Serial Killer Saturdays- The Ax Man of New Orleans

in #truecrime7 years ago (edited)
Welcome to my first blog in what will hopefully be a continuing weekend trend for as long as it is enjoyed! The plan is to reach into the deep, dark corners of the world and bring you some truly haunting and unmistakable examples of human excrement. Maybe even some you might find yourself feeling a little bad for. You know, until you remember THE MURDERS.
Without further ado, allow me to present the creepo known as "The Ax Man of New Orleans":

"I am not a human being, but a spirit and a demon from the hottest hell. I am what you Orleanians and your foolish police call the Axeman."
-letter excerpt

Most people that enjoy the popular show "American Horror Story" are aware that a lot of their characters are, at least loosely, based on real events in history. When it came to the character portrayed by the dashing Danny Huston, it is no different!
The Ax man (or Axeman, the spelling varies) held sway to New Orleans from May of 1918 well through the year of 1919, when his crime spree just... stopped.
Everyone knows that a lot can happen in a year, especially in such an alive city. But what he had in store for Louisianna was nothing short of demented fuckery. His penchant was chiseling through a panel of his victim's back doors, leaving both the panel and chistle behind on the floor. Upon entering the residence he would use an ax belonging to the victim and sometimes finishing the job with a straight razor, that he would nonchalantly discard.

Surely, that doesn't sound very blood curdling by today's standards of violence and cruelty. Especially when stated so plainly. Until you start imagining a silent house except for the soft sounds of scraping and splintering wood. Knowing that just beyond that door, that door that is being dismantled by a tool used in it's crafting, stands a man that will be craning over your bed shortly. A man that will, at the very least, cleave your scalp from your skull.

bloody-axe-14455153913r5.jpg

A few of the victims

  • Joseph and Catherine Maggio
The first victims to fall. They were slain while sleeping next to each other, their throats slashed with a razor followed by solid blows with an ax. Catherine was fortunate to die rather quickly as her throat was severed so deeply she was almost decapitated. However, Joseph lingered long enough to be discovered by his brothers before shuffling off this mortal coil.
  • Louis Besumer and his mistress, Harriet Lowe
A truly interesting victim,Mr. Besumer. Both were cleaved about the head and, miraculously, survived. However, this was not the last of the trouble for poor Louis. Soon after the attack, investigation found a myriad of letters belonging to Louis that were in German, Russian, and Yiddish. The police assumed, surely, this man must be a spy. Harriet ended up supporting the story while talking to police between lapses in consciousness. Surely, a sound testimony that does NOT make and he was released after the arrest. Only to end up serving 10 months in prison after poor Harriet, on her death bed after a badly gone surgery, claimed it was he who attacked her. However he was acquitted.
  • Mrs. Schnieder
Mrs. Schnieder was discovered by her husband. And man, what a horrendous sight that must of been. He entered his bedroom to find Mrs. Schnieder, his 8 months pregnant wife, SCALPED and her face obscured by blood. Miraculously, she survived and gave birth to a healthy child.
  • Charles, Rosie, and Mary Cortimiglia
These victims actually were attacked across the river from New Orleans in a small 'burb called Gretna. Charles and Rosie survived the brutal onslaught, however, their two year old daughter, Mary, did not. Mary was done in by a single blow to the back of her neck while sleeping in her mother's arms. Although the two adults survived, their marriage did not. Rosie went on to accuse two neighbors, a father and son. Charles divorced his wife after the trial and she later on admitted to falsely accusing the neighbors out of... get this... SPITE. (What the hell did they do, Rosie? What the fuck.)

Now, let's briefly touch on the infamous Jazz. In real life, much like in the portrayal by AHS, The Ax Man did in fact request that houses play jazz and that all those playing his choice of music would be spared his ax. Did he go on to kill a secret coven of witches? Probably not. But since this case is, to this day, mostly unsolved, it is safe to assume anything is possible. Why the hell not.

Here is the infamous full letter:

Hell, March 13, 1919

Esteemed Mortal:

They have never caught me and they never will. They have never seen me, for I am invisible, even as the ether that surrounds your earth. I am not a human being, but a spirit and a demon from the hottest hell. I am what you Orleanians and your foolish police call the Axeman.

When I see fit, I shall come and claim other victims. I alone know whom they shall be. I shall leave no clue except my bloody axe, besmeared with blood and brains of he whom I have sent below to keep me company.

If you wish you may tell the police to be careful not to rile me. Of course, I am a reasonable spirit. I take no offense at the way they have conducted their investigations in the past. In fact, they have been so utterly stupid as to not only amuse me, but His Satanic Majesty, Francis Josef, etc. But tell them to beware. Let them not try to discover what I am, for it were better that they were never born than to incur the wrath of the Axeman. I don't think there is any need of such a warning, for I feel sure the police will always dodge me, as they have in the past. They are wise and know how to keep away from all harm.

Undoubtedly, you Orleanians think of me as a most horrible murderer, which I am, but I could be much worse if I wanted to. If I wished, I could pay a visit to your city every night. At will I could slay thousands of your best citizens, for I am in close relationship with the Angel of Death.

Now, to be exact, at 12:15 (earthly time) on next Tuesday night, I am going to pass over New Orleans. In my infinite mercy, I am going to make a little proposition to you people. Here it is:

I am very fond of jazz music, and I swear by all the devils in the nether regions that every person shall be spared in whose home a jazz band is in full swing at the time I have just mentioned. If everyone has a jazz band going, well, then, so much the better for you people. One thing is certain and that is that some of your people who do not jazz it on Tuesday night (if there be any) will get the axe.

Well, as I am cold and crave the warmth of my native Tartarus, and it is about time I leave your earthly home, I will cease my discourse. Hoping that thou wilt publish this, that it may go well with thee, I have been, am and will be the worst spirit that ever existed either in fact or realm of fancy.

The Axeman

Oh, and what a swinging time that was. It is believed that he he laid low after this letter until the later part of the year.

Mysterious_axman.gif

As stated above, the perpetrator was never caught. However, this did not stop wild speculations and theories all throughout the attacks and for decades after about who could have been the true culprit. Joseph Momfre is a name well known in circles that this spree is discussed, but records at that time were not extensive enough to adequately conclude if there even WAS a man in Orleans with such a name.

With that, let us heave a "Weeeeell FUCK" of frustration and conclude this brief episode of Serial Killer Saturday.

Have a killer week!

All comments, recommendations, suggestions, critique, and feedback highly encouraged! This is a new blog, after all.

References
  • The Encyclopedia of Serial Killers
  • The Serial Killer Files
  • Wikipedia
Sort:  

Great post I gave you a follow!

Thank you, I am glad that you enjoyed it! It twas a bit rushed as I was running out of Saturday, so the next one will be much better!
And thank you for the follow!

True crime? The dark side? Count me in! Following you.

Welcome and glad to have you! I'm always open to suggestions for my next one!

I am glad you liked it! Thank you and I'm following you as well! :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 59281.33
ETH 2982.58
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.74