Medicine Bottle Make-a-Long, Pt. 1: Wet Molding

in #art7 years ago (edited)

I am thrilled to be back in my studio playing with leather and glass!

0715171137_HDR.jpg Dry leather molded on bottle, with hardware sample and sketch.

Last night, I wet-molded some fine vegtan cowhide around a gorgeous bottle given to me by a friend who appreciates excellent spirits.

0714171853_HDR.jpg This rum retails at $110 for a 750 mL bottle!

The first step is "casing" the leather, which means wetting it thoroughly front an back with water and a sponge. I wet it repeatedly until no more will soak in, and the grain side sweats lightly.

0714172045_HDR.jpg

I move the bottle around on the cased leather, finding a good placement for my cut. Hides, unlike fabricated textiles, have lots of irregularities such as brands and insect bites, wrinkles, scars, and thin areas. Sometimes, it can be fun to highlight such features, other times, I have to fussy-cut further into the interior of a hide to get the best piece.

0714172055a_HDR.jpg Using a Round Knife to cut my panel.

0714172059_HDR.jpg Re-case frequently for ultimate plasticity.

0714172059a_HDR.jpg Position the bottle on the flesh side.

0714172120_HDR.jpg Stretch, smooth, and compress the leather to the contours by hand. Secure with clips.

0714172338a_HDR.jpg Continue to refine the impression using fingers and modeling tools, moving clips closer to tighten the mold.

Once I am happy with the shaping I've done, I leave the piece to dry overnight. Then, my concept of how I will add carrying strap, pockets, surface decoration, etc. evolves using sketches and brown paper mock-ups.

I advertised this piece as available for customization on my fb page: https://www.facebook.com/FeraL-Clothing-162395904652/

Perhaps someone will claim it and define the colors and carvings that will grace it. Otherwise, I can see the Fool Card of the Tarot in its lunar shape.

Thanks for visiting FeraL Studio with me! I am ecstatic to be back in my element, creating artwork people can use.

Love,Cat

Part 2: https://steemit.com/art/@creationofcare/medicine-bottle-make-a-long-pt-2-surface-design

Sort:  

Excellent work. I love seeing posts that show you the process. Thanks! Upvoted and resteemed!

oops. Just saw the date on this.

That's ok, I appreciate the thought!

Very nice :) Following you back, and upvoting! I cannot wait to see more...

Yay! Thanks so much!

What an art and skill!

Looks great! What is the name of that type of knife you're using?

Thank you! It is a Round Knife, "Al Stohlman" brand, purchased from Tandy Leather. :)

Thank you. I've been using either scissors or a razor knife to cut leather all these years, time to upgrade.

Totally worth it to get a clean vertical cut. This knife is best on large cuts on firm leather. Not for fine detail, nor limp hides. You have to sharpen the blade constantly fir best results. There are a lot of videos on youtube for techniques. Happy upgrading!

Also, digging your channel, following now

Love what you do!!

Thank you!!!! You have no idea how much your comment means to me. Blessings to you

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.15
TRX 0.12
JST 0.025
BTC 54799.23
ETH 2353.99
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.36