Dannystravels in Rio De Janeiro

in #busy6 years ago

DSC03570.JPG

Hi I'm Danny! I'm travelling around the world! Follow my posts.

I've been preparing for a trip to Brazil and whilst looking for an AirBnb I dug through old photos I'd forgotten about, and was reminiscing about some of the places I've been and wanted to revisit.



DSCF0120.JPG

P1060296.JPG

A trip to Brazil is not complete without visiting Cidade Maravilhosa. This translates to "the marvellous city" and is more commonly known as Rio De Janeiro.



Life in Rio revolves around the beach. A typical Carioca (resident of Rio) will often spend their entire day down at the beach.

P1150374.JPG

P4170643.JPG

The famous Copacabana boardwalk

PC310274.JPG

Iconic Two Brothers Mountain in the background

DSC_0297.JPG

Theatro Municapal - Downtown Rio

P1090300.JPG

Once you've got your spot on the beach you don't need to get up for the rest of the day - even your beer is hand delivered. Check out these guys above delivering ice cold Skol.


P1150359.JPG

P1150361.JPG

One of the reasons I love Rio is because of the high density of nature within the city. This is owing to having the largest urban rainforest in the world in the city itself. We spotted a friendly Marmoset.



P3250440.JPG

P4040562.JPG

P4040563.JPG

There is of course a much darker side to Rio too, and crime rates are still very high here. This is mainly down to the massive numbers of people living in favelas and existing on a very low income.



Despite the poverty and danger the favelas are a huge part of the soul and character of Rio. To give you an idea there are estimated to be 12 million people living in these slums. That is more than the population of London.


PC290259.JPG

Follow me here and check my old posts!

The Ngorongoro Crater

Elephant Orphanage | Weather Systems | Inside the crater | 5* Eco Lodge | dTube video

Zambia

Entering Zambia | Zambezi Beer on Zambezi River | Zebras | Giraffes | Darting Hyenas

Incredible Zanzibar

Paradise | Teaching English | Dolphin Tourism | Stone Town | Humpback Whales

DQmfW4J7XDYxSdWo5iUMs2sPY7u1D1QXyrRTiVwH5zFa2cJ.jpeg

Exploring Cape Town

Cage Diving & Great White Sharks | Antartica Penguins | Exploring The South Peninsula | Robben Island | Climbing Table Mountain | Cape of Good Hope | Welcome to Cape Town

Mountain Gorillas In The Congo

The Congo | Virunga National Park | Mountain Gorillas 1 / 2 | Lava Lake | Gorilla Oprhanage

Bonito's beautiful waters

Sinkhole | Cave Diving | Blue Caves | Floating Down the River | Ziplines | Stunning Bonito

Columbia & Trekking to the hidden city

First thoughts about Columbia | Trekking to the hidden city Day 2 | Day 3 | Day 4 | Day 5

The Pantanal Wetlands and Wildlife

The Pantanal | Swimming With Caiman | Giant Guinea Pigs | Blue Macaws | Howler Monkeys!

Sort:  

Thanks for this virtual walk around Rio! Great shots!

While you were in Rio, did you wander up into the favelas?

Yes! In fact when we trekked up Two Brothers mountain we had to go via Vidigal favela. I'm going to write something about it when I get back with a decent Wifi connection.

Excellent. I have a friend who took a walk through and loved it. (During the day)

Fantastic pictures of Rio- I really love that city and planning to visit there one day. I had hoped to go during the world cup in 2014 but didn't make it. That beach is really my favorite- looking forward to more pics when you do visit again :)

Thank you for this comment and for checking out the post. You just reminded me I have a video somewhere from the World Cup in 2014. I saw Argentina play Bosnia and it was absolutely incredible. I'll try and upload to dTube next week!

That would be great to watch :)

Did you take some more pictures of the street art? Must be quite colorful and diverse from what I've heard!?

Yep! My next post is going to be about the Selarón steps probably which is a really famous landmark (and perhaps counts as street art)

Wow! Incredible photos! That place just moved a whole bunch of places up my bucket list 😊 thanks for the great work @dannytravels

There are so many things to do and see here. I think I'll be writing about this trip for quite a few posts now.

Cool! I am looking forward to seeing more of your posts buddy

WARNING! The comment below by @blockchainfiend leads to a known phishing site that could steal your account.
Do not open links from users you do not trust. Do not provide your private keys to any third party websites.

You should try Florianopolis too

That monkey does not look friendly at all! How was the Vidigal favela, dangerous to walk through?

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.12
JST 0.031
BTC 57019.68
ETH 2888.91
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.61