Cemetery Photos Challenge Natchez City Cemetery

in #cemeteryphotos6 years ago (edited)

Natchez, Mississippi is the oldest city along the Mississippi River and was established in 1716. It was named after the American Indian tribe in the area called the “Natchez”. It became the hub of the steamboat era on the Mississippi.

Last week I posted photos of "The Turning Angel". Cemetery Photos- The Turning Angel This week's photos are in the same cemetery, established in 1822, and set high above the Mississippi River.

One of the graves in the cemetery is that of ten year old Florence Irene Ford (Sept 3, 1861 - Oct 30, 1871) who passed away, after contracting Yellow Fever .

image

The following is quoted from the Natchez City Cemetery web site:

"Ten-year-old Florence died of yellow fever. During her short life she was extremely frightened of storms and whenever one occurred she would rush to her mother to find comfort. Upon her death her mother was so struck with grief that she had Florence's casket constructed with a glass window at the child's head. The grave was dug to provide an area, the same depth of the coffin, at the child's head, but this area had steps that would allow the mother to descend to her daughter's level so she could comfort Florence during storms. To shelter the mother during storms, hinged metal trap doors were installed over the area the mother would occupy while at her child's grave.... In the mid 1950s a concrete wall was erected at the bottom of the stairway covering the glass window of Florence's coffin to prevent vandalism."

image

Many of the family plots in the cemetery are marked by intricate wrought iron fencing.

image

image

image

image

image

image

image

This large family plot had a hitching rail for horses.

image

I've used the tag #cemeteryphotos. If you have some cemetery photos, use the tag and feel free to post your photos in the comments and I'll do my best to upvote and possibly even re-steem them!


Cemetery Photos- The Turning Angel

Cemetery Photos- Mt. Olivet

Cemetery Photos-Asheville

Cemetery Photos-Stones River

Cemetery Photos- Charleston

Cemetery Photos- Italy

Cemetery Photos-Portugal

Cemetery Photos- High Desert of Arizona

Cemetery Photos-Lincoln's Tomb

Cemetery Photos-The Gap, Wisconsin

Shadow Contest Winners

Round 14 Winners- Colorful Shadows

image

Sort:  

Oh, what a sad and tragic story! I can't even imagine the grieve of her mother. Thanks for the lovely post, my dear Melinda.
Here is my photo. It's another Timorese cemetery, this one in a mountain. there's many more in the mountains, as in everywhere else, as I've told you already. This one is located near the border to the Indonesia side of the island. It's called Balibó.
Big hug, sweetie!

_CEMETERY.jpg

Wow! That truly is a mountain side cemetery! Great capture! Thanks so much for sharing it here!

I love you challenge my dear Melinda. I will be here as long as I have photos (and I have some ;)). Cheers, sweetie!

Here is my contribution to the Cemetery Photos - only just realized that I have to post it here too lol will I ever get the hang of this, Melinda?? lol
https://busy.org/@artbyjolla/cemetery-photo-challenge-hosted-by-melinda010100

Wow! I would have found your beautiful angels eventually! This just gets my attention much quicker!

Yes...oc...I need to remember to post the links...I will get the hang of this....lol one day!!!@melinda010100

Waw!!! Fantastic!

Here is contribuition for Cemetery Photos:
https://steemit.com/cemeteryphotos/@ginga/2efdk7-cemetery-photos-challenge
DSCN2167.jpg

Have a nice Monday, Melinda!

So much history in just one photo! Thanks for sharing this!

pixresteemer_incognito_angel_mini.png
Congratz, your post has been resteemed and, who knows, will maybe appear in the next edition of the #dailyspotlights (Click on my face if you want to know more about me...)
Check the rules of the Daily Spotlights if you want to nominate someone!

yaas cemetery post. you have no idead how much I enjoy these posts, not creepy at all. Anyway I just love the stpory behind and the traditions of different people

Hope you join in and post some photos, too! Thanks for your kind words!

For me is a pleasure see this pictures are so good. You take amazing pictures. Have a wonderful week my dear Melinda💕

You are so sweet! Thank you!

Love the cherub/angel - we have 2 concrete replicas on our porch steps

I wonder if this is the original?

Those iron gate photos are just gorgeous. I love how you captured them Melinda... but the little angel looks sad and alone. I will send him some company to brighten his day.

Thanks! He does look lonely, doesn't he?

Oh wow... can’t recall having such cemetery in our place with so much architectural intricacy

Thanks for the qurator support! Some cemeteries here are pretty amazing!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 56519.24
ETH 2991.31
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.16