Bitcoin Forks: The Most Interesting Article I’ve Read

in #bitcoin7 years ago

Bitcoin forks, are they beneficial or should we fear them?

035_CEEF5-_ADED-4_B5_C-829_B-9_FE1_D51_DC3_B5.jpg

Unless you have been hiding under a rock, you’re probably aware of the wave of Bitcoin Forks we’re dealing with...

Scrolling through the list of SteemIt articles posted with the ‘Bitcoin’ or ‘Cryptocurrency’ tag, it is hard not to notice that forks are a hot topic.

Bitcoin Cash, Bitcoin Gold, Super Bitcoin, Bitcoin Cash Plus, Segwit2X, Bitcoin God, Bitcoin Platinum, Uranium and Silver... all passed and future forks are discussed in thousands of online articles. Opinions are very diverse.

Trying to figure out whether all those forks were actually a good thing or a bad thing, I spent hours reading all kinds of articles. None of them gave me a clear answer to my question.

I was about to give up when I stumbled upon a video and an article called ‘So Many Bitcoin Forks’ by TenX.

The article is actually a transcript of the video, in which TenX starts with explaining WHY forks occur. He splits up the different reasons into 3 categories:

  • forking off to benefit from the reputation of the existing coin is easier than starting from scratch. (Very good insight, if you ask me)
  • Political reasons
  • Economical reasons

Then, he explains why he thinks those forks are beneficial in both the short and long term.

It was the most refreshing, informative and interesting article I had read all day.

Whatever your personal opinion towards these Bitcoin forks is, I think you should see/read this. Some very good points are made and a very clear insight is given.

Since I can’t post the article here, I’ll post the video below. If you want to read the full transcript, simply visit this site: https://blog.tenx.tech/so-many-bitcoin-forks-is-this-dangerous-or-good-transcript-2da92f48e49f

I can assure you you won’t be waisting your time!


Sort:  

This wonderful post has received a @mike314-0005 38.27% upvote from @mrswhale. Discord Channel: https://discord.gg/XG4y3mg Be sure to vote for witnesses at https://steemit.com/~witnesses

You got a 39.18% upvote from @upmewhale courtesy of @mike314-0005!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 64750.39
ETH 3148.54
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.58