Christian and Atheist discussion: Faith is a gift? Hell. Belief. Philosophy. Mythology. Truth.

in #christianity6 years ago

This is a response to the discussion happening here – Why Atheism? Very quick overview. Thanks to @andrewcarnegie for providing me with lots of food for thought. I'm sorry it's taken me so long to get back to you. I've created a separate blog in response because I tend to get too wordy :D

special goat with bonus baby weird thing.jpg

Firstly I wouldn’t pity your atheism, in some respects it is a very healthy and normal place to be. Faith is a gift and one of the main problems people come across with people of faith is the mistaken belief that they can give faith or force faith on a human being. Quite how you can do that with something it isn’t yours to do that with is beyond me but it is certainly something you see occurring, as are polemics from Atheists dismissing something they don’t believe in as well. I am firmly of the view that in being called to love our neighbour, my neighbours are equally atheists, agnostics, muslims, jews, buddhists etc and so expressing pity in relation to someone else belief system is simply offensive.

I used to be offended when people expressed pity at my lack of faith. It doesn't bother me now. Like anyone on the opposite side of anything, they feel their position is right and the other is operating under misinformation or misunderstanding. I don't pity anyone who's into religion, except for the children. I feel really bad for them (partly because I've been there).

Faith is a gift

I'd agree with this, but with qualifiers. Idiocy can also be a gift. Being free from doubt and knowledge could be a blissful way to live one's life. The beauty of faith is that everything is mapped out, has purpose; all you have to do is live within the parameters set by that ideology or dogma (or give the appearance of living it). It could be said that childhood represents the faith condition – deferring to authority, following rules without understanding them, glossing over anomalies, Father Christmas... I wouldn't exchange places with a child though. I prefer autonomy and thinking for myself, making my own way. I know some people who feel their disabled child is a gift, but I've never met an expectant mother who wants this type of gift. I see blind faith as a disability or defect. In the worst case scenario I see it as a lazy way to live a life. Someone's done all the thinking and working out for you. All you have to do is play along (publicly).
dom gungmp.jpg

There was a big argument over sin and going to hell. When Rome became the preeminent power, after a miracle caused Constantine to convert the Roman empire to become the Christian church in 312AD it gradually assimilated and overshadowed beliefs that it felt were in opposition to its own. In 664AD this commenced with the council of Whitby in England where the calculation of Easter and how the monks cut their hair was agreed (its called a tonsure). Prior to this the U.K was pulled together by Celtic Christianity and the views of people such as Pelagius who argued against the idea of original sin. Augustine developed that idea and it is from this the idea of hell and damnation originates to some degree. The Celts felt (like the mythical depiction of Adam) that we were created good and evil then entered in, which if we all look at our journey from birth through to our teenage years is pretty close to most peoples actual experience. What that means is that the Celts were seeking to release the good in people, rather than condemn the bad per se, which is a completely different approach to what is perceived about the Christian faith today by outsiders. The main theme is that it is not for people to judge each other. The God I believe in demonstrates unfathomable Grace and it is for God to decide who is forgiven, not us.

The information about sin and hell was amazing. Celts: that's an interesting thought – to release the good in people rather than condemn the bad. Thank you for sharing that. Although I often use the words good/bad I don't find them helpful when applied to people. Everyone I've ever known embodies a combination and it's this dynamic that makes them human and wonderful. I like that we are judged by other humans. Their opinions, reflected back to us, help us to examine our behaviour and modify it (if we want). These many mirrors, if you like, are much more reliable than gazing at the faded, opaque, bastardised, politicised, fictionalised opinions from thousands of years ago. I don't know these people. How can I be sure I can trust or value their opinion?

The various edits call to mind I book I read ages ago called 'The Lost Christianities'. It charts Christianity's variations and how various ideas did or didn't make it to the final cut. So many filters and editing and cutting and adding. There were some very interesting (sometimes hilarious) Christian beliefs. It's worth a read if you ever get the time.
jesus gun love me or burn in hell.jpg

Your god has unfathomable grace and decides who is forgiven. It prickles me, that one being (and his backstory suggests he's not the sort of being I'd trust), gets to decide who does/doesn't get to suffer for all eternity. It's a cruel setup. Look what he did to poor Job, and all because he wanted to take a bet with Satan.

There is much of the bible which has things to offer today. It is actually a collection of 66 books and some of them are easy to read and some are not. Trashing them all is a bit like trashing a library. There is no reason why an Atheist can’t get some benefit from reading one or two of them, after all I have read Dawkins books, he is a brilliant biologist!

I agree that the bible is a book worth reading. Everybody, especially Christians, should do so, from start to finish. That's what convinced me to go atheist :D
science christianity.png

What is clear though is that you cannot find your answers to why we are here from science. You need to explore philosophy for the why of things, science gives us the how of things.

Yes, philosophy can help us to guess at the whys. But, not knowing the answers does not automatically mean we should just give up and accept ancient mythology as the answer. Besides, the bible is demonstrably wrong on so so many things that it lacks credibility as a reliable source for anything, really.

There are some very eminent scientists who are Christians, including several astro physicists. I have many friends who are Christian who are doctors.

Yes, but the majority of thinkers, scientists and other people who've got some higher education, are atheists. And I've known some pretty dumb doctors :p

Our decisions regarding what we do or don’t believe are personal ones and on the whole they are not reflected by how we earn our living.

Exactly. Belief is personal and cannot be forced. Either we do or we don't. This is based partly on what we think it credible information and partly on personal experience.

If you ever do read any books of the bible then my favourites are Ecclesiastes, Esther and Acts. In the 1950’s an American professor of political science rebadged the book of Ecclesiastes as his own work. He was arrested by the FBI for spreading communist sedition! It is a hugely interesting book, much of it written as poetry, and could easily be on an anarchists book shelf in its own right. Esther has a savage story worthy of Shakespeare and there is no God in it. She acts as she does due to her belief but God doesn’t pitch up. Finally Acts is a first hand account by the doctor Luke who accompanied Paul on many of his journeys. It is mostly verifiable historically and gives some fascinating insights into what occurred after Jesus was crucified. These include several hundred people seeing him in public, a Saddam Hussain figure essentially going from murdering the Kurds to setting up an organisation to protect them and so on and so forth.

I don't dispute the bible's interesting content (although some of it is utterly dull). Lol, that's funny about the plagiarist guy being arrested for spreading communist sedition.
flying pup.png

With regard to the primitive people, there is a common fallacy, like many post truth fake news things doing the rounds, that all the old stories are similar. The bible is unique in many regards. If you ever do spend time studying you will note that the majority of Gods are humanised and most certainly do fit your description of a primitive people looking out and seeking to find ways to account for their why.

If you look at Zoroastrianism you will see that many of the mythology surrounding Jesus is recycled from this and other earlier myths. I'm aware there's a lot of debunking and saying there's no evidence but that surely circles us back to the bible's lack of verifiability. We recycle stories all the time, give them a new spin or a new name and – boosh – rebrand it as the latest thing.

The God of the bible is separate from humankind and different.

Hmm. I disagree. He's like lots of other despots: bullying, controlling, irrational, jealous, spiteful, unfair, cruel...

It is this reason that if we take modern spirituality it cannot be aspirational because it is about self improvement. The highest philosophical answer it can offer is from within ourselves. Thus we end up with relational truth that becomes post truth because there is nothing to anchor the philosophy to. Faith points to a higher place and for that reason, in pointing to an absolute truth, it is both anchored and aspirational. Sadly, as the bible itself depicts, people mess it up time and time again.

Modern spirituality is just the evolution of the drive to be religious in some way. I think it's hardwired into humans. We seek patterns, meaning, connection. When we don't understand how or why, we reach into the unknown and get creative.

I don't think we are able to access an absolute truth. I'm not even convinced it exists. I'm not opposed to temporarily anchoring to reasonable positions but even these can be problematic. That's why it's important to check our facts, continue reading, find new sources, keep an open mind. I've found over the years (I'm nearly the same age as you), that some of my anchors were set in very shaky ground. How embarrassing :P

I enjoyed your post, wish you the best for your life but please don’t write off all christians, although it is understandable, based on your experience. Much of what people think they know about faith is misguided or just wrong, including thinking it is about something that occurred and is over and past. Christians believe in a living God, one that is evident in their lives and which provides something for them which is difficult to obtain, namely contentment. You have your choice, we can still peaceable co-exist without a need to rubbish each others points of view, after all surely we all do aspire to the notion of living together in peace.

I don't write off Christians. I've got a few Christians of my own and I love them very much. Yes, I've seen many Christians claim to be contented. Contentment can also be attained via atheism. In fact, I've never been so content and happy.

Rubbishing points of view: I don't subscribe to doing this. I think you're more likely to enjoy the discussion if you air alternative points of view with civility and honestly. There have been times when I've descended into a bit of sniping and cruel jabs but I've not been proud of those moments. Better to discuss the facts as they fall without bashing anyone.

And your poem: that was really clever. I liked it :D (although I preferred reading it in its original order ;)

Thanks for the food for thought and sorry it took me a while to get back to you.

Peace
@AnjKara :)

PS Apologies. Due to time pressures, I'm recycling some of my pics. :)

akdivider celtic.png

Other eclectic articles

Shape-shifting, name-changing nuclear processing industry – Brit style

Fibromyalgia and Chronic Fatigue Syndrome

Woman: How far have we come? SPU Poetry Contest 2

akdivider celtic.png

SMARTSTEEM

Minnow Bootcamp

Crypto Empire

Unless otherwise stated, all pics in my blog are either mine or freely available online (pixabay, wikimedia, pexels, flickr, public domain pictures, freestockphotos.biz, maxpixel), labelled for reuse and doctored by me.

Sort:  

It is refreshing to finally see someone talk of their 'unbelief' here.

Having be a Christian or church goer if you like, I believe we all tend to feel some 'pity' for someone on the other side thinking 'how I wish they see the light'. But religious people are worse in this thought because they feel everyone no in their belief will perish eventually.

I really tried to believe, even reading the bible deeply but I ended up become more of an 'unbeliever'. The acts of the god and other things written there is contradict what the God expect me to be or do. Add that to so many unprovable things written there...or sorry the devil has blinded me.
I remember my religious friend telling not to be logical when reading the Bible or dealing with the god. Like WTF? But I was created with a Brain anf meant to be logical.

In this part, they relate atheism to insanity. Believing every absurd thing you are told without asking question...believe fish hide someone in its belly, donkey talking, a sea parting and so on is insanity.
If been able to be logical and use my brain for what is meant for...thinking is insanity. Then someone tampered with the dictionary too.

Actually, for those of us who are Christians we know that hell awaits those who refuse to believe the truth. So those of us who are saved, and are heavenbound, should be very concerned for those who are unsaved and hellbound.

In other words, what makes others hell bound and unsaved is because they don't believe in your 'truth' or chose to believe in another 'truth'.

Good luck with your truth.

You don't know that. You just believe that because it's written in a book. I could say I believe that there's a special fish I can place in my ear that translates all languages in the universe (I've read Hitchhiker's Guide to the Galaxy). There's as much proof of that as there is for the god of the bible.

And, in order to get people to believe what you believe, you need to dangle the threat of eternal torture, just in case they don't come willingly. Don't you see how nasty that is as a tactic?

Thanks Gold

Great reply. I hear you. I tried believing too but my brain got the better of me. Looks like your brain won out too.

Yes, being logical and thinking for yourself is discouraged in religion, for obvious reasons :P

cheers
Anj :)

My guy

You self day here?

It's swell to find other Nigerians who are atheists.

I remember my religious friend telling not to be logical when reading the Bible or dealing with the god. Like WTF? But I was created with a Brain and meant to be logical.

As in.. I get this all the time. They tell me God cannot be understood by my senses. Yet, when they are preaching, they appeal to our senses. It's just messed up.

They say God is beyond what we can comprehend so we should accept him unconditionally. Well, Grayesque, the God of TheGray, is also beyond comprehension too. Same with any God anyone can think off.

Think about this, if Christianity wasnt as profitable as it is today with all of the private jets and luxurious lifestyle, it won't be making much waves as it does. Unfortunately, it's a tool to brainwash and suck people dry

My guy, your head day there

Carry go

I don't think we are able to access an absolute truth. I'm not even convinced it exists.

Nah, it does. Check the Bible. There's absolute truth in it. You just need two pairs of eye glasses. First one for the Old Testament that allowed men of God marry more than one wife and the second pair for the New Testament where a man has to be the husband of one wife.

I'm outta here

Good post. Great debate.
I especially like the “faith is a gift” argument. I agree. Most of this post was like I was reading my own thoughts (except with better grammar and vocabulary) LoL.
I 100% agree with what you said here too
“I don't think we are able to access an absolute truth. I'm not even convinced it exists. That's why it's important to check our facts, continue reading, find new sources, keep an open mind.”
I’m an Athiest, but I’m open-minded to the idea of others faiths. My moms a Christian, Dad believes in Budism, and my in-laws are Sikh.

Thanks Poyim. I'm pretty sure I should go in and edit out my mistakes though hahah :D

That's great that you've got a mix of religions surrounding you. You'll understand, better than most, Out of all of the religions, I like Buddhism in so far as it's got no gods. I tuned out when they started on about reincarnation though :P

Yeah, it’s cool. I believe that everyone should be able to believe whatever they want and not try to shove that belief down someone else’s throat. So not cool.
Religions are all well told stories to me. Very interesting stories that some people take a little too literally.

Yes, I agree with that too. Beliefs should be a personal matter.

Yeah, some great stories mixed with a bit of philosophy, incest, rape, murder, genocide, torture... Great for kids :P

Meh. You gotta please the masses, just like Hollywood.

I think all kids should be exposed to all religions or none at all, so that they can choose for themselves at a proper age. Otherwise, it’s also known as “brainwashing”.
:P

Amen to that :)

Absolute truth is everywhere. It's in science and mathematics. Unfortunately the average Christian is often unable to offer clear, compelling reasons for their faith in God and how that faith has changed their life.

A good book to read on Christianity is "Evidence That Demands A Verdict" by Josh McDowell. You can buy it cheap on Amazon as a used book.

A good website for the honest skeptic is:

https://bibleevidences.com/

I wouldn't expect anybody to believe without evidence.

No need. I’m sure all the evidence just points to your “truth”.
And I don’t need faith to change my life. I change my life — if I choose to.

This has been a great post. Thank you for allowing us to witness this exchange. What helped me understand God was a personal epiphany that to do so I needed to think of Him as outside our 3 dimensions, our five senses, and not contained within linear time. Humans are unique in the animal world in our ability to think not only in real time and space as any animal can do, but far beyond. Humans are not capable of original thought, but we are surrounded by a world created by it. Each new human being and every germinated seed is an original thought of the Creator.
Again, thank you so much for sharing!

Glad you enjoyed it, Chuck. Yes, I agree that humans are capable of thinking far beyond what animals do. We have imagination. And that's where we found God.

I like the idea that we're surrounded by a world created by thought. Interesting. I'm gonna think on that one. Cheers :)

Thank you for the reply and upvote. I will look forward to any thoughts you have on "thought", but also on the confinement of 3 dimensions, five senses, and linear time. Something else too. When I studied religions, not formally just on my own, I decided that the best way to evaluate it was by its fundamental written documents. I found that in every religion the followers don't follow very well. They all fall short of adherence to their guiding principles. Most of the time driven by arrogance or corrupted by power. Judging a religion by its followers begins with a flawed premise I think. Yes?

Hiya Chuck :)

Judging a religion by its followers begins with a flawed premise I think. Yes?

Yes, I think you're right about that in most instances. However, most people are too lazy to analyse the original documents. For example, if I were exposed to a bunch of people who were, by my standards, not very pleasant, then I found out that they all subscribed to a particular religion, I would likely take that human shortcut (however misguided) and assume the teachings of that religion to be subpar.

What are your thoughts on the dimensions, senses and linear time? It's fascinating stuff. We don't understand a lot of things that happen. @andrewcarnegie told me about a dream he had which turned out to be prophetic. Lots of people have similar experiences. It's also like the 'gut feeling' we can have which warns us of danger. So, there's something going on in other dimensions, senses and with linear time which may account for these unexplained phenomena. All very Matrixy :D

See you soon hopefully
Cheers
Anj :)

Many thanks for the reply and upvote. I have never had prophetic dreams that I'm aware of. I'm just older than dirt and have thought about this stuff for decades. Something I just realized though is that when Christians or Jews focus on specific passages of the Bible they are using it to support their own viewpoints. I have read the Quran and maybe there too. In doing so they fall prey to the contradictions you so eloquently pointed out in the post. When looking at the Bible as a complete "enchilada" without breaking it up to support a narrow selfish agenda, the message is so simple. This is a quote from a children's Sunday school song "Jesus loves me this I know for the Bible tells me so". The Bible is just there to prepare a person for what could be a higher life experience. Christians are called to act like Jesus. That's it. The marching orders for Christians are clearly stated in Matthew chapters 5, 6, and 7 commonly called the Sermon on the Mount.

If you believe in the existence, or possible existence of God you believe in the supernatural. The supernatural is perceived to be on the outside of our common experience which is limited to 3 dimensions, 5 senses, and linear time. Original thought does not exist within these constraints so how can God? If time is not linear for us after we perish maybe it is possible to witness our birth, death, and historical events, Biblical events, simultaneously. Is death for us a gateway to an existence outside these limitations. We are the only creatures on earth that can contemplate these possibilities. To refuse to do so could be a desire to take a step back to a lower plane of intellectual existence. Or do I need another beer?

Hiya Chuck

Sorry I didn't answer you sooner here (I'm running a competition and my inbox is flooded – hard to find actual conversations lol).

Yes, there's that confirmation bias everywhere. I'm guilty of that. At the mo, mine is in looking for reasons to continue eating meat and butter and cream. I've found lots of brilliant evidence supporting it.

The Quran is a hoot isn't it. One of my ex husbands is Muslim. That was a fun marriage :P

I love your analogy – the Bible as a complete enchilada. For the most part, Christians seem to have that overview and do their best to live that way. My position, I suppose, is that it's possible to live with a similar approach. My mantra is that we're all in this together and to not be too much of a dick. It's inbuilt in most of us to be that way. My issue is when we zoom in from the overview and get to see the details (other religions too). This is what puts me off. Also, the incidence of hypocrisy and narcissism I've witnessed in some members.

You know, when I was going to church (as an adult), there was a really smelly woman. Everyone referred to her (behind her back) as Smelly Mary (which was a double entendre). She was old, arthritic and had a huge pack of dogs. Lovely person, but she did reek. Once, it was snowing, bitter cold, and she wasn't best dressed for the weather. It surprised me that none of the regular congregation offered to drive her home.

Dimensions, time, senses: I love the quantum stuff but can barely bend my head around it. It's so alien. I love the idea of death being the doorway to something else. I hope so. Can't remember exactly, but Timothy Leary seemed to have a great attitude towards it. He reckoned we have an entire universe inside our brains.

I'm ok with the idea of all this intelligence out there somewhere. I can imagine that as possible. If it had the label 'GOD', then that's irrelevant to me. But I hope to understand more about it.

Lol, I think I need a beer now too :D

Thanks again for the reply and upvote. Hypocrisy is everywhere, even in a church. That is why I like to focus on the guidance documents of a religion because all people fall short especially when they ignore the needs within the church. "Church" is a group of people, not a building they meet in. The purpose of a church is be there for other members who are in need. That's about it. People like "smelly Mary" are with us to provide an opportunity to others to step up to meet her needs. Obviously, Mary's church failed. If you go to a church expecting someone to say something you don't like, you will not have long to wait. As the old saying goes, a church is not a hotel for saints, it is a hospital for sinners.

Hiya Chuck

… church is not a hotel for saints, it is a hospital for sinners

Nice.

The problem I have with the bible being a guidance document is that it contains an agenda, propaganda. Propaganda tends to put its agenda first, with truth relegated to optional. Amongst the 'good' guidance, there is stuff that I would consider 'bad', especially its advice on slavery, women, homosexuals, adulterers, eating shellfish/pork... I prefer to take my guidance from less tainted sources.

If I meet a person who talks lots of sense, then I hear him saying he believes (for example) that black people are inferior, he immediately loses credibility. I can no longer trust him as a source of wisdom. The same goes for the bible.

Thanks for the food for thought.

Cheers
Anj :)

Hehe, the endless debate between faiths, and non-faiths. I'm a huge fan of Joseph Campbell and his books regarding myth and humanity where he works through why people believe in things like religion. Unfortunately, like many things, no matter how much you argue, or how much you believe, people have to make up their own minds. You can lead a horse to water, but you can't make them drink. Now, the question is...was I talking about religion, or atheism? hehehe.

Found you off of #thealliance list that just came out. Catching up with all my fellow family members :)

Hiya Mike. Yes, I recognise your name from my sixwordstory competitions :D

Joseph Campbell sounds like an interesting author to look into. Looks like another one to add to my reading list. I read a book by Michael Shermer (years ago) -- Why People Believe Weird Things. That was really good too.

Yes, I never intended to get into debate but someone commented on my atheism in another unrelated post so I addressed their questions in a post. It kinda snowballed from there lol. Hmm, seeing as you're a fan of JC (no, not that one!), I'd guess you're on the atheist/agnostic end of the spectrum.

Thanks for catching up. See you soon :D

Hehe, you would guess right :) Went through my religious phase and saw it for what it was. Yes, I'd recommend Man with a thousand faces, or, really, any of his books. Thick, deep, and heavy, they'll take a while to get through, hehe.

I'll see if I can get a copy of that book. Make use of the library and all that :)

Hope you have an awesome day!

hahah :D

Thick, deep, heavy... sounds like just my type :D Thanks. I'll make use of the library too. I'm spending a fortune these days on books.

You have a great one too.

cheers
Anj :)

I'm a lot less sympathetic toward atheists. So is God:

(Romans 1:18-20 NIV) The wrath of God is being revealed from heaven against all the godlessness and wickedness of men who suppress the truth by their wickedness, {19} since what may be known about God is plain to them, because God has made it plain to them. {20} For since the creation of the world God's invisible qualities--his eternal power and divine nature--have been clearly seen, being understood from what has been made, so that men are without excuse.

I put atheists into these categories:

Some people have no interest in spiritual things.

Some atheists hate God because they don't like how he runs his universe. So by hating God they deny their atheism.

And you have atheists who love their sins way too much to ever believe. A wise person will determine whether or not God exists and act accordingly. A fool looks at what he'll have to give up if he decides that God exists and he acts accordingly.

A fool looks at what he'll have to give up [...] and he acts accordingly.

Is God a fool?

Consider this: according to the Bible, God saw that Adam and Eve had become 'wise'. He certainly didn't want people who are wise to share in his immortality so he drove them out of the garden. Obviously, God wasn't willing to give up his exclusive right to immortality, at least to humans who have learnt to think for themselves regardless of what he says.

A wise person will determine whether or not God exists and act accordingly.

Are you a wise person? If yes, have you tried to 'determine whether or not God exists'? Well, I know very little but I know a wise man will consider all of the arguments available to him. Do you know of any argument against the existence of God? Any? If yes, how did you decide it (or they) wasn't valid?

I await your response

God saw that Adam and Eve had become 'wise'. He certainly didn't want people who are wise to share in his immortality so he drove them out of the garden.

Yes, exactly what happens to anybody that asks too many awkward questions in church. Go play in the garden. Make yourself busy with menial labour while you're there. Don't think!

PS great questions :D

That's so cute. Thanks for joining in.

There are other categories too. Such as those that read more than one book and reach other conclusions about the likelihood this is all just a myth.

Thanks for your comment. A bit rude, upvoting yourself, but never mind.

:D

To listen to the audio version of this article click on the play image.

Brought to you by @tts. If you find it useful please consider upvote this reply.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 64038.60
ETH 3148.89
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.97