You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: the dysfunctional friend

in #childhood7 years ago (edited)

I guess my overall response is OMG. This is an award winning post. The best post I have ever read on Steemit. I went through all my emotions on this one. I had to get up from the computer and walk away. because for me you pulled back the curtain on life (on planet earth) All the questions you asked would take longer than the 7day cycle that this post has. But with this post, you helped me, blessed me...to respond to some of the questions you asked...I feel being on the planet 50 plus years, life has taught me a little something. I will begin by saying you don't need fixing, but you do like all of us need love. Not wanting to say Hello first and thing in the morning. It could be the word it self and the connotation of words that the word hello is made up of. Look a little closer at the word Hello, some words do have triggers for many of us that are only good or bad based on how these words have been used in the past that maybe locked in your subconscious. You also asked the question, How much can we affect the outcome of a child's future can we fix adults. Overall I feel its pertinent that we all grow and evolve and we do so collectively, which means If we all are to grow we should help each other because we are as weak or uninformed as our weakest link and not weak because we don't respond according to any status quo or how any scientific research says we should based on survey of some and not all. I don't like the word "fix" we are different for many reasons that go back generations in our dna, sometimes genes don't mix well because when you put one life experience in the same pot as another life experience it might equal chaos or us not responding well to the color orange, or gold or certain words only because on a given day back in 1922 something happen with that color or word or it may have been how someone touched our great, great great grandmother that did not affect her because she suppressed it and went on with her life but the damage was done and it showed up four generations later in me or you. And society labeled it Autism or some other name. The solutions is to help, love, listen, allow room for another's space, and not seek to fix or change but do search to identify ones gifts and uniqueness. We mus all work together to discover the best solutions possible for us all so that we can live the life that works best for us , whether that will be an introvert or extrovert. I love you @torico you introduced me to the different groups in discord which opened up a whole new way of thriving on Steemit and that was just a week ago. Thank you for that and this post.

Sort:  

What an incredibly kind and generous comment, thank you! I am really overwhelmed at the response that this post has generated in the community, and the different ways people have been touched.. It came about as a reaction to an event that triggered me and just blew up, but writing it let me experience the power of Steemit love and acceptance. An acceptance I rarely find in the real world, because people are too busy trying to not feel. Too worried about making sure you can fulfill some socially imposed role where they wont be required to adapt to something new. I love this part you wrote: "that did not affect her because she suppressed it and went on with her life but the damage was done and it showed up four generations later ". This is part of what I see; the baggage people carry around that they never knew about, that makes people family, the shared pain. And yes, we must, more than ever, work together to help one another despite the people who would divide us. I am quite pleased that I could help you discover discord. You are always welcome :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 61059.95
ETH 2677.49
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.61