Surreal IR Photography experiments from Newcastle - (feel free to use them in your posts) Part 2

Introduction

Following on from yesterday's post here are some more shots.
These are more architectural in nature. Perhaps you can use them in some posts that have a an architectural or city theme.

Also if you want to download the images directly for cropping/resizing or anything else the SteemImg album link is here.


Quick update on IR conversion as people were asking me

I have sent off my Nikon D7100 for IR conversion today. People were asking about how to get his done. In the US (and internationally if you don't have a local conversion service) the most highly recommended people are Lifepixel - they also have a host of tutorials and IR guides on their site. If you are in the UK I would recommend Advanced Camera Services (ACS). They were recommended to me by a number of people before I had my old Canon converted and I am using them again - the price is £250 pus VAT with a 3-4 week turnaround.


The Modern Library Building

I was limited in the shots I could take of this due to the angles. This is the relatively contemporary library building in the city centre. It has a "2001: A Space Odyssey" feel for me.

1 Black and White

Arif_Akhtar_Newcastle_IR_01_05_of_2752ced.jpg

2 The IR colour version

Arif_Akhtar_Newcastle_IR_01_05_of_0852e62.jpg

I'm not sure which version I prefer. What do you think?


The Laing Art Gallery


Exterior building - The closeups of the word art could be useful if you are doing an "art" related post.

3
Arif_Akhtar_Newcastle_IR_01_06_of_087f51d.jpg
4
Arif_Akhtar_Newcastle_IR_01_07_of_0803950.jpg
5
Arif_Akhtar_Newcastle_IR_01_08_of_0817324.jpg

You can find out more about the gallery here. I remember coming here first as a child at school and seeing one of my favourite paintings - Isabella and the Pot of Basil by William Holman Hunt - it has an interesting story to go with it. You can see the painting below (source Public Domain from Wikipedia):

Basilpote1a61.jpg


Mural


There is a mural of this on the outside of the building which came out surprisingly well in IR:

6
Arif_Akhtar_Newcastle_IR_01_03_of_080a467.jpg
7
Arif_Akhtar_Newcastle_IR_01_04_of_083b29d.jpg


WWI Memorial


More details of the World War I Memorial from yesterday. I love the details on the sculptural parts of the memorial. Just look at the amazing expressions on all the faces of the family members.

8
Arif_Akhtar_Newcastle_IR_01_02_of_06a43c4.jpg
9
Arif_Akhtar_Newcastle_IR_01_04_of_0683f6b.jpg
10
Arif_Akhtar_Newcastle_IR_01_01_of_06ef510.jpg
11
Arif_Akhtar_Newcastle_IR_01_03_of_064b2b1.jpg
12
Arif_Akhtar_Newcastle_IR_01_05_of_0699c0a.jpg


Church in IR


The Church Next to the World War I Memorial - I like the colour version of this too (below the black and white version).

13
Arif_Akhtar_Newcastle_IR_01_04_of_2791622.jpg
14
Arif_Akhtar_Newcastle_IR_01_03_of_27d91ff.jpg


Miscellaneous Architecture


Pillars

Some pillars on a nearby building. I found the shapes and textures on these fascinating.

15
Arif_Akhtar_Newcastle_IR_01_01_of_086d853.jpg


A beautiful frieze on a bulding

16
Arif_Akhtar_Newcastle_IR_01_11_of_27a4839.jpg


A quaint building front. I loved the lettering and Victorian feel of this:

17
Arif_Akhtar_Newcastle_IR_01_06_of_0611499.jpg


Some reflections of buildings in glass

18
Arif_Akhtar_Newcastle_IR_01_16_of_2750952.jpg
19
Arif_Akhtar_Newcastle_IR_01_18_of_27dc736.jpg
20
Arif_Akhtar_Newcastle_IR_01_19_of_272cc80.jpg
21
Arif_Akhtar_Newcastle_IR_01_17_of_2762687.jpg


If you like my work and aren't already, please follow me and check out my blog (I mainly discuss photography but I do other topics like too) - @thecryptofiend


Photo Credits: All photos are my own unless otherwise stated and free for you to use under the terms of Steemit4free


(Verification for me here: http://www.aapicture.com/about-me)


Some of my other recent posts

Sort:  

Beautiful work, I really like this stuff.

Thank you. Glad you like it:)

Great series. For the sake of us architects/architecture lovers, please keep 'em coming!

Thanks. Glad you like them. I mainly have castle but will takes some new architectural shots as I have ordered a new lens just for that.

Thanks for sharing. Do you use the IR photography to take pictures of stars?

No I haven't tried that but I might have a go once I get my new converted camera. Do you have any experience of that?

Very nice! Architecture shots are my favorite! :D Xo Cheers @ thecryptofiend XO

Thanks. Yes I think they turned out the best. Particularly the one of the frieze.

Black and white versions are my favorite. There seems to be different wavelengths for IR, I've seen shots where trees come out totally white.

Yes. If I remember correctly this is a 590nm filter. I think the ones where the trees are completely white are the longer wavelength filters. It also depends on the white balance. For some reason you need to do it in the Nikon/Canon Raw processor software or in camera. Trying to do it afterwards in Lightroom or Photoshop doesn't give you correct results. Sadly I no longer have the Canon Raw processing software to redo it so had to make do with LR/PS. That's why I've kept most of them black and white.

Interesting, you use a filter along with a converted camera? So that lets in even more IR?

No that's not how it works.

Basically all digital cameras can register IR (and UV) light but they normally have a filter attached to the sensor to block it out as it is not part of the visual spectrum so you would not be photographing what you see. When you have an IR conversion you take that filter out and replace it with another one to allow varying amounts of IR light through. The 590nm filter lets some visible light through along with the infra red so you can get some very surreal coloured IR shots.

Longer wavelength filters (e.g. 830nm) exclude all the visible light and so you can only really convert those photos to black and white since there is no discernible colour information (not for humans anyway).

That said you can have a full spectrum conversion where they just remove the IR/UV filter inside the camera. Then you can attach an external filter on the lens which allows you to adapt it to a particular situation/light spectrum.

If you are interested you can read more about it on Lifpixel.com.

Thanks for taking the time to explain :D

You're welcome:)

I do love Black and White photography , love your shots and glad your showing Newcastle in a better light :)

Thanks. Newcastle is a beautiful city:)

This post has been linked to from another place on Steem.

Learn more about and upvote to support linkback bot v0.5. Flag this comment if you don't want the bot to continue posting linkbacks for your posts.

Built by @ontofractal

Nice shots! I particularly love the closeup of the pillars! :o)

Thanks. I was worried in case it was too dark due to the exposure. I was going to push it up in LR but thought it brought out the texture more. It's weird that sometimes things that look bright aren't so bright in IR and vice versa. Dark objects (particularly black ones) can end up emitting a lot of near infrared, whereas pale ones can emit more visible colours but less IR.

Wow, that's really interesting! I don't know much about IR, but I can imagine editing being more of a challenge. I agree, I think the dark brings out the textures and details more. Whatever you're doing, keep up the great work!

Thank you so much. If you want to learn more about IR check out Lifepixel - they have lots of tutorials of both monochrome and colour IR. They also have some really surreal looking videos:

SHIFTS from Rhett Cutrell on Vimeo.

Movements in Red from Andrew Shurtleff on Vimeo.

Like these ones. They are best viewed in Vimeo for true HD.

Those videos are stunning, I'm really impressed! The landscapes look so dreamy... it reminds me of a painting. I'm definitely going to learn more about IR photography now, thanks so much for sharing this.

Yes they look amazing!

That pillars shot is very powerful!

Thank you. It is maybe a bit too dark but I liked it because of how dramatic it looks. That is the weird thing with IR, the light can fool you quite a bit because you can't actually see it!

Thanks. I don't know what they represent exactly but I thought they looked cool. I can't wait to get my converted D7100 back to see what other things I can discover. I haven't done any IR in my home town. There is loads of stuff here too.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 58097.54
ETH 3176.49
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.28