The Wonderful World Of Words, 3/28/17

in #writing7 years ago (edited)

Today's word has more than one meaning in modern parlance, however, we prefer to focus on the more obscure definitions and usages. After all, what fun is there in using words in a common manner?

tractor-prank-funny.gif





DEFINITION:

Verb
To make a joke, mock, or make sport of
To scoff

SYNONYMS:

jest
shenanigan
prank

ANTONYMS:

tragedy

ETYMOLOGY/ORIGIN:

1540-50, but the actual source is unknown

PRONUNCIATION:

[glēk]
LISTEN

SCRABBLE SCORE:

10

USAGE AND EXAMPLES

Pet. No money, on my faith, but the GLEEK; I will give you the minstrel.

First Mus. Then will I five you the serving creature's dagger on your pate. I will carry no crotchets: I'll re you, I'll fa you; do you note me?

First Mus. An you re us and fa us, you note us.

Sec. Mus. Pray you, put up your dagger, and put out your wit.

Pet. Then have at you with my wit! I will dry-beat you with an iron wit, and put up my iron dagger.

--Romeo and Juliet
by William Shakespeare, 1595

They had scarce plac'd themselves, when more came in, but were Anonymous, 'twas no matter, 1 could tell who and what they were, by this GLEEK of circumstances, the shrug, the shaking of the head, and tossing back the peruke with indignation: they had juft reacht the table, when the door-keeper with a great deal of breath cry'd out, "Make room for Caffus the Author of the Cenfure of the Rota; blefs me, faid I to my Friend, why is he called Caffus?"

--A Description of the Academy of the Athehian Virtuosi
printed for Maurice Atkins, 1673






Thank You For Reading
&
Please Upvote If You Enjoy This Blog Because We Certainly Enjoy Creating It For You!

Follow me at @wwwords for more uncommon words to add to your ever-expanding lexicon and don't forget to read each daily installment!


*unless otherwise noted, all images are in the public domain and/or original

Sort:  

Wow, I thought it meant pissing in your pants.

Lol. See? You learned something! It also is an ancient card game as well as that thing some people can do where they spray saliva from the ducts beneath their tongues.

Spary saliva? See, I was pretty close, leeking liquid from one's body.

Yes. Yes, you were, just in the wrong direction. ;)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 63457.41
ETH 3119.12
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.94