Journal: Krafting Letters Challenge "New Journey"

in #art6 years ago (edited)

Hey yo @korinkrafting! I found your Krafting Letters Challenge. I am super late and it's the fifth day but I still want to join so I grabbed all the stuff I need and started thinking on what's the best lettering format and design I should do for your challenge.

DSC09272.jpg

I love hand lettering and calligraphy but I don't have the luxury of time to write every day. I used to spare a few minutes to an hour of my morning time before but work ate all of that as well as #steemit that I find it really hard to find a time to make one except for my journal entries which I usually do weekly, sometimes three times a week, again, it all depends on my availability.

Okay, let's get started, the fifth day of March is intended for the phrase:

"NEW JOURNEY"

Image credits: @korinkrafting

I thought it would be great to add a cursive to it so here's what I came up with:

DSC09252.jpg


MATERIALS


I couldn't finish this without the following materials:

• Faber Castell 0.7 Pencil
• ZIG Ballpoint 0.3 Black Pen

DSC09266.jpg

• Uniball Signo Broad Metallic Violet Pen

DSC09265.jpg

• Uniball Signo Broad White Pen

DSC09263.jpg

• Dong-A Non-dry Refillable Permanent Marker

DSC09267.jpg

• Pigma Micron 03

DSC09268.jpg

• Ruler
• Veco Blank Glitter book

DSC09238.jpg

The blank Veco Glitter book was a birthday gift from my good friend and colleague Marian. The ruler was used for the lettering, I had to use it so I can straighten the letters easily.


STEPS


1. A draft is important to me because, without it, I won't be able to get the right position and estimation on the spaces, height, and width of each letter.

DSC09240.jpg

I actually like making pencil draft, as I have mentioned before, I love seeing the many pencil marks and lines on the blank paper.


2. The overlapping cursive letter for the word "new" was as well drafted into the page. This will help me distinguish which parts of the cursive lines will be shown and what will be hidden.

DSC09242.jpg

I had fun at making this part. I actually wished I had the other camera with me so I can make a time-lapse video of my work but unfortunately, it's with my husband @panoramicview who was still at work.

( @panoramicview where are you when I needed you the most?)


3. Filling up the cursive letters was fun as well using my Metallic Violet Pen from Uniball Signo. It was fun to see them glitter when I move the page here and there.

DSC09243.jpg

DSC09244.jpg

But then again, I forgot that this pen would require more time in drying and I placed my palm over the end curve! That created some blotches but all is good.


4. Tracing the word "Journey" was faster using the trusty ruler! My ZIG ballpoint pen was a bit fady, I then planned on using a different pen afterward to completely fill the edges with dark black ink!

DSC09245.jpg

It took awhile for me to finish tracing it because first, I had to be careful not to trace a spot which should be empty and second, there are curly parts of the letters which are challenging, well not really but I have to pause a bit and breath before I proceed.


5. Filling out all the letters was perhaps my favorite part. Although I always mess up with this task. I get overwhelmed and usually fill beyond the traced lines.

DSC09247.jpg

I usually remind myself not to go beyond but I always end up going beyond especially that I use a broad pen from Dong-A. Its huge tip was hard to manage when I get to the edges but I love brushing it through the spaces!


6. Finishing touches includes my Pigma Micron so to cover up those imperfect lines.

DSC09252.jpg

Honestly, this is not a perfect piece and I know I messed up a lot. It may not be very obvious in the photos of course because I had covered them with the white Signo Uniball!

My favorite part again is the filling up of the black spaces but I admit I also love the glitters! Look at this GIF I created:


There you go @korinkrafting and Furirin, I am looking forward to the next words or phrases that you'll put up for this challenge.

I am thankful that you created this challenge as it helped me create something new today even if I have less than an hour to make the entire blog and the lettering.

DSC09257.jpg

I love the challenge and I hope I can make up for the four other words and phrases! I wish I found your challenge way earlier.

This is definitely hitting two birds with one stone because I finally got a new journal blog entry too after a few weeks. For sure I will be creating more in the following weeks because I will have more time because I had resigned and I will be in command with my time than by the next week!

Truly, it will be a NEW JOURNEY for me!

DSC09253.jpg

Oh, I am super excited I can't wait for this week to end!

That's it, for now, guys, Chiao!


Check out my other journal entries below:



Please support @surpassinggoogle as a witness by voting him at https://steemit.com/~witnesses and type in "steemgigs" at the first search box.
If you want to give him witness voting decisions on your behalf, visit https://steemit.com/~witnesses again and type in "surpassinggoogle" in the second box as a proxy.

Please like @teardrops on Facebook and Twitter:

https://www.facebook.com/teardropstokens/
https://twitter.com/teardropstokens

image

Sort:  

Wow! Grabe jud kag hand writing ate! You just made me realize how bad I am in lettering hahahaha

Salamat dai.. practice2 ra jud..

Galing! I miss this kind of blog of yours and also your doodles :)

Salamat sir

Di ka nba babalik sa bit?

Meron pa ba? hehe tingnan ko na lan

wonderful post sis.
loved your post.

your most welcome sis.

To be honest, you are one of the inspiration why I wanted to make this challenge. Thanks for joining and look forward to more!

Ay.. am so honored sis.. of course sasali ulit ako..

love your work as always sis! pahinging talent pls hahaha

Ioffer na yan sa SteemGigs.org :-D

salamat sis sa idea @pinay

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.21
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 69629.04
ETH 3375.52
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.74