The Only Piece of Art I have left from School and What Made Me Give Up Art for so Long

in #art8 years ago (edited)

Introduction

In one of my previous posts I discussed how my school managed to "lose" almost all of my artwork when I left to go to University. I think what most likely happened was that they accidentally put them in a skip and they ended up being thrown away in a land fill somewhere. I had been painting and drawing since I started at school and so there was a huge amount of work and it represented a huge part of my life.

It was like they had thrown away a large part of me with my artwork.

I was so dejected by this that I gave up on painting and any kind of art for several years. Luckily one piece of art did survive as they had not taken it down and I have managed to get some photographs of it here to show you.

As always feel free to use any of these you want in your own posts - download them here.


The Painting

1
Arif_Akhtar_Car_Painiting_02_of_08d09f5.png
I painted this when I was 15 for my GCSE art exam which I was taking a year early (for various reasons). This was painted in an impasto style. At the time I was very much into this technique which employs using very thick layers of paint. This is oil paint on Daler board.
2
Arif_Akhtar_Car_Painiting_03_of_08877d6.jpg
3
Arif_Akhtar_Car_Painiting_04_of_0812c91.jpg
4
Arif_Akhtar_Car_Painiting_05_of_08a134e.jpg

The inspiration for the painting came from a magazine supplement from Top Car magazine which featured a lot of car related paintings and art pieces. I forget the name of the artist or the original piece which inspired me but it was similar painting from I believe the 1960s which featured a classic British Roadster probably an MG. I have tried unsuccessfully to find the original artwork which inspired me online. In lieu of that I have provided some photos of the MX5 and MG cars at the end of the post.
5
Arif_Akhtar_Car_Painiting_06_of_08cddb6.jpg
6
Arif_Akhtar_Car_Painiting_07_of_0892a50.jpg
7
Arif_Akhtar_Car_Painiting_08_of_08f3edc.jpg

I loved the feeling of motion in the painting and wanted to create something similar. To give my own take on it I employed the impasto technique as described above and also substituted the car with it's modern equivalent the Mazda MX5 (Miata internationally) which was really popular in the 1990s. I originally painted it with the folding lights like the MX5 of the time had but it didn't look right so I eventually modified it to give it more old fashioned headlamps which seemed to suit the painting better.
8
Arif_Akhtar_Car_Painiting_01_of_08c3c6a.jpg


The Cars

MG Midget

MGMidgetRoadster00536652.jpg
Source for this photo

mg__midget___mki_1962_5_lgw418b0.jpg
Source for this photo

Mazda MX-5

MX5777eb.jpg
Source for this photo
1994-mazda-miata-mx-5-5-speed-manual-no-reserve-auction-239f16.jpg
Source for this photo


If you like my work and aren't already, please follow me and check out my blog (I mainly discuss photography but I do other topics too) - @thecryptofiend


Camera: Nikon D800 with Sigma 24-70mm/2.8 lens.


Photo Credits: All photos are my own unless otherwise stated and free for you to use under the terms of Steemit4free


(Verification for me here: http://www.aapicture.com/about-me)


Some of my other recent posts


Are You New to Steemit and Finding it Confusing?

These resources may help:

  1. For a Quick FAQ - Try this
  2. To learn about Markdown (to help you post) - Try this
  3. Need to know Steemit Etiquette? - Try this
  4. Need some free images for your posts? Try Steemit4free - make sure to check which images it applies to.
  5. Need to talk to a human for help? - Try the chat
  6. Need Mentorship? - Try Steemprentice - here is a link that explains it, and here is the chat channel.
  7. Need a Free Image Host that works with Steemit? - Try SteemImg - it automatically produces markdown and html links for you, as well creating thumbnails and more.
Sort:  

This is a very cool painting :-) You should keep get back to it again and paitning more :-)

The only ones I have left from the drawing classes years ago are these:

These are beautiful. You should get back to it too! Most of my work was sketches like these and pen and ink sketches.

Maybe I will make a post then too. I thought they are shit :p

You are like me, a harsh critic. Trust me if you lost them then you would realise their true value. One man's shit is another man's gold. Your art is a part of you.

You should totally do a post on them.

The first thing I thought when looking at your picture was Fast and Furious movies, you can see the movement, brilliant work :)

Thank you. It just needs Vin Diesel:)

Just a shame about Paul Walker :(

Yes definitely. I think he wasn't even 40.

It was very sad, I cry everytime I hear the song :(

Yes and the worst part is he had a 16 year old daughter too. I think that is one of the worst ages (not that there is ever a good age obviously) to lose your Dad because it is such a difficult time in your life and you are not as adaptable to things as when you are a small child. I couldn't imagine preparing for exams/university and making a career and losing such an important member of your family (not to mention he was so young too). The fact that it was so tragic will only make it harder.

I totally agree plus with him being famous she can't grieve as we do as is always being brought up in the news as a reminder

I LOVE your painting!

I can feel the speed!!! :) :) :)

Thanks so much for sharing....

PS The classic Miata is my "dream car." If I ever retire, I want to buy and restore one of the early editions... ;)

Thank you. Yes it was a lovely car but it definitely looks very 1990s. I wouldn't mind one either, they were supposed to be really light and agile, an amazing drive! This was before every small car started weighing a tonne and half and power steering was the norm. The feel and feedback was supposed to be akin to being directly connected to the road.

I thought of the Ford (actually Shelby) Cobra right away when I saw it.

Haha, wish it was mine. I was searching quickly and didn't credit it, but if you right click you can copy the image address and see where I grabbed it.

Yes it does look more like a Cobra in the painting lol. I think my attempt at hybridising the MX5 with classical roadsters managed to channel it's spirit. The Cobra would be one of my dream cars!

I think I saw a classic one sell for a million pounds a few years back. Interesting fact is that the reason we have motorway speed limits in the UK is because of the AC Cobra. When the M1 was newly built in the 1960s someone decided to drive down the motorway at 200mph in their new Cobra! The tabloid papers went crazy and the government implemented a speed limit of 70mph (previously there was none on motorways) and it has stuck since then. This is despite motorways statistically being the safest roads and the advances in car technology and safety since then. German autobahns are in parts unrestricted and they seem to do fine.

Man, I remember when you first shared about them losing all of your artwork.

Thanks for sharing the one that you still have from those days.

This post has been linked to from another place on Steem.

Learn more about and upvote to support linkback bot v0.5. Flag this comment if you don't want the bot to continue posting linkbacks for your posts.

Built by @ontofractal

Quite interesting drawing.
I'll suggest your numbering in the Painting section to have formatting of maybe h2 o h3.:-)

Thank you. I'm not really understanding the numbering point though.

You have a part with header "The Painting" then you list them by number 1, 2, 3 and so on.
I feel that those number with a bigger font (maybe using header 2 or hearder 3) will be better that a normal text one.

OK I understand. Yes I forgot to format them!

Another opportunity lies before you! <3 Take care @thecryptofiend

Thanks I will:)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 66066.52
ETH 3291.81
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.70