You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: The Deadpost Initiative - Week 10 - Share your most undervalued work + week 9 winners ($10 STEEM prize pool)

in #contest7 years ago (edited)

Nice contest, I've been considering to participate for some weeks now -- at last, here is my old post that I believe has not received proper attention:
Politically INCORRECT fantasy authors - Is it so bad?
While it is one of my first posts here, I believe that it is well-researched and has much information and triggers for discussion.

@whatamidoing, there are no other comments here yet, so how can I comment on the other participants? I'll try to come back and comment later; is there anything else I can do or did I miss something from the rules? Thanks!

EDIT: OK, I found @omstavan's post, and this is my choice as it is a very useful post about an important topic (also explained in my comment there).

Sort:  

Some people say you can love a piece of art without loving the artist. I think the two are tired together. BUT I don't think you need to love everything about an artist to love certain things about them, life is not as simple as Star Wars.

And yeah I hope most people can come back and check this post to comment and upvote others

Loved the article. I feel the same way about a lot of comics. I'll read one and love it - look for reviews online and find they are being critiqued for so many different things. Both superhero and nonsuperhero comics. It's a real bummer. Wish there weren't so many triggers for everyone. Take them for what they are - work created by someone for a certain purpose or audience.

Nice read and in depth, from what I gather people are simply talking smack about authors because if they say anything else than its plagiarizing

Thanks, yes that is more or less the point; in trying to be innovative and present original content, they get too far from the source and end up reviewing/criticizing unimportant details. This is happening in other fields as well, as can be seen by browsing e.g. youtube: there are so many clips about popular tv series for example, picking apart every little random detail and making crazy theories about them, just because the content-creators want to tell something different in order to attract views.

A point well made. Somehow, everyone these days is either offending someone or getting offended. The world needs to relax. Your post deserves better!

Exactly! Just relax and take things for what they are; in this case, they are just stories set in a thrilling background. It might be insulting to some, but either the background is realistic and talks about things that happened in this insulting way, or it is a made-up fantasy environment that is used to advance the story & the characters.

This is an amazing piece to read! Especially for a writer. It is so easy to judge an author for the content he writes, but not so many people do remember that it is a story. Fiction. There are racists, ill-raised characters and abuse in real life, why wouldn't there be that in a story? A plain story that has plain characters with plain lives will never get far. In my opinion, each story should teach us something. Even if it is ''what kind of person not to be'' it is still better than a wonderland filled with nothingness.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 62907.89
ETH 3379.73
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.50