Medicine Bottle Make-a-Long, Pt. 4: Stitching to the Finish

in #art7 years ago (edited)

0724171557a_HDR.jpg
Now that the bottle is covered and colored, it's time to stitch it together.

First, I use Diamond Chisels to punch stitching holes into the top layer. Then I glue the layers together on the seam line. Next, I pierce the second layer with a diamond shaped stitching awl, being careful to always place something between me and where its point will emerge. I have unfortunately stabbed myself numerous times, so now I am extra careful.

0720171418a_HDR.jpg I use a tailor's ham to support the piece while I pierce it with an awl.

0724171834_HDR.jpg Using my thighs to clamp down on the work while stitching the sides.

I like to use a double needle Saddle Stitch technique. I pass one needle and waxed thread from back to front, then pass the top needle to the back, locking the layers together.

0724172036_HDR.jpg Stitching around the sides, then under the D-ring straps.

Finally, I made an adjustable shoulder strap with buckles. I used a purple hide remnant for the buckle straps, and tooled / dyed a center piece featuring my brand, "FeraL".

0726171812_HDR.jpg Making the buckle straps including keeper.

0727171626_HDR.jpg Tooling the cowhide center piece.

Once the strap is dyed and assembled, my Medicine Bottle is done!

0728171419_HDR.jpg

0728171423_HDR.jpg

0728171420_HDR.jpg

I am really pleased with how this wetmold bottle project turned out. I feel good about my Fool card, too. Now all I need to do is find her a happy home.

Much love, thanks to all who have followed me on this make-a-long journey!

Love,Cat

https://steemit.com/art/@creationofcare/medicine-bottle-make-a-long-pt-1-wet-molding

https://steemit.com/art/@creationofcare/medicine-bottle-make-a-long-pt-2-surface-design

https://steemit.com/art/@creationofcare/medicine-bottle-make-a-long-pt-3-color

https://www.facebook.com/FeraL-Clothing-162395904652/

Sort:  

It only gets better and better and now that it's finished it's superb!

Thank you so much! It was due to arrive at its new home today!

That is beautiful!

Gorgeous! love how you used a cat and lady, mostly see the man and dog, somewhere I read they also represent Orion and Canis major constellations.
I enjoy seeing pictures showing the progress of how things are made. I'm glad you mentioned the Motherpeace deck, looks really cool!
Thank you for sharing the stages of your fantastic art work!
Have you seen the Xultun Mayan deck by Peter Balin and book The
Flight of the feathered serpent?

Thank you for your detailed comment, it really means the world to me! Yes, I am very inspired by the Motherpeace deck as one was given to me by a dear friend years ago, and it never steers me wrong. :)

I am not very knowledgeable regarding Tarot in general. I have focused my attention on the deck I work with. But the Fool archetype has always come up for me and captures so much of who I am. I will certainly research your suggestions. Much appreciation!

Namaste

There seems to be a lot of astronomy and timekeeping in the many things I've come
across, even the Tarot.
The Sun card is one of my fav's, will you be making more awesome covered bottles?
I have been getting into EO's/essential oils and thought your feral fool would be great
with a favorite EO in it to carry around :-) Thank you!

Hi @Shasta thank you for your wonderful comment! I do plan on making more covered bottles and maybe bags, each featuring one of the Major Arcana. I sold The Fool, but maybe I could customize The Sun for you 🔥

Hello @creationofcare I look forward to seeing your future awesome creations! especially the Major Arcana, The Sun, Star, Moon and World. Made me smile when you said customize The Sun for me, I will think about that, we could sure use some Sun. Thank you :-)

Thank you! The eclipse is ciming soon, speaking of the Sun! I look forward to learning all I can from those knowledgeable in Tarot, like you, during this project. Blessed be<3

I would love to see the eclispe live! many are headed for Madras Oregon, there is also a awesome rock shop there called Richardson's Rock Ranch. It would take us about 7 days to drive there lol, I also look forward to learning and sharing, Thank you & Take care ❤

Love the finished product! Beautiful!

Oh it came out AWESOME! I love the strap too...really nice work <3

Thank you, @elew!

I just sold it this afternoon, so time for celebration :D

Oh, thanks for the resteem, really appreciate that!

woah! So much work involved in that. And it is beautiful I love it!!

Thank you! It is a lot of work, but it is even more fun! I become totally absorbed. :)

I can see that :) gorgeous!

This bottle is a little piece of art! Great to see the technique you use to punch holes before doing the stitching.

Awesome, I am glad to create some useful content. Thanks so much for your comment :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 64512.59
ETH 3174.81
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.85