You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Christian and Atheist discussion: Faith is a gift? Hell. Belief. Philosophy. Mythology. Truth.

in #christianity6 years ago

Hiya Chuck

… church is not a hotel for saints, it is a hospital for sinners

Nice.

The problem I have with the bible being a guidance document is that it contains an agenda, propaganda. Propaganda tends to put its agenda first, with truth relegated to optional. Amongst the 'good' guidance, there is stuff that I would consider 'bad', especially its advice on slavery, women, homosexuals, adulterers, eating shellfish/pork... I prefer to take my guidance from less tainted sources.

If I meet a person who talks lots of sense, then I hear him saying he believes (for example) that black people are inferior, he immediately loses credibility. I can no longer trust him as a source of wisdom. The same goes for the bible.

Thanks for the food for thought.

Cheers
Anj :)

Sort:  

Thank you for the exchange and upvote

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 59880.83
ETH 2301.55
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.50