the dysfunctional friend

in #childhood7 years ago (edited)


In my introduce yourself post, I said that I would eventually get around to letting people see little bits of me, like a glimpse thru a mirror. That mirror bit is from Clay, who says that if we are upset about something, its a reflection of how we treat others. Or in analytical terms, "traits we tend to dislike in others are usually the traits we do not like about ourselves..". But it's a good analogy, the reflection of self.

This is what I want to get to today. The 'me I don't want to show people'. The me that judges people when I hate being judged, especially when I feel they don't know or understand me. Sometimes I hurt so close to the surface of existing that simple things that other people brush off have me in tears for a day. I see the world differently than most people. I feel like some days, no matter what I do, it's just not good enough. It's pervasive.

I read a few things about Dunbar theory that my friend Sage pointed out to me. Basically Dunbar speculated that we can only maintain about 150 connections without them losing meaning. It got me thinking about childhood, inappropriate behavior, friendship and why people make the choices they do - or do they?

Do people choose to make friends, is it learned, or is it a natural instinct, like a throwback to hunter-gatherer days? Do we learn it from our mothers, is it a skill handed out by the gods, is it passed down in your genes? And how do I get it?

I say that because I have never had the easy ability to meet and make friends, not like some people do. To me collecting friends is more of an extrovert activity that other people take for granted.

My sister shared with me a few years back that autism spectrum and sensory perception syndrome runs in our family. I knew this, but it took for her to say it for it to really sink in. I think about it several times a week, whenever I talk to my family.

A person with sensory dysfunction processes things abnormally. Senses are magnified or distorted, and what seems normal for one child is torture to another - tight clothing, sunlight, touch, proximity, loud noises, crowds. The response or reaction of a child to particular stimuli is seen as inappropriate by others. Fear, anger, hostility, avoidance, public melt downs. They have problems processing emotion, and making friends.

Social cues which most people understand become confused, until in time the individual is unable to process social stimuli and interact in what society deems as an appropriate manner, and the person is labelled as a "social reject". Once the tag goes on, it's a bitch to peel it off.

All four of my sisters kids have some form of autism spectrum or emotional behavioral disorder than they take medication for. When I was a kid it went largely unrecognized and untreated, especially in girls. My sister and I spent a long time discussing problems and patterns that occurred in our childhood, and realized how they were passed down by our parents, and their parents in turn.

The issues that I had growing up are similar to what she sees in her children. I know from experience that these social handicaps will have repercussions in how they cope with the world in the future; that will carry to adulthood, if they are not addressed.



The patterns that I still carry are echoed in my everyday perceptions of social interactions as an adult; patterns that hold me back from loving and feeling loved. I also realize that many people don't understand. They see my behavior as something that I should be able to control. I have lost friends, jobs, ambitions and respect because of my inability to exhibit simple extrovert traits such as making friends, hugging, saying hello first thing in the morning, and making small talk. The advent of computers and the internet is a gift. I can talk to people without having to think about all the other ways I can fuck up.

The more I reflect on the connection between sensory perception and the ability to socialize, the more questions I have about how it might be manipulated. I wonder about sound, vision, language and patterns that repeat - can a certain social cue that means hello to one person can mean "defend yourself" to another, and if so, how can the behavior be reversed?

I wonder if certain people are irreparably synced to a sound for sorrow, if tensions can be injected into a bone or a ligament, if vision can be altered by sensory overload, if paranoia has to do with a malfunctioning nose, and if pleasure can be enhanced by a taste.

Can we become addicted to negative or positive sensory input, to the idea of being in love or in pain, without ever actually feeling the emotion? Does love require two lanes and a car crash, or can we invent it out of sound? Can I listen to a chord in C minor and become blissfully happy?

How much can we affect the outcome of a child's future? Should we try to "fix" adults whose perceptions were distorted as children, if they didn't get whatever it is that we think they were supposed to get as a child - or do we love them for who they are?

When people tell me that who we know in life is one of the most important aspects there is out there, that social networking is the key to success, I want to laugh and tear their face off, because that is something that haunts me and shames me. I feel broken when other people take it for granted.

Making friends has always been something I struggle with, just maintaining a few close friends. I look at all the people on Facebook that I know, that collect hundreds of friends - networking they call it - and wonder if making friends will fix me, if it's some skill I can eventually learn and become more adept at. Will I be happier if I can add that Dunbar number friend to my list?

Perhaps one day I'll find out. Until then, perhaps the world will come to understand people like me a little better and hopefully stop trying to tell us how things work in this world. That we should just accept "that's just the way it is." I believe that there is a better way to live; a world where people help one another, treat each other kindly, where who you know and what you possess aren't the deciders of power, where politics, banks and big business don't dictate the terms of our existence.

My dysfunction has created me, my perceptions, my sensitivity, my interests. Without it, I would not be me, complete with inner demon and occasional angel. Love me, hate me, but perhaps this "sickness" has made me more "me" - a unique individual that will never be replicated.

Just something to think about.


all photos are my own

Sort:  

I've been thinking of a comment worthy of this post. It is not a post for a "get well soon" or a "good post". It's not a post for telling you what's "normal" or advice on how to fix all your problems.
I will, however say, go with peace and strive to be the you who want to be. Normal is a myth, a box that no one fits in.
~Mr Dingo

Thank you Mr Dingo. This was a cathartic response to a day of feeling misunderstood and undervalued, and wanting people who think they know the math as well as the problem to understand that the people they plug into their equations are not all the same value. Normal IS a myth, yet it persists.

I know I've suffered from perceived expectations on me because I did not know how to establish good boundaries - in either direction. Now that I know that's my tendency, I can accept that I'm not going to be what some people expect, but a lot of the time, they really don't care or even think about me. For some reason, I assume that people notice a lot of things that to me seem really obvious about my own blunders - but really, they probably don't give it a second thought. Realizing this helped me a not make as big of a deal out of my foibles too.

yeah eventually i figured this out. took me a good long while tho. some things go straight over my head and other things straight to the heart. cant really predict.

Life is a journey and we can only be what we are and who we want to be. Removing the external expectations placed on us is difficult, but it's the only way to ever really be free and authentic. I always check myself to make sure I'm being me and not what I think someone wants me to be or what I think society or family wants me to be. I don't know if that job is ever done, but knowing how to detach from those expectations is fundamental to survival in my own life. I always try to encourage others to just be authentic as well. Glad you wrote this!

Expectations are a bitch, and i do need to work there. But so are assumptions . Trying to do good is all very well, but like any process, a bit more critical thought and analysis would not go amiss. I'm glad i wrote this too. It's nice to get it off my chest and see how many really understand the intent.

my estimation of you continues to grow, kind sir.

This post received a 20% vote by @minnowsupport courtesy of @isaria from the Minnow Support Project ( @minnowsupport ). Join us in Discord.

Upvoting this comment will help support @minnowsupport.

I read this through and I feel such a connection to it. We've spoken on some occasion and I can honestly say that anyone who truly takes the time to get to know you and understand your personality will be better off. Obviously not everyone will do this and, at times, even some that try will still not mesh with you; but that's ok because it just means everyone is different and unique.

The one question I have for you is this: Do you find that your quirks (for lack of a better, in-the-moment, term) rise to the surface when you are watching TV/Movies with a main character that is similar in nature?

I find that my OCD and other quirks tend to do just that.

thank you for such a loving comment! yes, we are all different, and human, so i'm sure i am as endearing as annoying. as to your question, i don't know that i've found all that many characters that are similar to me. I don't watch tv anymore, but i remember identifying with Aly Sheedy's character in "The Breakfast Club". But more I find my negative aspects come to the fore in stress situations; crowds, uncertain social groups, etc.

So yes, in essence rabbitpuppy is a shield or mask that I wear so i can deal with a large group of strangers without freaking out. At the same time it's very much part of my personality. I like playing. I feel more animal then human. I feel like I am constantly changing who I am to meet the situation. hope that answers it :)

I completely understand that feeling. I have found often that my tendencies rise just by being around others with social quirks. I find nothing wrong with wearing the mask, as long as you have at least one person that you can trust enough to be you.

U just got a 100% upvote from me. Thanks for sharing. I feel my response will be lengthy so, brace yourself, winter is coming. Anyway, let me start.

"That mirror bit is from Clay, who That mirror bit is from Clay, who says that if we are upset about something, its a reflection of how we treat others. Or in analytical terms, "traits we tend to dislike in others are usually the traits we do not like about ourselves..". But it's a good analogy, the reflection of self. that if we are upset about something, its a reflection of how we treat others. Or in analytical terms, "traits we tend to dislike in others are usually the traits we do not like about ourselves..". But it's a good analogy, the reflection of self."

DISAGREE. I dislike the traits of serial killers and neo nazis, doesn't mean it is actually a trait I have! Also, I really dislike people who cannot stand their ground or face conflict when need be. Ask my close friends/ family they'll tell you that not even remotely true of myself. But tit for tat. I'm sure this theory of self refliction has some merit, i just strongly disagree with it.

Senses are magnified or distorted, and what seems normal for one child is torture to another - tight clothing, sunlight, touch, proximity, loud noises, crowds.

I've read things saying this puts you on an autistic spectrum but it could just be you're an HSP (highly sensitive person.) Those traits certainly exist in me and they always and at 29, pretty sure they always will. Halogens in grocery stores kill me. One article of" barely " uncomfy clothing that someone else could "deal with " i can't. Certain textures and fabrics are the worst. Loud sounds, raves, parties i despise. I feel like just awful. My mouth gets really dry, I lose the ability to converse with any sensibility, ill hide in a bathroom stall, i get headaches. SENSORY OVERLOAD. hence i avoid those situations and, I much like you have been viewed as "strange ", lost friends/ connections over it.

The patterns that I still carry are echoed in my everyday perceptions of social interactions as an adult; patterns that hold me back from loving and feeling loved

I will gently prod here and you probably already know this but as far as loving others:
you may feel you do, but if you don't actually love yourself, you can't love another person
You hold yourself back from loving because of mistrust i get it. So many people have let you down. Why bother? Save yourself the heartache and dont. Or take a chance that not all humans are inherently bad and open yourself up. Be more vulberablr but in very small bite sized doses. :)

I also realize that many people don't understand. They see my behavior as something that I should be able to control

This is a real problem. I have metal illness that was covered under the FMLA act. Guess what, i still got fucked (did a whole post on it). Invisible illnessrs are NOT taken Seriously by most of society. Hopefully this mindset evolve over time.

Lastly, no adults can't be fixed unless they're willing to make the necessary cognitive shifts (like learning to love yourself.) I feel you on the friend siruation. You can't force friendships though. Your fb friends with hundreds or even thousands of friends probablg haven't spoken to 90% of those people more than one time if ever. Its a delusion. And often those people aren't all the happier because of their huge "friends " list.

Excellent, thought provoking post. Rstmd.

thanks for this! i'll start by saying i originally was going to use your post that we discussed earlier as another thing to bounce off of in this blog, but it got too involved. i'll stick it here now. anxiety is yet another facet of all that goes on. and for me too as a child, muteness.

actually, i totally agree with your first point. there are of course times when 'reflection' applies, but i don't agree it always does. thank you for pointing that out. i also agree about standing ground and facing conflict, but positivism, to the exclusion of anything negative, is one thing that people seem to think is the better solution.

it irks me, but i'm east coast born. i believe we cannot realistically discuss solutions until we learn to listen. discuss what the issue is. there are too many people who don't want to deal with emotions or conflict, don't want to complain because conflict freaks them out. or there is the fear that they might piss off the big power/ money guys and get cut off, so they rattle off the trite positive thinking platitude and nothing is resolved. it's all still buried there, waiting.

as to the sensory perception, I may be HSP, we are very similar there. however i was referring to my nephew. if he goes off medication, he turns into a screaming 5 year old in any setting. he is 14. his case is pretty extreme. my other nephew, his twin, had behavioral issues and adhd which put him in juvenile away school at the age of 12 for disruptive behavior.

on the mistrust, yes, this is a factor in most relationships, but its tainted more by anxiety and fear. i've learned to cope at this stage, but it took about ten years to unlearn the habits from childhood. i still need to work on relationships more than the normal person because i get super anxious. being online is great for the distance and space it provides.

point being is that i want people to realize that there are a lot of things pushed under the radar because people do not want to talk about them. mental illnesses, physical illnesses, underlying conditions. they arent taken seriously as you so aptly wrote, they are covered under insurance in only extreme conditions, and only until it's proven that the parents arent somehow at fault for abusing their kids.

as a society we are looking at this but there are so many generations that are living with this and trying to cope. this is just my way of trying to bring it into the greater social consciousness. awareness is good.

The other key thing I want to point out is that people seem to think introverts should just learn to be extroverted. Like we are just slow and need a book to read about how to do it. I'm a good friend, and I take it a whole lot more seriously because I value it. I don't cheapen it by trying to on and throwing it away when it becomes too much of a hassle. As an introvert I'm really tired of people assuming I should be the one to change to fit extroverted parameters. That is big business talking. No thanks.

I guess my overall response is OMG. This is an award winning post. The best post I have ever read on Steemit. I went through all my emotions on this one. I had to get up from the computer and walk away. because for me you pulled back the curtain on life (on planet earth) All the questions you asked would take longer than the 7day cycle that this post has. But with this post, you helped me, blessed me...to respond to some of the questions you asked...I feel being on the planet 50 plus years, life has taught me a little something. I will begin by saying you don't need fixing, but you do like all of us need love. Not wanting to say Hello first and thing in the morning. It could be the word it self and the connotation of words that the word hello is made up of. Look a little closer at the word Hello, some words do have triggers for many of us that are only good or bad based on how these words have been used in the past that maybe locked in your subconscious. You also asked the question, How much can we affect the outcome of a child's future can we fix adults. Overall I feel its pertinent that we all grow and evolve and we do so collectively, which means If we all are to grow we should help each other because we are as weak or uninformed as our weakest link and not weak because we don't respond according to any status quo or how any scientific research says we should based on survey of some and not all. I don't like the word "fix" we are different for many reasons that go back generations in our dna, sometimes genes don't mix well because when you put one life experience in the same pot as another life experience it might equal chaos or us not responding well to the color orange, or gold or certain words only because on a given day back in 1922 something happen with that color or word or it may have been how someone touched our great, great great grandmother that did not affect her because she suppressed it and went on with her life but the damage was done and it showed up four generations later in me or you. And society labeled it Autism or some other name. The solutions is to help, love, listen, allow room for another's space, and not seek to fix or change but do search to identify ones gifts and uniqueness. We mus all work together to discover the best solutions possible for us all so that we can live the life that works best for us , whether that will be an introvert or extrovert. I love you @torico you introduced me to the different groups in discord which opened up a whole new way of thriving on Steemit and that was just a week ago. Thank you for that and this post.

What an incredibly kind and generous comment, thank you! I am really overwhelmed at the response that this post has generated in the community, and the different ways people have been touched.. It came about as a reaction to an event that triggered me and just blew up, but writing it let me experience the power of Steemit love and acceptance. An acceptance I rarely find in the real world, because people are too busy trying to not feel. Too worried about making sure you can fulfill some socially imposed role where they wont be required to adapt to something new. I love this part you wrote: "that did not affect her because she suppressed it and went on with her life but the damage was done and it showed up four generations later ". This is part of what I see; the baggage people carry around that they never knew about, that makes people family, the shared pain. And yes, we must, more than ever, work together to help one another despite the people who would divide us. I am quite pleased that I could help you discover discord. You are always welcome :)

I understand. I have a hard time making connections too and forget networking. I think I'm on the spectrum as well. I have sensory issues and spending the day at work trying to act "normal" fills me with daily anxiety.

yep. i think many creative people are similar in that respect. we don't work the way others expect us to. Thank you for the support :)

As the meme says, normal is just a setting on the dryer.
Normal is a social construct that really doesn't describe very many people. It's an average, not reality.

Very true.

wow, so this one hits home for me.

I can completely relate to what you are talking about, I have expressed similar sentiments in my early blog posts. I am very grateful to have recently come into some resources which have helped me very much. One of them is steemit itself.

I will speak further on this matter with you in dm

this is a great resource, with wonderful people. I just wish some of them would stop talking enough to look and listen.

you know the old saying, wish in one hand, "stuff" in the other, see which fills up faster ;)

yeah i dont know that saying. and i would rather have understanding and resolution than "stuff" at a price i'm not willing to pay.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 61111.24
ETH 2687.89
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.61