Tutorial: How To Reclaim The SP You Delegated To Minnow Support Project

in #busy7 years ago

Getting back the Steem Power you delegated to Minnow Support is easy - you just have to know what to do.

how_to_un-delegated_delegated_SP.jpg

When I first started at SteemIt, I had no clue about where to go and what to do.
I started searching the platform for help, and stumbled upon a post by @jerrybanfield . I knew his name from when we were both still into internet marketing. I discovered he had thrown himself into SteemIt and was creating loads of posts that could help you out when you're a newbie on SteemIt.


In one of his posts he talked about the Minnow Support project and the benefits of joining.

You can read his post here





I did some more research and signed up to become a member of the project. I also decided to delegate some Steem Power, even if I didn't really know what I was doing at the time.

Delegation is a key component to the achievements of the Minnow Support Project. Steemit up-vote weight is partially calculated based on the voting account’s Steem Power, so having our bots powered up is important.
Source: Minnowsupport Project



You can find more information on delegating SP on their website: http://minnowsupportproject.org/delegation/

screenshot.png

Reclaiming Your Delegated Steem Power



At the moment I'm writing this, I'm finally getting close to the 500SP milestone. In fact, I would be, if it weren't for the 100SP I delegated to the Minnow Support Project.

I decided to take back a little of that delegated Steem Power, so I could power up to 500SP.

Although the Minnow Support Project website states delegated SP can always be reclaimed, I couldn't find any information on how to do this.

the Steem Power delegated to power up the MSP bots is used for the good of the community, but you retain control, and can always take it back at any time should you wish — this process takes seven days.

I must admit it took me quite a while before I found any instructions. That surprised me, because it is really easy to do. Why make it so difficult to find out how to do it...

How To Take Back The SP You Delegated To Minnow Support Project



Thanks to @accelerator for the explanation

It's very simple: every delegation you make over-rides the previous one.

If you want to change your amount of SP, all you need to do is make a new delegation with the new amount of SP.

If you want to take back all of your delegated SP, you simply make a delegation of 0SP.

So let's say you want to take back all of your SP.

Step 1:
Visit http://minnowsupportproject.org/delegation/

Step 2
Click the big 'Delegate to msp now' button

delegation.jpg

Step 3:
On the next page, fill in your username. In the 'Steem Power' field, just type '0'.

(In case you've delegated 100SP and want to get 80SP back, simply type '20' in the SP field. Please note that the link on step 4 will not show 0 vests - it will show a different number)

fields.jpg

Step 4
Click the submit button.
A new window will open, giving you a link. Double check if the link includes vesting_shares=0.000000%20VESTS

link.jpg

Step 5
If it does, click 'Open URL'.
You'll now be presented a Steemconnect window.

steemconnect.jpg

Step 6
Click 'Continue'. Now simply confirm the operation by entering your details. Then, click 'Sign in'.

cofirm.jpg

A confirmation window will appear.

success.jpg

You'll get your delegated SP back in 7 days.


Note
The Minnow Support Project really helped me to get started, so I won't take back all of my Steem power, because I want to keep on supporting them. I've only taken back 75 from the 100SP I delegated.


If you like this post, feel free to follow me, upvote or re-steem it :-)


Follow my updates by subscribing to my RSS feed through a feed reader HERE

or

Receive notifications of new posts in your mailbox by subscribing HERE


More Posts You Might Like:

SteemIt Suggestion: How I Wish I Could Bookmark Post

Bitcoin Forks: The Most Interesting Article I’ve Read

My Love Letter To Bitcoin. May You Rest In Peace!

Sola: The Next Generation Social Platform That Pays You

Sort:  

@mike314-0005 Thanks for this useful information. That is awesome you have made it easier for the next person. Like me, I appreciate it.

Thanks. I’m spending so much time trying to find my way on this platform - I find it all rather complicated, to say the least. Writing posts about the things I discover can help others to find there way around - and it helps me to remember everything ;-)

I can relate to what you're saying. I do pretty much the same thing. Have a Great New Year.

@mike314-0005 I did this process. It shows at minnowbooster that I have 0 delegated to the bot. So it seems to have been successful. However I have a problem. In my steemit account my SP is ( -4100) I don't have that power added back with my original SP. I just realized after re-reading your post you are referring to minnow "support project" and I had/used minnow "booster" Still if you have any suggestions I would appreciate it? Maybe @accelerator has an idea?

Remember, it takes 7 days to see your SP in your wallet again...

All that information was perfect. A tremendous help, Thank you very much. I appreciate the time and effort you spent helping me out. I am very grateful. I hope 2018 is a Great Year for you and your family. :-)

No problem, I don’t mind helping out. All the best wishes for you and your family too

Helpful and useful post thank you for sharing

Thanks for reading it ;-)

This post received a 0.500 SBD (33.97%) upvote from @upvotewhale thanks to @mike314-0005! For more information, check out my profile!

You got a 28.13% upvote from @mercurybot courtesy of @mike314-0005!

This post has received a 14.63 % upvote from thanks to: @mike314-0005.
For more information, click here!!!!
Send minimum 0.010 SBD to bid for votes.
The Minnowhelper team is still looking for investors (Minimum 10 SP), if you are interested in this, read the conditions of how to invest click here!!!
ROI Calculator for Investors click here!!!

Congratulations @mike314-0005! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Thanks. I did want you said right before finding this post. I wanted to put my sp in with their bot, but since I’m new at this, I messed that up. 😱

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 54552.37
ETH 2295.79
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.30