Dunstanburgh Castle IR shots (free for you to use in your own posts)

Introduction

1
Arif_Akhtar_Dunstanburgh_Colour_05_of_069e604.jpg

Dunstanburgh Castle is a ruined 14th century castle on the Northumberland Coast. You can find more information on the castle here. This is what it looks like in colour (photo above).

Since people seem to really like the IR shots I have been posting I thought I might share some of my shots of this beautiful, yet ruined building.

To stop this post getting too long I will link the different albums below so you can check them out yourself if you want to use the photos in your own posts (Steemit4free). There are a total of 50 photos so do have a look as you might prefer some of the others a lot more than these ones.

These will probably be the last IR photos I can do until I get my newly converted camera back (in a few weeks) - unless people want me to do some monochrome versions of selected shots from here (I didn't have time to do very many).

I did have more IR shots but I seem to have archived them away in such a safe place that even I can't find them!


The album links - see examples of different versions below

Album 1 IR monochrome

Album 2 IR with Canon WB Processing and Channel Swapping

Album 3 IR with Lightroom White Balance

Album 4 Colour Shots with Regular Camera

(I have a lot more of these normal colour shots which I haven't processed due to lack of time - if you would like me to do more just let me know).


The Photos


Example of what the different versions look like

I thought I might first show an example of how these shots look when processed using the Canon Raw converter to set light balance and also in Photoshop. One of the things I've noticed is that a lot of shots in IR tend to be underexposed and even those that aren't tend to have a lot of noise which is accentuated by channel swapping.


IR with Canon WB before being channel swapped

2
Arif_Akhtar_Dunstanburgh_IR_WB_noCS__02_of_02b5ea5.jpg


IR with Canon WB after swapping Red and Blue Channels in Photoshop

3
Arif_Akhtar_Dunst_WB_CS_colour_04_of_11745bb.jpg


IR with Lightroom WB and no channel swap - I actually prefer these to the other colour versions

4
Arif_Akhtar_Dunst_WB_in_LR_05_of_22f262f.jpg
Thankfully these still look pretty good. Unfortunately I only preprocessed a few of these in the Canon Raw editor which I no longer have so the majority of the photos are like this. I used the clouds (in this case) and the castle stone in other shots to set the white balance.


More shots with LR WB - check out more of these in Album 3

5
Arif_Akhtar_Dunst_WB_in_LR_15_of_225aacc.jpg
6
Arif_Akhtar_Dunst_WB_in_LR_16_of_229c1ee.jpg
7
Arif_Akhtar_Dunst_WB_in_LR_21_of_226788d.jpg
8
Arif_Akhtar_Dunst_WB_in_LR_19_of_224bee7.jpg
9
Arif_Akhtar_Dunst_WB_in_LR_18_of_22edc9f.jpg
10
Arif_Akhtar_Dunst_WB_in_LR_17_of_225f454.jpg
11
Arif_Akhtar_Dunst_WB_in_LR_09_of_22e08bf.jpg
12
Arif_Akhtar_Dunst_WB_in_LR_08_of_2202e4b.jpg
13
Arif_Akhtar_Dunst_WB_in_LR_02_of_224da3f.jpg


Some Monochrome Processed Shots - apologies for the different toning on the first

- I can produce more of these if people want them I have just done a few as examples because they take the longest to produce. Just let me know which specific images you want the monochrome versions of.

14
Arif_Akhtar_Dunstanburgh_IR_Mono_02_of_07cb71b.jpg
15
Arif_Akhtar_Dunstanburgh_IR_Mono_04_of_07907f7.jpg
16
Arif_Akhtar_Dunstanburgh_IR_Mono_06_of_072d01e.jpg


Some of the shots with Canon Raw Processing and Channel Swapping - these are all quite dark and noisy

17
Arif_Akhtar_Dunst_WB_CS_colour_11_of_11b654d.jpg
18
Arif_Akhtar_Dunst_WB_CS_colour_07_of_1198cb0.jpg
19
Arif_Akhtar_Dunst_WB_CS_colour_10_of_114c7d3.jpg
20
Arif_Akhtar_Dunst_WB_CS_colour_03_of_113e0b6.jpg
21
Arif_Akhtar_Dunst_WB_CS_colour_06_of_11b07a1.jpg
22
Arif_Akhtar_Dunst_WB_CS_colour_05_of_11d996b.jpg


Some colour shots taken with my other camera on the same day - you can see the difference in brightness

23
Arif_Akhtar_Dunstanburgh_Colour_01_of_06bea88.jpg
24
Arif_Akhtar_Dunstanburgh_Colour_03_of_0620623.jpg


If you like my work and aren't already, please follow me and check out my blog (I mainly discuss photography but I do other topics like too) - @thecryptofiend


Photo Credits: All photos are my own unless otherwise stated and free for you to use under the terms of Steemit4free


(Verification for me here: http://www.aapicture.com/about-me)


Some of my other recent posts


Are You New to Steemit and Finding it Confusing?

These resources may help:

  1. For a Quick FAQ - Try this
  2. To learn about Markdown (to help you post) - Try this
  3. Need to know Steemit Etiquette? - Try this
  4. Need some free images for your posts? Try Steemit4free - make sure to check which images it applies to.
  5. Need to talk to a human for help? - Try the chat
  6. Need Mentorship? - Try Steemprentice - here is a link that explains it, and here is the chat channel.
  7. Need a Free Image Host that works with Steemit? - Try SteemImg - it automatically produces markdown and html links for you, as well creating thumbnails and more.
Sort:  

Wow, those are amazing! I also really love that you allow to use them at steemit. Maybe someone wants to use one of them for the #poetryslamchallenge - they would perfectly fit to poetry.

It is done. :-)

posted for the #poetryslamchallenge for this castle.

Please do share any feedback you have. Thanks in advance.

Very cool. I commented right under your post.

Hmm.... that's an idea. I submitted one for my own. I believe I still have quota for 2.

Confirmed. I'm so doing this tonight.

Great, I'm really looking forward to seeing the result.

Thanks that would be great:)

This post has been linked to from another place on Steem.

Learn more about and upvote to support linkback bot v0.5. Flag this comment if you don't want the bot to continue posting linkbacks for your posts.

Built by @ontofractal

The IR shots are very interesting, some make the ruins feel quite intimidating and creepy while others really capture their beauty.

That's part of what I love about IR. They show things in a different light (literally lol). Some types of IR make people look pretty scary too because they appear to glow like weird ghostly creatures!

The IR really adds to the surreal quality of the scene, especially the color versions. Are the ruins closed off or can you enter if you wish?

You can enter depending on the time of year and time of day. There is a locked gate inside the castle keep which the National Trust opens for a few hours a day. It makes sense because it is a very dark and desolate location - once night falls you can't see a thing so it is very dangerous particularly around the ruins at that time. The cliff is not very high but it could still be fatal if someone fell as there are just rocks underneath - the beach there is very rocky. Not only that, if you survived the fall you could easily get washed out to sea when the tide comes in - the North Sea starts to get very rough this time of year and due to the temperature it wouldn't take long to die from hypothermia. I suspect that is also why this is such a good location to defend against invasion from ancient armies!

Those are some awesome images! :)

Nice work. Can I ask what camera and lens you used in this post?

Yes I forgot to add that. For the Infra Red it was a Canon EOS 450D (Digital Rebel in the US I think is the name) and it was the Canon EF 50mm/1.8 II Lens. For the normal shots it was my old Nikon D7000 with the Nikon 18.0-55mm /3.5-5.6 kit lens.

Nice work. I have the eos 50mm f1.8 lens myself, though mine's the older version. It's a good lens, small, light, fast enough, and sharp (and cheap!)

I'm looking at buying into Fujifilm's mirrorless system right now though, mainly because it's lighter and smaller than a DSLR (plus my trusty old eos 350d recently died).

In the end it only counts for what you point the lens at though, and having good light of course.

I think the old version is just as good. For the price you can't go wrong. Some of those mirrorless cameras do look pretty good. Does the Fuji use changeable lenses - I think the main issue I have seen is that those chic little cameras actually work out more than a top end DSLR when you take lenses into account sometimes. Also if you use standard Nikon/Canon you can buy lots of great used lenses pretty cheap. That's why I haven't taken the dip myself. If I was rich I would just buy a Leica lol for portability.

@thecryptofiend you always turn things into magic even ruins like that with your camera!

Interesting game with light.
One feels that you are interested and like.
Mesmerized.

It looks dangerous to be very close , so very cool though

It's not too bad. I think most of the dangerous bits have already collapsed and the National Trust/English Heritage keep doing maintenance to make sure it is safe to walk around.

Cool. When I see these pics, and all the detail of the ruins, I imagine people walking around on the various levels and (futilely) try to picture what life was like.
Great shots. Thanks

You can actually get quite close to it and it isn't too dangerous - you can even go inside when the weather is good. The roof has gone and most of it is in pretty poor shape but it is not particularly dangerous. I think the greater risk is of walking off the side off the cliff edge near the water - there is a 20 foot drop at one end. I deliberately avoid that side of the castle!

I often look at old structures like this an wonder what they were like in their hay-day. There are so many places like this in England.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 58799.78
ETH 3205.78
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.29