ART JOURNEY #02 | Finding your art style

in #art7 years ago (edited)

Introduction

One might say art styles are over-rated and you should just draw what you feel like drawing in the moment. Well, that is somewhat true to an extent. For people who are just doing this as a hobby, *for fun- yes. Just keep drawing and improving your skill set.

However, if you are planning to take steps, even small ones, to your art being a career. You need a style.

Find an artist you admire

Find an artist you admire, and try to mimic his/her style. This is to find out what it is that you like from their style. After you find out what you do like, take that from them and incorporate it into your own. After that, find another one.. And another.. I've done this so many times with so many artist, changing my style drastically from time to time.

Make it a habit

Draw as frequently as you can, whenever you can. Add time blocks to your schedule, dedicate 5/10/15/etc. minutes JUST for drawing. Do this everyday and it will add up!

Stay positive

Don't be discouraged when you see amazing art, be amazed. Learn from them, take techniques from them and put them to your advantage. Instill the image to your head that you will get there some day, and the universe will put it into action (Laws of attraction).


A display of how my style of portraits changed throughout the course of time:
(You can find all of these portraits on my Instagram profile, some has watermarks of my old profile (chrs.art) but I changed my username to (chrsart).)


1.jpg2.jpg3.jpg
4.jpg5.jpg6.jpg
7.jpg8.jpglast.jpg

This is the style that I am going for now, and I am really happy that I somehow got into this style. It's sort of simplistic but still a bit intricate. A mix of what I have learnt so far in the past years of drawing portraits.

I hope this helps people who are still struggling to find a style.


Thank you for viewing my post!

All the art I post were done by me.

Please feel free to show your support by either upvoting or resteeming!
Also, if you like what you see give me a follow here on steemit @chrsart

Find me on other platforms:

chrsarticon.JPG

Instagram
Pinterest
YouTube

Also, view my other series below!


journeyminititle.png | P1 |


artvsminititle.png | P1 | P2 | P3 | P4 | P5 | P6 | P7 | P8 | P9 |


Sort:  

yes stay positive , its best rule

yup! thanks for viewing and commenting!

i also paint and enjoy your post - i am now following you in support

Thanks! Likewise, following you! :)

Good advice here. Thank you!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.14
JST 0.029
BTC 56948.01
ETH 3056.88
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.40