Cemeteryphotos challenge- Because it's Monday!

in #cemeteryphotos6 years ago (edited)

Charleston, South Carolina's graveyards are quiet and beautiful places. They offer opportunities to walk through a bit of the history of this old city.
These photos were taken in various cemeteries in the historic district in Charleston.

image

image

image

image

Many Charleston families displayed their wealth by importing gravestones from New England.

image

image

image

image

image

Winged skulls were probably intended to symbolize a death but also a spiritual regeneration.

image

image

image

Gravestone decorations that I saw include an hourglass and an inscription of the Latin phrase “Memento Mori,” which means, ‘Remember, you must die.’
image

image

I've used the tag #cemeteryphotos and if you have some cemetery photos, use the tag and feel free to post your photos in the comments and I'll do my best to upvote them!

Cemetery Photos- Italy

Cemetery Photos-Portugal

Cemetery Photos- High Desert of Arizona

Cemetery Photos-Lincoln's Tomb

Cemetery Photos-The Gap, Wisconsin

Here is the link so you can go check on all the Winners for the Shadow Photos for this past week!

Round 8 Winners- Vehicle Shadows

And remember to enter this week's contest!

SHADOW PHOTO CONTEST Round 8-Super Hero/figurine

image

Sort:  

https://steemit.com/colorchallenge/@mamajeani/color-challenge-thursday-green-a-siri-induced-detour

cover siri induced detour graveyard.jpg

We lived next to an old southern slave cemetery in Eureka, Texas...a tiny town that actually still had party lines as the only option for the local homes in as late as 1985, and two years past that...yes, seriously. In that particular area, anyway.

This pic is on the way home from a beach trip with my family, to the Flori-bama area. It was Siri's destination...not ours!
#cemetaryphotos

A Siri adventure! At least you got a photo out of the detour!

pixresteemer_incognito_angel_mini.png
Check The Daily spotlights of 10 March 2018! You missed one? ----> #dailyspotlights
Your quality post caught my attention and I hope you benefit from my resteem. My followers have a refined appreciation for quality art. You might also enjoy my curated collection. To see the quality posts I have curated via resteem, see my blog @pixresteemer. If you want to know more about me and my mission, please check my introduction.

I say that pictures are incredible. In this pictures we can apreciate all story of this cemeterys. Thanks for sharing with us this amazing pictures.

I'm so glad you enjoyed them!

Oh Melinda you know I love these kind of pictures!!! cemetery pictures got me! I specially loved this one, with all the trees. great post as always

Hoping you show us some from your area!!

These are amazing Melinda!! I haven't been to a cemetery in so long and really miss it! I will see if I can "dig up" some photos for next Monday but they don't compare to these..beautiful!!

I love the mossy tree one!

Thanks, my tree appreciator friend!

Really enjoy these graveyard shots. Such places stir the soul. And often they can be great places to reflect while surrounded by the quiet and respect of the land.

Thanks! I really love them for all the history..imagining what people's lives and families must have been like.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.21
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 68643.84
ETH 3277.52
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.67