The Deadpost Initiative - Week 10 - Share your most undervalued work + week 9 winners ($10 STEEM prize pool)

in #contest7 years ago

What is the Deadpost Intitiative?

The Deadpost Initiative is an attempt to give love to some posts that were overlookeed during their short 7 day life span, a chance to bring your old posts back to life and maybe make some friends in the process. The goal is not only to share some love with SBD but also by engagement to generate discussion.

Last week

Participation seems to go up and down, while last week was a pretty active one, this week was less so, especially as far as comments and interaction go. Still we had some nice posts as always.

I'm terribly sorry that during the week of super high SBD prices, I am being cheap and giving the winners STEEM instead of SBD. This is more about the fact that I am out of SBD and won't have enough to compensate the winners until mid-week. I had 3 SBD left and just traded it for 30 USD of dash to reward myself for being awesome. Look on the bright side, STEEM will be worth much more in the long run. Probably in the very near future.

And to all you past winners who won 3-5 SBD, I want you to exchange it into some crypto or even Steem right now since its worth 30-50....then when crypto really goes mainstream and it increases one hundred fold and you are a mighty big whale, you can tell everyone how awesome The Deadpost Initiative is ;-)

Anyway...!

Last Week's Winners

@vincentnijman - $2.5 STEEM prize

Vincent's story is one that I think many of us can relate to, not finishing what we start. Vincent argues that this is sometimes for the best and shares his own story making a movie. Vincent is one of my new favorite steemians and I welcome you to check out his posts!

"When are you ever going to finish something?" The Power of Quitting

@pathforger - $2.5 STEEM prize

@pathforger is a regular here at the deadpost initiative. All his submissions have been high quality and I'm glad to have him back this week with a post about purpose. I love the bit about the monk in the middle of the article. I don't think it only applies to someone who wants to be a monk though, it applies to everyone. Work on the inside and you'll find the outside changes with you!

The Power of Purpose

@melinda010100 - $2.5 STEEM prize

Melinda provided us with a nice photo blog. Apparently Swiss culture is thriving in Wisconsin, I had no idea. It's always nice to know that traditional culture is being practiced in fun ways, even when it moves to new places.

New Glarus, Wisconsin

@raj808 - $2.5 STEEM prize

@raj808 shows us beautiful pictures and tells his experience diving in Egypt. This is topic I didn't imagine I'd enjoy reading about very much but raj does a wonderful job of sharing the experrience and I find the passion is contageous. Great article!

Scuba Scribe - Diving the Red Sea #1

Week 6

pexels-photo-116909 (1).jpg

Share your best Deadpost in the comments!

The best posts will be rewarded with half of the payout from this post (or a minimum of $10 SBD or STEEM, split between winners) and will be featured in a future post.

Rules

•Please only submit 1 post.
•Posts must have a payout of less than $5.
•Posts must be at least one month old.
•I recommend you don't enter the same post twice in the same month if you didn't win the first time.
•Vote for 1-3 post by others. Please share WHY you liked their posts. If you don't vote for someone else's post by commenting you will not be eligible to win.
•Winners will be chosen based on how original, creative, informative and well written their posts are, as well as how well received they are in the comments. I will use the quality of comments as the main factor in judging who wins.
•There will be a slight bias towards smaller accounts but large accounts are welcome to join and compete or join just for fun and to share their old work.
•There may also be prizes for stellar comments and engagement.
•There will be 2 or more winners depending on how big the payout for this post is and depending on how many quality posts are entered into the contest.
-Please upvote generously on your favorite post in the comments below, we'd like to generate a sense much support as possible for all participants and the prize pool is still growing.

Upvote and resteem to help us raise our reward pool! And remember to comment and upvote on comments in this post please to show support for deadposts! :-)

The prize pool will be half of the post payout or at least $10 SBD
I'm still looking for SP delegation to offer some payout on all submissions. If you can help, please let me know :-)

This is not merely a contest, this is an opportunity to have your material read and an opportunity for us to really discuss each other's posts.


IMG_1406.JPG

Join the "Be Awesome" community

The Be Awesome discord chat, was created with the intention of making deeper connections with fellow steemians. Come talk about "deep shit", practice languages or make friends.

Be Awesome discord channel

thetree - Confessions of the Damaged (a collection of short stories

Sort:  

Thanks for running this initiative @whatamidoing, I am hooked! Here is a more traditional styleee blog post of mine which still delivers that scuba scribe level of spaced out descriptions and spiritual metaphors. Well I think so anyway 😉 https://steemit.com/nature/@raj808/a-touch-of-the-tropics-in-liverpool-uk

What a great way to break the writers block. I love the idea of you doing yoga as other passerby's look at exotic flowers. kinda a big exotic man flower amidst the caged glass jungle. great post!

Thanks @buttcoins. Yeah, I find that Yoga really helps settle the thoughts and let me break free of cyclical thought patterns that stiffle the creative spirit. And after that massive expression of my inner hippie I feel like I can say it - Yes I am just a big exotic man flower at heart 🤵🌷

I was transported to the jungle with your words. Great post raj808

Thanks @zincali. I'm glad you enjoyed it :) The greatest thing about this Deadpost initiative is having my articles read again and maybe connecting with some new peeps and reading some tall anted folks work. I have read one or two of yours already and I am now following you.

Raj808 I couldn't agree with you more, it's a much needed outlet for us minnows.
The honour is mine and right back at you scuba scribe, I look forward to your posts in my feed.

I had no idea there was a botanical garden is Sefton and from your pictures certainly worth the trip to see.

What a lovely garden to have. I know about Kew, Bodnant, Eden, Botanical in Wales. Thanks for sharing.

Nice contest, I've been considering to participate for some weeks now -- at last, here is my old post that I believe has not received proper attention:
Politically INCORRECT fantasy authors - Is it so bad?
While it is one of my first posts here, I believe that it is well-researched and has much information and triggers for discussion.

@whatamidoing, there are no other comments here yet, so how can I comment on the other participants? I'll try to come back and comment later; is there anything else I can do or did I miss something from the rules? Thanks!

EDIT: OK, I found @omstavan's post, and this is my choice as it is a very useful post about an important topic (also explained in my comment there).

Some people say you can love a piece of art without loving the artist. I think the two are tired together. BUT I don't think you need to love everything about an artist to love certain things about them, life is not as simple as Star Wars.

And yeah I hope most people can come back and check this post to comment and upvote others

Loved the article. I feel the same way about a lot of comics. I'll read one and love it - look for reviews online and find they are being critiqued for so many different things. Both superhero and nonsuperhero comics. It's a real bummer. Wish there weren't so many triggers for everyone. Take them for what they are - work created by someone for a certain purpose or audience.

Nice read and in depth, from what I gather people are simply talking smack about authors because if they say anything else than its plagiarizing

Thanks, yes that is more or less the point; in trying to be innovative and present original content, they get too far from the source and end up reviewing/criticizing unimportant details. This is happening in other fields as well, as can be seen by browsing e.g. youtube: there are so many clips about popular tv series for example, picking apart every little random detail and making crazy theories about them, just because the content-creators want to tell something different in order to attract views.

A point well made. Somehow, everyone these days is either offending someone or getting offended. The world needs to relax. Your post deserves better!

Exactly! Just relax and take things for what they are; in this case, they are just stories set in a thrilling background. It might be insulting to some, but either the background is realistic and talks about things that happened in this insulting way, or it is a made-up fantasy environment that is used to advance the story & the characters.

This is an amazing piece to read! Especially for a writer. It is so easy to judge an author for the content he writes, but not so many people do remember that it is a story. Fiction. There are racists, ill-raised characters and abuse in real life, why wouldn't there be that in a story? A plain story that has plain characters with plain lives will never get far. In my opinion, each story should teach us something. Even if it is ''what kind of person not to be'' it is still better than a wonderland filled with nothingness.

Here is a piece of prose I wrote as a tribute really. Thanks for the opportunity to repost it.
https://steemit.com/writing/@zincali/beloved

I loved this one! I am loving a lot of things today :D It has a quality of magic, love and sorrow at the same time. The ''it was always you'' can mean so many different things for each person. And still, for me it was love that I read in the poem. ''Everywhere I look, I see you'' kind of thing.

Delighted that you enjoyed it.
It was an extraordinary woman that made me realise, the revelatory thoughts expressed.
She sparked the insight.
But the piece itself was wrote in honour of the Infinite Spirit.

Aww, I am happy you found a special person in your life!
Which kind of infinite spirit are we talking about here, if I may ask?

The most loving kind.

Yeah. This is the one that I upvoted. Nicely written.

Cheers JohnWJr7

I have a two-part series I'd like to submit...but I don't need to be a winner. I just want people to read it. It's a story from August 2016 when I was just a little baby Steemian and was lost in the mix. This was my first week on Steemit.

Enjoy!

How to Set Your Rental Car on Fire - The Prologue

How to Set Your Rental Car on Fire – The Conclusion

I loved this one, it is impeccably written and capturing. I was confused of why the phone was so important to mention in the beginning, but with the second story I got it :D I tend to leave my phone in the car as well, so this is something that may have saved me from a huge mistake, even if it is unlikely to happen.

I guess social media addiction could potential save lives? Was it from the sun or was it that Samsung problem?

I can't believe they just write random distances on the road signs like that... why not jsut notnwrite the distance? Haha I guess it seems not that big a surprise, I've seen worse where I am.

Nice read! And I just voted for you as witness, sorry it took so long!

When I read the story, I was like ''Is it samsung, is it samsung?'' as well :D

Thanks David, I appreciate his kind of submission as well. I will read it in a bit too.

My post is about something that all of us use everyday without knowing. It is about "How to yell across a crowded room to a complete stranger and understand each other while nobody else is able to tell what you're saying". Here is my post: https://steemit.com/steemstem/@omstavan/how-to-shout-a-secret-message-to-a-stranger-in-public-and-understand-each-other-such-that-nobody-else-has-a-clue-a-k-a-diffie

EDIT: I like @nyarlathotep 's and @doughtaker posts best so far!

Great post! More people should be alerted about cryptography, as it is extremely important in the digital world. Soon, it would be as important as using your physical keys to lock your house when you leave. Your post does a good job on explaining a widely-used algorithm with simple term, making it easy to read for people with no computer-science or maths background. I follow you for more!

Excellent article. You've explained public cryptography both in a way that a non-nerd could understand, and also with technical details for those with more expertise on the subject. The article also flows very well -- had I seen it in the first 7 days, I would not have left a comment to ask any questions because by the time I finished reading, I felt like I fully understood how the Diffie-Hellman exchange works.

That sounds incredible but I am not sure it would be very practical for hitting on someone you find attractive. If you think so maybe you could make a part 2 on how to execute. That would be a hit.

That person would just find you to be a nerd and run away if you tried to use this to flirt! :D

Hello my dear Dead Posters!! ¿How are you?

Well folks, first of all, I gotta say I've read all the posts shared here so far. And curiously, I can't be able to get my mind up to choose my favorite yet. Hopefully I could do that later and drop a meaningful comment jointly with my upvote. :)

Meanwhile, this next below will be my entry for the Week 10 Edition of this great Deadpost Initiative.

Enjoy!! }:)

https://steemit.com/discussion/@por500bolos/the-modern-etymology-of-a-mind-hack-sheep-wolves-flocks-and-packs-yeah-you-you-too-yourself-and-everyone-else-is-the-shepherd

That was an interesting read; I certainly learned something new about sheep. But my gosh, those illustrations... LOL.

https://steemit.com/ramen/@musingsltd/quick-guide-to-japan-how-to-order-ramen-like-a-true-pro

this was my first ever post on steemit - I had no idea what I was doing - I put up an animation I made about ramen how to order ramen in japan.

I found the voices to be grating on the ears, but the animation was pretty good and the content informative. A pretty good video overall.

Very few have talent of making good meme, you are one of them. Good luck.

Thank you very much!

Here is an old Post I made for useres to Create a Profile Picture because so many still don't have one. it's 2 months old and only got $0.06 https://steemit.com/steemit/@isteemithard/how-to-upload-a-steemit-profile-picture-and-cover-image

Rather helpful post...I may have to follow it soon haha.

Helpful, I also saw a lot of users stuck with this

Hi there, I'd like to submit for this contest my earliest, substantive, non-gambling post-turned-deadpost that I wrote:

Is it July 2017, OR... November 192?

I wrote this article to draw parallels between President Trump and one certain Emperor Commodus from the Roman Empire and point out how eery the similarities between these two leaders are. 4 months has passed since then but I'd say that not much has changed as far as the comparisons go. Unfortunately, since I joined Steemit right after HF19 and knew little about what was going on, the post made only 1.02 SBD, consisting of my own measly self-vote, the MSP bot vote + trail, and one other reader who ended up being too late to upvote.

I hope you enjoy reading the article.

[EDIT 12/12/2017: My votes are for (in order of preference) -- 1st @omstavan, 2nd @por500bolos, and 3rd @musingsltd.]

This is a really well compiled article. I had never imagined that there are similarities like this!

Its rather disturbing to think what will be written about Trump in our future.

Commodus sounds just as egotisical too!

Hey all, don't really know if this fits the bill but I'll give it a crack anyways as I spent well over a year producing, writing, recording and mixing this Mixtape but the release fell completely flat as I have had zero dollars and even less time to be able to do any promotion of it. Here's the post I did for the first video for it...Check it if you will :)

https://steemit.com/music/@falsefreedom/plebs-frogs-progs-and-blogs

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.12
JST 0.029
BTC 61775.46
ETH 3455.88
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.52