II: High Priestess Medicine Bag, Part 1: Pillars

in #art7 years ago

20180209_110054.jpg Boaz and Jachim are represented by this pair of wine bottles, Vin Noir and Vin Blanc. I will top them with silvertone stoppers upon completion.

The High Priestess medicine bag is coming along, slowly but surely. Evidently, she has a long gestation.

20180118_185150.jpg Boaz gets a pomegranate to represent fertility.

20180119_140031.jpg Boaz is tooled and ready to wet mold onto her fluted bottle.

20180129_163657.jpg Here are the 4 clamshells ready to wet mold. Jachim is tooled with a Datura bloom for dangerous wisdom.

20180129_164210.jpg Jachim is posed with his bottle.

20180129_165329.jpg Wet molding begins by draping the clamshells and securing with clips.

20180129_190135.jpg The wet leather gets stretched and smoothed until it conforms to the bottle.

20180209_101618-COLLAGE.jpg Jachim clipped and stitched. The first side is easy compared to punching and stitching while on the bottle.

20180130_220921.jpg Boaz is poised for her wet molding.

20180202_094729.jpg Here are the two clamshells for Boaz after they have dried. Next, they will be dyed with EcoFlo acrylics, glued, and stitched. Then I meticulously trimmed and polished the seams before applying edge coat.

20180209_110122.jpg Voila! The Pillars of Solomon's Temple are complete.

The High Priestess sits in between these symbols of Duality, the sentry between the seeker and the Holy of Holies. She is currently in draft sketching phase, and will be depicted on the bag that carries the wine bottles.

20180209_112640.jpg

I want this archetype of divine feminine intuition to be Our Lady of the Chaparral, seated on boulders in a sacred Fan Palm oasis. Water is Life!

20180204_131100.jpg

I am encountering so much inner turmoil as I meditate on this card. It is a journey of reconciling paradox and healing internalized misogyny.

Thank you for joining me as I work it out. Posting about it really is doing #SteeMeditate. I have to polish my rough thoughts to make them sparkle. I hope the objects I create contain the healing energy I infuse them with.

Love,Cat
@creationofcare

See the other Medicine Bags at the following links:

0: The Fool

https://steemit.com/art/@creationofcare/medicine-bottle-make-a-long-pt-1-wet-molding

https://steemit.com/art/@creationofcare/medicine-bottle-make-a-long-pt-2-surface-design

https://steemit.com/art/@creationofcare/medicine-bottle-make-a-long-pt-3-color

https://steemit.com/art/@creationofcare/medicine-bag-make-a-long-pt-4-stitching-to-the-finish

I: The Magician

https://steemit.com/art/@creationofcare/i-the-magician-will-and-skill

https://steemit.com/art/@creationofcare/order-fr8m-chaos

https://steemit.com/art/@creationofcare/rendering-red-roses

https://steemit.com/art/@creationofcare/the-magician-part-3

https://steemit.com/art/@creationofcare/completion-of-i-the-magician-medicine-bag

I am working on doing all 22 of the Major Arcana as Medicine Bags. Each incorporates leather and glass, and is a voyage of archetypal discovery.

Sort:  

Good to see some talented hand craft man here! Leather is a fantastic material and like wood it becomes more beautiful over time. Unfortunately I have a mixed feeling working with leather as I am on the way to become a more serious vegetarian. I am in a kind of conflict here as I don't know how to deal with it.

Thank you, I really appreciate that. And thanks, too for the resteem! Cheers!

Just as I looked a bit deeper on this platform for leather, I came across leather made out of mushrooms. Wow:
https://steemit.com/life/@kalhiade/leather-obtained-from-mushrooms

That is really neat stuff. It looks authentic!

Love your sparkling thoughts 💕
Curious where you got your leather tools for
doing the pretty tooling?
The watchers worked by night with the angles
of the stars, Sol & Moon Solomon tempo
time temples. I just love your work, I see so
much knowledge in it all, from the symbols
to the tooling you leave me drooling, for
more! :-))

Very cool bottles 🍷🍷 bottle icon no go, two
nice wine glasses will have 2 do ;-)
The BIG SUN looks so very cool!!
I really like how you show how 2 steps with such
great photographs, I like seeing the stages,
drawings and words, the word, the world.
Now if I was to trip over a big gold stone someday
soon, I'd love to precure all 22 major arcana
creations of care ❤

Aw @shasta, you have such a way with words yourself m'dear! I do cram on each one, reading and listening to podcasts etc... and then witnessing, meditating, contemplating, integrating. Oh my!

The tools. Tbh I buy them at my local Tandy Leather store. They are the monopoly company for retail leathercraft. You can be well served ordering tools online from reputable etsy shops. Even ebay, amazon, etc. For drawings, I use a Swivel Knife to carve the leather along the drawn lines. That is how I did the large Sun you so kindly commented on.

I am always avail to chat about this topic so feel free to ask more technical questions! Love it and you!

Thank you @creationofcare! There sure seems to be
a flood of info coming in all angles and circles lately.
Much connection above and below, you capture it so
well. I also like to listen to videos, podcasts, etc while
doing other things.
Tonight was Mongolian Deer Stones, Yeow! ;-)
Take good care 💕 Much love

ps what is your sign? ♑ lol

Mongolian deer stones, do tell!
I am a Sagittarius :) and you?
Blessings

♑ Capricorn :-)


Source
There are other cool images on google searches too.
Take care happy valentines day 2 you and yours :-)

Wowzers, thank you so much, I always learn something when we chat <3

Congratulations @creationofcare! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.16
JST 0.031
BTC 60327.71
ETH 2568.97
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.57