks for opening my eyes! (literally)

I feel that way most of the time too. That is why I'm either writing or reading something when I'm with my friends, 'cause I know very well that the default activity for this generation is staring into a device, which is something I can't do because I don't have one. Thanks for sharing your experience!

Did your time without the phone change anything for you?

It really made me realize what I look like and am missing when I am glued to my phone all the time. (total zombie)
It is a bad habit that I am still trying to break. Honestly, I should just get rid of the thing. It doesn't really do anything positive for me, besides ensure that people can reach me. But I so rarely use it for that.
It was my first experience in a long time where I saw how involved everyone gets in their tech that they don't even listen to one another. It is kind of surreal.

When my smart phone broke, I felt completely isolated.
I was out to dinner with a boyfriend and all of his friends. I thought "no big deal, I'll have plenty of people to talk to anyway!"
And that was when I noticed that everyone... and I mean everyone was staring into their phones talking about what they were looking at. Or not talking at ALL. It was the most awkward I have ever felt. I remember trying to find something to do with my hands. So desperate that I even pulled out a pack of cigarettes and just held it like one would a phone.
It is insane when you think about how reliant everyone is on their cell phones for... well, everything.
Clicking on your post was an eye opener for me because it made me realize that I really do judge a book by it's cover all the time on steemit. I look at things that catch my eye.
And I am probably missing out on a lot of content because of that! Thanks for opening my eyes! (literally)

Read this, loved it, left a comment for you 😀. Life without a smartphone would just be super boring.. also pictures on posts are necessary but content matters too. 👍 👍

I hate smartphones - will never have one. However, Steemit posts without pictures would be less appealing i imagine, maybe due to being a visual artist. I read lots of books tho :)

Thanks for the insight :)

Indeed, posts without photos are kinda dull... and I know a LOT of people depend on their smartphones as their connection to the world. I have one, too... I barely use it, mind you.

But I should add that I'm an "old fart," old enough that I helped usher in the Internet, and remember days when web sites were "all text" and putting an image online consisted of TWO major elements: Finding a large enough copy shop that they had a flatbed scanner (cost: about $5K, at the time!) where they could scan a paper photo and create a gif or jpg... AND being mindful that the created image was small enough (typically no more than about 60K total!) that it wouldn't be a drag on people who were using dial-up connections moving at 28.8K. Yes, that's a real thing.

But that doesn't mean I don't empathize with the pain of anyone having to do without their technology!

Thanks for the wonderful insight! :)

Nice entry ... I agree with your post but I doubt things will change. We are more likely to click the link of a topic that has an image that catches our eye then one with no image at all.

On a side note .. we all should take some time and live without Smartphones and tablets .. and laptops as the majority of us spend way too much time in front of a screen.

Only one time I forgot my smartphone when I was goin' out....it was a disaster. Then I realized how addictive that thing is. Creepy. :)

It's funny how that rectangular piece of glass, metal, and circuitry can command the attention of millions

"A picture is worth a thousand words", but only if its viewer doth translate that picture into words.

Allow me to give you a very, very dead post!
This is the one that came to mind when I saw this. It still rustles my jimmies. I worked so hard on it. :'(
https://steemit.com/truecrime/@stitchybitch/serial-killer-saturdays-the-ax-man-of-new-orleans

Yeah, that was creepy-scary and I can totally appreciate the work that went into it!

This was a great and thoroughly written work for a first post :)

Steemit is a tough place ... good content doesn't always get rewarded. Nice job on the post.

I will not sleep tonight. :) Great post.

This is my entry: Test: Am I an alcoholic or a social drinker?

https://steemit.com/life/@fjmb86/test-am-i-an-alcoholic-or-a-social-drinker

Relativity of perception dilemmas... with me, the only question i'm asking is: beer? :)

In the variety is the spice. LOL

First I want to thank you for choosing my post as a "winning one" among others in this great initiative and then why not enter with another one for this round:
https://steemit.com/bitcoin/@acesontop/bitcoin-as-a-form-of-payment-or-as-an-asset-what-s-the-most-appealing-to-you
A big shout out and a thank you for @krnel and @tribesteemup for supporting such initiatives. It's definitely something that you don't see too often around here and a proof that Steem as a platform is constantly maturing.

Thanks again @whatamidoing

Well, there ya go!

This is a question I have tossed out there a number of times... along with whether we can call ANYthing a "currency" if it's actually not (a) relatively stable as a store of value and (b) I can't go down to 7-Eleven and buy a hot dog and a bag of chips with it.

It's a good post, and certainly worthy... but the body is barely "cold" yet; it's only 7 days old...

It will "get colder". Thanks for your shared opinion on the topic.

The thought of rowing through the canals of Venice had crossed my mind before, but since I am still just a college student in the Philippines, I guess pictures of the wonderful place will have to do for now Hahahaha

Thank you for having published your post about Venice. The paintings above the half-domed doors of St.Mark's Basilica are astonishing; they look like giant-sized versions of the art work that adorns illuminated manuscripts.

Thank you for the prize! I really appreciate it!

My entry for this week is another post about mushrooms. This time about Muskin - natural lather from mushrooms.

MuSkin - natural lather from mushrooms

My little experience with responsibility. I hope you don't have that kind of experience.
https://steemit.com/steemit/@lastdaysoutlaw/with-great-power-comes-great-responsibility

This was written to be read aloud to children. Pretend you are one again and listen with your heart as the story recalls the magic we all once believed in. And some of still do.

https://steemit.com/story/@willymac/the-little-lake-without-a-name

A sweet tale and enjoyable read. It reminded me of a tale that I had read many years ago—I think it was in a book about lucid dreaming by Robert Moss (Dreamgates, perhaps)—about how when before they are born the souls of children doth visit their parents in dreams to tell them their name.

It would surely be magical to hear a story the way I once did as a child: no prejudice, no expectations, just plain curiosity.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64107.21
ETH 3073.84
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.88