Completion of I:The Magician Medicine Bag

in #art6 years ago (edited)

It was a profound journey bringing this piece into the world. I studied the lore, history, and symbology of Mr. Number 1 of the Major Arcana. From swindler, juggler, and presdigitator...to hermeticist, alchemist, and Manifestor.


Here is a video displaying the features of The Magician Medicine Bag.

20171107_115321.jpg

20171107_115409.jpg

20171107_115449.jpg

20171107_115516.jpg

The inside is fully lined in pigskin and features two built in pockets, as well as a snap-in pouch for a 5.5"x8.5" notebook, standard 3"x5" Tarot deck, and a pen. The carrying strap comes off of the Medicine Bag and can be used to carry this pouch instead.

20171107_115741.jpg

20171107_115840.jpg

20171107_115828.jpg

20171107_120254.jpg

I feel a tremendous sense of accomplishment. I learned a new stitching technique for the bottom, the Box Stitch.

20171019_115521.jpg

One of the messages brought by Mercury the Magician: Do not let endlessly researching become the enemy of actually making or doing something. Put it into effect!

And another principle this contemplation in action dramatically illuminated for me: Shift my perspective and transform petty egoism into valuable empathy.

May I find Peace within any situation I bring myself into. May I bring Peace into any situation I find myself within.
Know Thyself.

Thank you for attending me on this trek deep into the archetypal Solar Plexus.

Here are the previous installments as I built this Medicine Bag over the course of about 2 months.

https://steemit.com/art/@creationofcare/i-the-magician-will-and-skill

https://steemit.com/art/@creationofcare/order-fr8m-chaos

https://steemit.com/art/@creationofcare/rendering-red-roses

https://steemit.com/art/@creationofcare/the-magician-part-3

And please stay tuned here @creationofcare for the next Major Arcana Tarot Medicine Bottle Bag. I have a feeling that the High Priestess is going to be a voluptuous odyssey!

Steem OM,

Love,Cat

Sort:  

Amazing art, someone suggested this post on my cheering up post Contest #cup

Oh that sounds like fun, I hope it did bring cheer :)

wow, magical !, what a creation ! stunning ! Love it ! BB

Thank you very much :)

Outstanding!!! @creationofcare 👍👍
I just love your artistry so many incredible details
and knowledge that goes into your work! I like how
dark the inside of the bag is and how bright the Sun
is on the outside, the roses taking in its rays.
The bottle holders are a awesome touch!!
Also the cat ears in the 4th pictures from the top
match the top of the bag when closed.
Very cool the inner pouch comes out of the bag!
And I really like the look of the leather rope cord!!
Best of all the Manzanita wand :-)
Much Love ❤

Thank you for noticing things like the roses taking in the sun rays, the mysterious inner darkness...I relish your replies. Those drawstring cords sure are slinky and fun to play with. Worth the full day adding their serpentine vibe to the concoction.
Blessings!

Wowowowowowow, Lovecat OMG you have taken it up a Level and half or three!!!! I love it! I must commission a piece when you have the time!!!! Keep up the great work I love to see your stuff here on steemit.com tell all those other O.C. Burner types to get over here!!!!

Thank you! Do I know you by another name? Btw I am always available for another commission. :) This tarot series I am doing in between custom work because I plan on joining a gallery in January and I need something to show :)

Hehe I figured it out, hi there, Scotty!

That is some very fantastic tooling and coloring of the leather. It looks great. The attention to the details, the cube tooling, and then the transitioning of other tools to make a 3D feel. Simply beautiful eye candy work, that is totally functional. I love how smoothly you did the coloring, not an easy task to keep it all the same with no lighter or darker splotches. (at least I remember leather coloring in HS a long long time ago, and it not being easy to do.)

Thank you so much, @bashadow. You are 100% right, it can be quite a trick to apply the waterstains without...well, waterstaining. The color evolves, too. It appears very different wet compared to dry. And then, the leather itself will continue to darken naturally with age and use. I left the fleshtone plain with just a transparent glaze. I really appreciate your comment, cheers!

This is an awesome job you did here. I love it!

Thank you so much! Blessings

Thanks! Tbh, it took me over a week to be able to blog about it.

Lol :), well glad you did. Ive never seen anything like it

I love it when people say that, it gives me a reason to live, so many things waiting to be made that no one has ever seen!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 63457.41
ETH 3119.12
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.94