The Wonderful World Of Words, 2/17/17

in #writing7 years ago (edited)

Years ago I placed a struggling newborn kitten in my bra and achieved the definition of today's word.




DEFINITION:
Verb
To revive, reanimate, refresh, or renew often by way of warming

ETYMOLOGY/ORIGIN:
Latin - "refocillo"

PRONUNCIATION:
rē-fos′il-āt
LISTEN

SCRABBLE SCORE:
16

USAGE/EXAMPLES:

By sinking into it, quoth Paræus, as into so much butter, the nose was comforted, nourish'd, plump'd up, refresh'd, REFOCILLATED, and set a growing for ever.

--Laurence Sterne
by The Life & Opinions of Tristram Shandy, Gentleman, vol. 3, 1761

His manner of studie was thus - he wore a long quilt cap, which came 2 or 3 inches at least over his eies, which served him as an umbrella to defend his cies from the light; about every 3 houres his man was to bring him a roll and a pot of ale, to REFOCILLATE his wasted spirits; so he studied, and drank, and munched some bread; and this maintained him till night, and then he made a good supper."

--University Magazine: A Literary and Philosophic Review, Vol. 59, 1862





I think it may be too late for REFOCILLATION here.


Thank You For Reading & Please Upvote If You Enjoy This Blog Because We Certainly Enjoy Creating It For You

Follow me at @wwwords for more uncommon words to add to your ever-expanding lexicon and don't forget to read each daily installment!


*unless otherwise noted, all images are in the public domain and/or original

Sort:  

I always enjoy your posts and this is wonderful as ever! A London based doctor whom I know was responsible for a street dweller who fell asleep on a bench and was pronounced dead as a result of the frost. As he had drifted away so slowly and they warmed him up so slowly, they revived his 'vitals' and brought him back to life with a kick-start! Amazing story which would qualify as a case of refocillation, I believe.
Microsoft is clearly way behind you as I have red squiggles (technical term) beneath the word.
Thank you and have a lovely weekend.

That is an amazing story and definitely a case of refocillation! My little kitten was a goner for certain, or so I thought. I was desperate to do all I could for him and I had to go to work. Even though I had my own business, I couldn't coddle him and simply didn't know what to do so I put him in my bra for warmth so I could still use my hands. To my complete amazement, in about 15 minutes he began to wriggle a bit and completely recovered! I named him Freddy.

Thank you for your encouragement!

Mammary, would have been a more apt name and given you a good laugh each time you saw him!
Thank you for all your posts, I love them!

You may be wrong about the baby wooly mammoth, she was so well frozen that potentially viable DNA has been recovered from her and attempts to clone have been made. Although not quite meeting the definition.

Lol! I thought of that when I posted. Wouldn't it be mind blowing to see a real, live Wooly Mammoth?

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 59244.49
ETH 2977.21
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.77