Medicine Bottle Make-a-Long, Pt. 2: Surface Design

in #art7 years ago

Now that my glass bottle has been covered in cowhide, it's time to embellish the surface. I start with the straps that attach the D-rings.

0715171921c_HDR.jpg Fanciful features for "The Fool."

0715171532_HDR.jpg Mark the pattern on cased (wet) leather using a Scratch Awl.

0715171716_HDR.jpg Cut out the straps, burnish the edges. I also stamped a beaded edge and punched stitching holes.

0716171729_HDR.jpg Soak the straps in mink oil to make them supple, then dye them.

0716171601_HDR.jpg For the pocket, I used some purple reclaimed suede from a thrift store skirt.

0717171612_HDR.jpg Voila! The pocket side is prepared for application.

I spent a couple of hours looking for source images and sketching out my Fool. I am inspired by the Motherpeace Deck, which is round, and features female figures. I sketched this figure from a photo of a woman doing handstands on the beach, perfect!

0716171619_HDR.jpg A simplified line drawing is best.

0717171130_HDR.jpg Transfer the image by tracing it with a Scratch Awl. I added each component of my picture on a separate scrap of tracing paper.

Next, I use a Swivel Knife with an angled blade to carve the outlines of the picture. I begin following the transfer lines, then build up detail.

0717171611_HDR.jpg Design carved and ready for modeling / stamping. Stamping on this molded leather can be tricky, so I will probably rely heavily on my Modeling Spoon.

I am excited about the progress I have made on this Medicine Bottle so far. I am starting to get impatient for the fun part to begin: painting it with colorful Waterstains.

Hope you are enjoying my creative process, thanks so much for stopping by!

Part 1 here: https://steemit.com/art/@creationofcare/medicine-bottle-make-a-long-pt-1-wet-molding

Love,Cat

Sort:  

Great progress...it will be fun to see it finished...

Good post. Very informative . Enjoyed your creative process. Good work and content. Will continue to follow your post. Good job.

Thanks! I am back in the studio working on it as we speak. I appreciate your thoughtful comment.

Your welcome. Stay in touch. Will follow and look out for you.

Likewise, new friend :)

Thank you for sharing such great picture @creationofcare

Thanks for visiting me with your kind words :)

Mindblowing work. I wish I could do 1/2 @creationofcare

Thank you! I started off doing simple things, and building up. Cheers!

Amazing would be an understatement!

Thank you so much! <3

You are very welcome! (and talented haha)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 58387.03
ETH 2359.14
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.37