Journal: A Mandala on My Journal!

in #art6 years ago

It took me a while before I could finish this mandala. I didn't even bother erasing the pencil draft.
DSC08344.jpg

A Mandala is (Hindu & Buddhist art) any of various designs symbolizing the universe, usually circular - dictionary.com

I used to create different mandalas in my notebooks before. I have created quite a few but because this requires time and concentration, I somehow had challenges finding the time to make one until last Tuesday when I was out of idea on what to write and got tired looking at the computer monitor. There's really a certain time when we go through mental block syndrome.

And because my eyes were tired of looking at the computer screen, I had to rest it by going offline. I turned to my journal instead. I found the blank page for this week's journal dates and thought of what to add in there.

Then I thought of Mandala. It's been awhile, perhaps it is the best time to add one. So I went ahead and started making one. Of course, I had documented the process as follows:

DSC08322.jpg

Used a very old rusty compass to draw circles which will be the basis of the art. I made around seven different circle diameters. The compass made the job easy and smooth!

DSC08324.jpg

Either write something worth reading or do something worth writing about. - Benjamin Franklin

DSC08325.jpg

And right away, I added geometric symbols using my mechanical pencil. This will be my guide as later on, I will be tracing them with permanent black pens!

Triangles, circles, lines, ovals and etc. I have no specific plan on what the concept is all about. I just freely added anything I could think of. Again, this is just a draft so there's a huge possibility that the design will be changed as soon as I trace them later.

DSC08326.jpg

If plan A doesn't work, the alphabet has 25 more letters. So stay cool!

DSC08327.jpg

And now, I start tracing it using my Zig black pen.

Flaws accepted here!

What's so nice about using these types of pens such as the Sakura Pigma and Zig pens is the fact that they stay in the same page, they don't create blotches to the back page.

DSC08328.jpg

Starting to add dark lines to some of the elements here. I actually like how they turn out at this point although I don't have any specific plans on what the outcome would be. I had to focus on the next pattern.

What I really like about mandala is that it isn't strict on what you want to create, you just have to go with the flow.

DSC08329.jpg

I don't really know what to do with those circles in the last part of the mandala. I just knew I had to complete this.

But I have to do other things like going to work! I had to suspend this and do it the next day.

DSC08330.jpg

Wasn't able to take a photo of the next things I added but I somehow found different circle sizes would be a good addition inside the big circles. I was just out of idea on what to add there. But it don't look bad either.

DSC08332.jpg

I had to just add a more ink in the empty spaces. It somehow created this opened pods feel to it, at least for me!

How do you find it so far?

DSC08335.jpg

Again, I missed to take a photo of the next step. I originally was planning to make a different design but ended up adding a shell-like pattern after the circles. I guess it was alright.

DSC08336.jpg

I added random lines from the base to create this shadow effect. I am not really good with the terms used in art so forgive me!

Here below is a short clip of me adding the random lines. I am not a perfectionist so I am very okay if the lines get out of the way .

After finalizing everything, here's my first mandala on this journal! I hope you like it!

Look at this cute black cat showing you the mandala! This really made me feel accomplished today.

DSC08342.jpg


Check out my other journal entries below:



Please support @surpassinggoogle as a witness by voting him at https://steemit.com/~witnesses and type in "steemgigs" at the first search box.
If you want to give him witness voting decisions on your behalf, visit https://steemit.com/~witnesses again and type in "surpassinggoogle" in the second box as a proxy.

image

Sort:  

Hala ka uiii!! Grabe ka nice!!

wow such beautiful pattern and a step by step procedure will surely help newbies like me create one of these. :D

yay. looking forward to that sis!

your draw is a reflection of how you feel about the Art.when
photography is an immediate flash reaction, then pencil (brush) drawing is a type of meditation.. really nice art ...
keep moving foreword po
stay healthy and dry
keep smile always ..... :)

thanks a lot dear.. i appreciate your message!

Ang ganda sis! Galing galing tlga, ganyan pala gumawa ng mandala, wla kc ako hilig sa arts. Matry nga din magbilog bilog . Kulay kulay lng naty ko sa ganyan eh. More tutorials sis! Matututo ako ng arts sau. 😍

hello sis.. magandang umaga jan! yes bilog2 lang din yan sis.. tapos triangle2... shade shade..

Nice output, talented. 😊

salamat sis!!

Congrats Madam! Gonna try this soon :)

go for it sir!! thanks a lot!

Wow 127.28 congrats te @junebride

hehe salamat dai!

WOW! mam you have all the package ha., a blogger, singer, artist... unsa pa kaha.,

Wahahaha.. minusi ang singer sir kay murag mauwaw ta

WOW!!! again mam, galing..

salamat kau sir... nataghapan

galing! hehe hindi ko kayang tyagain ang mandala. pero gusto ko ng mandala tattoo haha

ung kapatid ko ngpagawa ng mandala para sa tattoo din nya..hehe

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 57741.16
ETH 2947.53
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.69