The Wonderful World Of Words, 4/5/17

in #writing7 years ago

I believe in manicures.
I believe in overdressing.
I believe in primping at leisure and wearing lipstick.
I believe in pink.
I believe happy girls are the prettiest girls.
I believe that tomorrow is another day, and... I believe in miracles.
.


Audrey Hepburn





DEFINITION:

To make more beautiful, more like Adonis

SYNONYMS:

Primp
Beautify

ETYMOLOGY/ORIGIN:

Latin (adonis- + -ize "to render")

PRONUNCIATION:

[a-don-ize]
LISTEN

SCRABBLE SCORE:

8

USAGE AND EXAMPLES

He had given Ronsard full particulars about the splendid way in which Elizabeth loved to dress and "ADONISE" herself, to mix gold and pearls with her " longues tresses blondes," and he had told him how she succeeded so well in making herself admirable that the sight would move even "l'estomach d'un barbare Scythois."

--Shakespeare in France
Jean Jules Jusserand, 1899

'It's no use expecting me to bring you back into fashion if you don't ADONISE yourself a trifle.' 'Then I won't expect it,' he said amiably. 'I never was one of your dapper-dogs, and it's too late to change my habits, and if you're thinking I should look well in a wasp-waisted coat, and with the points of my collars reaching half-way up my cheeks, you are letting your imagination runn off with you, Letty - take my word for it!"

--Black Sheep
Georgette Heyer, 2008




Thank You For Reading
&
Please Upvote If You Enjoy This Blog Because We Certainly Enjoy Creating It For You!

Follow me at @wwwords for more uncommon words to add to your ever-expanding lexicon and don't forget to read each daily installment!


*unless otherwise noted, all images are in the public domain and/or original

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.31
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 64341.19
ETH 3145.13
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.00