You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: the dysfunctional friend

in #childhood7 years ago

I read this through and I feel such a connection to it. We've spoken on some occasion and I can honestly say that anyone who truly takes the time to get to know you and understand your personality will be better off. Obviously not everyone will do this and, at times, even some that try will still not mesh with you; but that's ok because it just means everyone is different and unique.

The one question I have for you is this: Do you find that your quirks (for lack of a better, in-the-moment, term) rise to the surface when you are watching TV/Movies with a main character that is similar in nature?

I find that my OCD and other quirks tend to do just that.

Sort:  

thank you for such a loving comment! yes, we are all different, and human, so i'm sure i am as endearing as annoying. as to your question, i don't know that i've found all that many characters that are similar to me. I don't watch tv anymore, but i remember identifying with Aly Sheedy's character in "The Breakfast Club". But more I find my negative aspects come to the fore in stress situations; crowds, uncertain social groups, etc.

So yes, in essence rabbitpuppy is a shield or mask that I wear so i can deal with a large group of strangers without freaking out. At the same time it's very much part of my personality. I like playing. I feel more animal then human. I feel like I am constantly changing who I am to meet the situation. hope that answers it :)

I completely understand that feeling. I have found often that my tendencies rise just by being around others with social quirks. I find nothing wrong with wearing the mask, as long as you have at least one person that you can trust enough to be you.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 61059.95
ETH 2677.49
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.61