"The hand that doesn't tell a story gets no penny"

in #life6 years ago (edited)

"The hand that does not tell a story gets no money" is a famous quote from a Romanian movie called Filantropica that I saw many years, making an art out of begging. For the ones following me for a while you probably know by know that I am from Romania and if you are an European you might also know that Romania is not famous only for Dracula, the vampire, but for beggars also.

The fact that Dracula was no vampire I already wrote about a few months ago, but about beggars I haven't talked too much. So let's cheap chat a bit about them and let's start with the Romanian ones. Although there are still some left in our own country also there are many who migrated long ago, when the European gates opened for our nation, to countries such as Germany, France, Italy and recently after "telling all of their stories" to the Southern countries they moved to Denmark, Sweden and Norway to squeeze some crowns out of "cold" pockets.

The movie that I mentioned about in the introduction was filmed in Bucharest, the capital of Romania, and it was a hit in the cinematographic world at its time and it is still one of the movies that has some gems in it and a value for its kind. The whole movie portrays the life of beggars on the streets of Bucharest, how they lived, for whom they worked and what made them successful. Yes, you read that good, for whom they wok. They are not and weren't independent beggars and almost always there is/was a boss to cash out their earnings and leave them just with pennies for the bear living.

begging-1922612_1280.png
image source

In that movie, every beggar had a story to tell and every story was a sad one that brought tears to the ones listening and a lot of money for the beggars. Although it is a dirty way of living for both the ones doing it and their bosses it is still "a niche" where from a lot of money are being made. Thus making some scumbags very wealthy exploiting children and other poor people. They all have though a story to sell to "their customers" and this is the idea around the famous quote that I extracted from the movie. And that's the trick that might work for some beggars around here also.

Although the world of Steem has almost nothing to do with the beggars world and "the business" around it we don't lack in beggars and that's a fact. Unfortunately there are plenty of users commenting left and right on whales, dolphins and minnows posts with the wrong tools. I named them wrong tools because for every work or deed you have to have a tool. You need something at hand to feed the mouth.

The Steemit beggars most often come with the annoying type of comment that only says sir please upvote my post or the famous nice post, it is very informative which honestly lacks in everything that could make it a paid comment. Hence, they're called spammers. Because they're almost all the same, "selling the same product" and using the same banner to advertise. There's nothing to turn your emotions on and make you give any upvote to those poor users. I understand that their financial situation might be really poor and they would definitely need these Steem asked for, but they ask for them the wrong way.

Now, since they can't create something to be rewarded for at least they should learn how to beg for upvotes and do that professionally and what better example could I give them than the Romanian beggars from the movie mentioned above who all had a story to sell to the people passing by them on the streets. Nowadays almost anything is for sale and I consider that the Steem platform is one big market where almost everybody around here sales something. Some have very "expensive" and valuable products and some haven't, but in order to earn here, generally, you have to sell something.

chalkboard-620316_1280.jpg
image source

Coming back to our Steem beggars it seems that all they have to sell is opinions expressed through comments and that's the arrow that they have to sharpen the most for their "hunting game". Made the hunters from beggars now. What kind of a sick imagination I have... These people though, in my opinion, should put some stories in their comments in order to get upvotes and they can do that pretty professionally if they put a bit of effort in their time spent around here. Instead of just BEGGING empty handed they could at least extract some paragraph from the post they want to comment on, translate it if they don't understand English very good and relate their comment to it.

They will have to tell a story about the topic, link somehow to the author and the theme of the post to get even one small upvote. Otherwise they will go extinct in a few years and their extinction would only mean more dead accounts for the Steem platform. However, if they learn how to sell their stories around here there's light at the end of the tunnel for them and money to be made out of the whales pockets. Honestly, I don't want to see those poor guys leaving the platform, but I want to see them as professional commenters instead. Yeah, I'm a believer, but I don't believe in destruction as much as I believe in transformation.

So, as a closing for the long post you've burned your eyes to read and as an incentive for the ones dedicated to commenting just for upvotes, if any such commentator willing to ask me for upvotes has a short story or can anyhow relate to the topic I encourage him to narrate it and I will donate to him one Steem. My upvote doesn't worth anything so this could be the only way of showing my appreciation for "the one trying" to make a buck and encourage him to perfect on "his niche".

Thanks for your attention,
Ace

Sort:  

Thanks for such an inspirational words, believe it or not, I have got so much self-confidence by reading this post, especially that "hunting game" part.
Being a minnow, I can understand people without much money to buy Steempower, they are so much eager to get some upvotes, but I really cannot expect someone to simply give me upvote for spamming comments, I am seeing lot of people keep on commenting without even reading blog title, asking for upvotes.
I hope by reading this post they will realize the importance of putting at least 5% effort to go through the post and put some related comments, and impress the author to get upvote.

Glad you found it useful and you have my Steem promised in the post. Keep up with the good work!

Thank you so much @acesontop for 1 STEEM, it means so much to me. I really feeling like I have earned it.

Read the post see what it is about and I will give you one Steem.

sighhh lmfao...

haaaahaaaa! :D

Insightful post! (ugh - did I just type that?) I like the analogy to writing. You've gotta tell a story.

Have you seen Slumdog Millionaire? There's a couple of scenes early in the movie specifically about begging, and how certain stories can extract more from passers by - specfically because of the perceived story. Good movie.

Never saw it, but yeah, I agree on the logic. I remember also a friend of mine telling me that he gave the equivalent to three dollars recently to a beggar that quoted Darwin. That guy knew what to sell...
By the way, my Steem is already gone, but you have my appreciation for reading the whole post :)

That's OK. I didn't comment for the steem. I commented because it's a good post ;)

I know. Just kidding :), but I really gave it away to the guy who commented before you. I would really like to see more genuine comments that earn something than spammers at every corner of Steem. Hope that some of them read the post and do something about it.

That's a fair incentive too.

I get sick of the spam comments. I've taken to flagging and muting. But it takes a long time to clear them out.

You just waste your voting power with flags. Mute the users and let Steemit hide the ones with bad reputation. I would suggest you to use that voting power on content you like rather than focusing it on spam.

Ah. I didn't know that. Thanks!

Good stuff, I haven't seen that movie but it sounds really interesting. One thing I think is fun about Steem is that your "niche" or "story" can be many different things; the personal, the artistic, political, economical, spiritual, etc. I remember reading a post when I started here that said something along the lines of "you are only limited by your own creativity (or lack thereof)". Most people have something to share, they just might not realize it yet.

Totally agree with you. I was reffering to commenting as a niche for those guys mentioned in the post. If you don't speak English good enough and don't have anything to post about and your only tool to earn Steem is commenting at least do that good. That's what I would do if I were in their places.

Hey @acesontop, you just received a random 100% upvote for your activity at the @minnowsmith project! Stay tuned and keep mining. :)

Well, there I was thinking: what now when along comes your post to my attention; so I absorbed it all right to the end and thought, yes, he's right, I must write a story for people to read; but having looked at all my posts to see if I can improve them I find I've done the best that I can and if people don't really like what I write or are only here for the money, then what can I do?

You can only do your best and that's it. If votes come let them flow, if not...there's nothing to force about them. Keep on going though!

spare some change? ;)

very true!

poor Dracula, so misunderstood :) followed

Yeah...poor him.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 62784.34
ETH 3337.95
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.47