The Magician, Part 3

in #art7 years ago

20171003_170146.jpg
Here it is, the Magician fully carved on an 11"x20" panel of cowhide.

20171005_183028.jpg
I spent a day painting him in EcoFlo acrylic dyes.
He requires each of the four suits or elements to manifest his will. I gave him four essential oil vials sheathed in carved cowhide.

20171012_130650.jpg

I slashed the panel to insert the bottles' tabs.
20171013_162646.jpg

The diamond chisel punches a neat row of stitching holes.
20171013_222329.jpg

()
Here is the Magician panel complete with his Wand of manzanita wood, a Carnelian stone for his navel, and a Tigers Eye held aloft. His reverse, the Sorceror, has coins on his mind. The Sun beams divine inspiration from its brass starburst centerpiece. All four elements are at hand in their tiny but potent vials.

Today, I hope to finish the interior of this Medicine Bag. It features compartments for a Tarot deck, notebook and pen, phone, and room for your mat or scarf.

I have learned so much as I work on this piece. I have been studying audiobooks on hermetics, all to assist in the Creation of more Care.

Sending you love and light,
Love,Cat

Here are the previous stages of The Magician.

https://steemit.com/art/@creationofcare/i-the-magician-will-and-skill

https://steemit.com/art/@creationofcare/order-fr8m-chaos

https://steemit.com/art/@creationofcare/rendering-red-roses

Sort:  

Wow! So following you! What an amazing craftsman you are! Cant wait to see more of your work and to see this completed! Thanks so much for sharing.

Thank you so much! I am following you too, now, btw, nice work on your page! Happy to meet you here on Steem

Amazing piece. I cant wait to see it finished!

Thank you, my love. I am getting antsy to see it finished myself ;)

I almost missed resteeming your outstanding
art work, steemit has been acting wonky lol
Love how the flowers came out and the geometry
and wow on the bottle holders and a even bigger
WOW on the manzanita wand and the stones used!
Will be on the look out for the next part with pockets.
Thank you for bringing us along on this great journey
@creationofcare ❤ Feral :-)

Thank you so much from my soul, @shasta! The manzanita is very special, I am elated that you noticed it.

When I eas a kid I used to fill shoeboxes under my bed with such: rocks, sticks, shells, artifacts. Not much has changed ;)

This is my first leather piece using mixed media.

Onward and upward!
Steem Om

I noticed cause I have done and do the same :-)) lol
Yep and what is really funny is I was just going through
a pile of said objects LOL rawks rule! and so do sticks,
now that makes me think of the old saying of sticks
and stones and yes still picking them up, found a nice
walking stick and a cute bird shaped piece of driftwood
on the beach recently, the bird shape even has a small
stone embedded right where the eye should be on its
shape, oh yes and shells also. Mosses and lichtens on
wood, feathers, beads, leather, you name it.
When in California I did get a couple small branches
of manzanita to take back to Alaska, very pretty wood!
I love the mixed media!! Along with the oils I would
put some lip balm in one of the holders, tiss the season
as its trying to snow right now. Take good care ❤

I would love to see your stash of goodies, the birdseye sounds wonderful <3

Oh oh now I'm making more goodie
stash piles to take pictures of ღ

LOL

Wow! Amazing detail...the tooling is so beautifully done, and what a great idea with the oils. I LOVE it!!! (You inspire me today for sure)

Thank you dear artist friend! Mutual appreciation for the win!!!

This is absolutely amazing!!!! My vote is not worth much - I wished I could heap it on!!! How long have you worked on that now? And I saw that Jayjayjeffery found you. I think you have much in common :)

Happy to make a new friend <3

Thanks, I have been working on it off and on over a month now. I haven't recorded the hours this time, though. I can say that it's been enough for the needles to tenderize my calloused "opposable hooves" ;)

That is incredible⚡

Thanks! I really appreciate your stopping by and checking out my work. Blessings

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 65921.21
ETH 2622.37
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.69