I Can't Vote For 45 Hours! Don't Let This Happen To You!

in #busy7 years ago

Outsourcing your upvotes is an easy way to earn here on SteemIt. But be careful not to drain your voting power

voting_power.jpg

Outsourcing Your Upvotes



On SteemIt you can find loads of ways to outsource your upvoting. If you don't have enough time to upvote posts manually, or if you always seem to pick the wrong posts and don't earn any curation rewards, these services can be a big help.

Some examples:

  • You can join Smartsteem and sell your votes.

  • If you join Streemian you can follow curation trails, which mains that you can sign up for a trail of an experienced voter and vote on the posts he (or she ) votes.

  • You can sign up for Steemvoter and/or SteemDunk to automatically upvote the authors of your choice.

  • When you join Steemfollower, you are expected to upvote 5 posts every day. By doing so, your post will be shown on the website, and you will receive votes in return.

These are just a few sites you can use to automate your upvoting - many more are available.
And of course there's nothing wrong with using these services... provided you use them wisely.

important.jpg

Keep An Eye On Your Voting Power



Since you can upvote only 20 posts a day, you shouldn’t overdo it. With every upvote, whether it is a manual upvote or an automated upvote, you give away a little of your voting power (2% to be exact).


The vote of a minnow at 100% voting power is worth only a couple of cents. If you reduce your power to 50%, it will be worth almost nothing.


If you overuse the services mentioned above, you'll eventually reach a moment when there is no point in giving someone a manual upvote because you like his article, simply because you don't have enough voting power to reward the author.

votingpower.png

Regenerating Your Voting Power



You can check your voting power at https://steemd.com/@yourusername or at SteemNow!


At [SteemNow](https://steemnow.com/) replace the name in the top right box with your own username and click 'Save'.


A bar will appear in the center of the screen. It'll show you how much voting power you have left and how long it will take to reach 100% again.

bar.png

In normal circumstances, you voting power regenerates at a rate of around 20% per day.

But... those automatic services are not going to wait until your back at 100%, they'll just keep on voting. As a result, your voting power will never go up completely, so you’ll never be able to vote at 100%.

I Speak From Experience



I speak from experience: I set up up only one curation trail at Streemian , automated upvoting for my favorite author using Steemvoter and allowed Smartsteem to sell my votes. Also, I frequently voted through SteemFollower.

And of course I also upvoted posts manually almost every day.

Now, I'm at a point where my voting power never goes back over 80%, which has a big impact on the value of my votes.

Let me show you my voting power bar:

mybar.png


To get my voting power back to 100%, I am not able to upvote a single post for 45 hours... I'm on SteemIt every day...!

Now, I disabled most of the services, trying to get that VP slider closer to 100%. Once I get there, I'll be able to re-activitate some of those auto-upvoting uptions again.

In the article Voting Power 101 by @scrooger he recommends to keep your voting power above 80% for optimal curation rewards.

(I really recommend you read this article - @scrooger found an original way of explaining how voting power works.)

But when you're using automated voting services, you need to make sure they're not draining too much of you voting power. If they do, you need to make some adjustments to make sure you stay above 80% - if you don't, you might end up like me: all frustrated and poor.

The Importance Of Upvoting Manually



For me, the manual voting part is the most important; you get to read entire articles that may contain valuable information, and you can discover promising new and older authors that are worth following.

After all, this is a social media platform, not an auto-vote-and-then-forget-about-it platform. In the long run, authenticity will be rewarded, even if the money you get from upvoting manually is a bit lower.

I’m not saying you shouldn’t outsource your upvoting, but I advice you to work smart, so when a fantastic post passes you by, you’ll still be able to give it the manual reward it deserves.

Do you outsource your upvoting? Or do you prefer to vote manually? I'm curious, so please let me know which one you prefer, and why.


If you like this post, feel free to follow me, upvote or re-steem it :-)

Follow my updates by subscribing to my RSS feed through a feed reader HERE

or

Receive notifications of new posts in your mailbox by subscribing HERE



More Posts You Might Like:

Upcoming Cryptocurrency Events For January 2nd and 3rd

From The Deep, Dark Dungeons Of My Soul. I Stepped Back Into The Light

Tutorial: How To Reclaim The SP You Delegated To Minnow Support Project

To Delegate SP Or Not To Delegate SP, That’s The Question

SteemIt Suggestion: How I Wish I Could Bookmark Posts

Bitcoin Forks: The Most Interesting Article I’ve Read

My Love Letter To Bitcoin. May You Rest In Peace!



Sort:  

may be i reasteam your post

You got a 54.55% upvote from @yourwhale courtesy of @mike314-0005!

really appreciate your first hand information. bummer for you! :( I like to do things for myself, so will probably never try it, even when I actually have voting power. :)

When you’re voting manually, at least you know what you’re voting for: quality content. There are too many crappy posts that are upvoted by bots, earning 5 times more money than I do...

I have heard there issues with bots voting. Takes the human element completely away from what I feel is important here. Humans communicating with humans. I will try and stay away from anything that resembles that.

I just found out about steemvoter yesterday. At first I thought it was a great idea. Then I heard about steemnow. I checked out my voting power. Oofta! I do all my votes manually, so I can’t imagine what would happen if I automated my votes. I should really let my VP build up, but then I feel bad if I don’t upvote comments on my posts.

I’m in the same place. I’d really like to upvote comments on my posts, to thank people for reading, but I the moment I simply can’t do it if I want to get my VP back up.
Congrats on being one of the few that Does his own upvoting!

Interesting.. I have heard people rave about steemfollower so I gave in and tried it. Had no success with it. I did my allotted / required UPvotes for others but never received but a few in return.

I prefer to go to the post myself and either UPvote, resteem or comment. I'm a hands-on person and don't care for the automated ANYTHING.

I admire your opinion. I’m going to stay away from the automated upvoting. It might come in handy when you go on vacation and still want to keep earning.
The problem with Steemfollower is that you vote just to vote, it has nothing to do with rewarding valuable posts..

Hello. I hope this reaches you. How do I go about reclaiming my voting power from these services. I fell into the same boat as you described and I have decided to manually use my votes from here on out. Please help. :)

(It’s rather by accident that I’ve seen your post, because I migrated to a new account. You can find me at @simplymike)

I’ve written a tutorial on how to claim back your voting power from MinnowSupport Project.
It works the same for Minnowbooster: you simply send them a new delegation of 0SP.
I think most services work like that...
If you’re following a curation trail somewhere, make sure you unfollow it.
To see to which services you have delegated, you can use steemworld.com

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.13
JST 0.028
BTC 64476.22
ETH 3153.91
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.54