The Wonderful World Of Words, 3/29/17

in #writing7 years ago

Do you like sailing or boating? If so, then you have probably learned to keep an eye out for this word, especially if you are on the water at night.





DEFINITION:

Noun
A lighthouse
A light-bearer

ETYMOLOGY/ORIGIN:

1548-52
Middle French, "obeliscolychnie"
Greek, "όβελιοκολύχνιον"

PRONUNCIATION:

[awblis-ko-lyke-nee]
LISTEN

SCRABBLE SCORE:

29, but it is not considered an official Scrabble word

USAGE AND EXAMPLES

I see land too : let her bear in with the harbour : I see a good many people on the beach : I see a. light on an OBELISCOLYCHNY. Shorten your sails, said the pilot ; fetch the sounding-line ; we must double that point of land, and mind the sands.

--The Works of Francois Rabelais
by Francois Rabelais, 1807

This OBELISCOLYCHNY has undoubtedly stopped our course, for it has the form of some gesture, some command, and reminds me of the masts of men's ships, as the shell that is the sea's mouth reminds me of the imprint with which the oval quills of vessels sign the violet stomach of Her Who Laughs.

--Three Early Novels
by Alfred Jarry, 2007






Thank You For Reading
&
Please Upvote If You Enjoy This Blog Because We Certainly Enjoy Creating It For You!

Follow me at @wwwords for more uncommon words to add to your ever-expanding lexicon and don't forget to read each daily installment!


*unless otherwise noted, all images are in the public domain and/or original

Sort:  

Wow, I thought it meant hanging somebody from an obelisk in Ney York City.

lol. I must say that I'm quickly growing to appreciate your etymological skills, pompe72!
:D

I hope you know the wonderful story of the US Naval Battleship's commander asking for right of passage? If not, I shall recount it to you (short form)!
Always enjoy your posts.

ebryans, I can't say that I do know that story. Pray tell!

The Captain of a US Battleship was heading into the docks. Upon sighting a light in the darkness and poor weather, he ordered his signal officer to issue the following message via morse: "Please bear to starboard, coming into dock."
The signal reported that the reply was: "Suggest you bear to starboard."
Send this growled the Captain: "I am a senior officer of the US Navy, bear to starboard."
Back came the reply: "Don't mind, suggest you bear to starboard immediately".
Damn this cheek: "This is a Battleship of the US Naval Fleet! Bear to starboard at once."
"This is a lighthouse. Your call."

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 60972.21
ETH 3388.11
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.55