Rendering Red Roses

in #art7 years ago

0919171439a_HDR.jpg Here is a bouquet of deep red roses from my backyard. It fills the studio with a rich perfume, but that is not why I gathered these blooms.

They are here to pose for a section of The Magician medicine bag.

20170920_222922.jpg First, I do a pencil sketch of the blossoms. I trace the outline onto vellum, and then transfer the roses onto the leather using a scratch awl. Then, I carve the outlines with a swivel knife. Finally, I use modeling spoons and stamps to bring the image into relief.

When the entire panel is completely carved and modeled, I will paint it with acrylic leather dyes, and construct the bag.

Right now, I have three projects on my table to work on concurrently. Feels good to be back in business!

Thanks for joining me, I hope you can take time to smell the roses where you live.

Love,Cat

Sort:  

really awesome to have your reference grow right in your backyard haha... can't wait to see what this looks like finished

Very convenient and fragrant at the same time! Thanks for stopping by :)

Wow, that already looks amazing.

Love the purple vase and totally love your work!!
Curious at what the finnished price might be ;-)
Would be nice to have smell o vision on your roses
they look so lovely!
I also await the finnish look @creationofcare

Thank you so much :) My daughter gave me the vase one Christmas before she moved away <3

Pricing is always a little agonizing for me. I never make an hourly wage. I want my pieces to sell, so I frequently under price them. I am trying to build a body of work to rejoin my local art association. Fine art pricing is where I need to be, rather than festival and burning man friend pricing! This piece feels like it will be $400-500.

Thanks as usual for your lovely commemt, much love!

Your Art is Very Fine @creationofcare
I love seeing the wonderful things you make
and the steps taken along the way.

It would be so cool to purchase one
of your creations of awesome care!!
The hard part would be which one?
cause each one I've seen I love lol

Take good care and have a great day :-)

Much steemian love for your kind comment. I painted this piece yesterday with your energy like a cheer squad, ya know? I love the human connection you bring here on steem. You are the best!

Awe thank you @creationofcare making me blush
like those roses :-) you are the best ❤

You are so sweet, your comments make Steemit wonderful <3
I would love to make you something sometime. My little badges are popular at $20+shipping. Maybe do one steemgig style? Cheers!

Ah so that is where all my energy went LOL
just kidding hehe You also are sweet and I
very much enjoy our conversations here!
I'm also curious to see what you create of the
other Major Arcana, tho that would be 20 more?
and at the same time thinking what I would
like made special someday :-)

The Empress is up next!

Especially if you can smell the roses!! So many are just pretty to look at these days :) Sending this to my son in law. He works with leather....

This batch is very aromatic, indeed. I have a white rose that hardly smells at all, but the chickens love to eat its petals and will leap to grab for them.

Would love to see your sil's leatherwork!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.15
TRX 0.12
JST 0.025
BTC 54804.17
ETH 2344.02
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.37