You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Christian and Atheist discussion: Faith is a gift? Hell. Belief. Philosophy. Mythology. Truth.

Hehe, the endless debate between faiths, and non-faiths. I'm a huge fan of Joseph Campbell and his books regarding myth and humanity where he works through why people believe in things like religion. Unfortunately, like many things, no matter how much you argue, or how much you believe, people have to make up their own minds. You can lead a horse to water, but you can't make them drink. Now, the question is...was I talking about religion, or atheism? hehehe.

Found you off of #thealliance list that just came out. Catching up with all my fellow family members :)

Sort:  

Hiya Mike. Yes, I recognise your name from my sixwordstory competitions :D

Joseph Campbell sounds like an interesting author to look into. Looks like another one to add to my reading list. I read a book by Michael Shermer (years ago) -- Why People Believe Weird Things. That was really good too.

Yes, I never intended to get into debate but someone commented on my atheism in another unrelated post so I addressed their questions in a post. It kinda snowballed from there lol. Hmm, seeing as you're a fan of JC (no, not that one!), I'd guess you're on the atheist/agnostic end of the spectrum.

Thanks for catching up. See you soon :D

Hehe, you would guess right :) Went through my religious phase and saw it for what it was. Yes, I'd recommend Man with a thousand faces, or, really, any of his books. Thick, deep, and heavy, they'll take a while to get through, hehe.

I'll see if I can get a copy of that book. Make use of the library and all that :)

Hope you have an awesome day!

hahah :D

Thick, deep, heavy... sounds like just my type :D Thanks. I'll make use of the library too. I'm spending a fortune these days on books.

You have a great one too.

cheers
Anj :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 58394.86
ETH 2618.86
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.39