The Wonderful World of Words 1/9/17

in #writing7 years ago (edited)

Welcome to the first installment of
The Wonderful World of Words!


In light of the frigid and snowy weather here, I felt Niveous to be most appropriate as today's word.


DEFINITION:
1615-25; < Latin niveus snowy, snow-white, of, from snow, equivalent to niv- (stem of nix) snow + -eus -eous. Resembling snow, esp in colour

PRONUNCIATION:
https://forvo.com/word/niveous/#en

USAGE:
“As I looked out upon the niveous gleam that had blanketed the meadow, I felt a calm and peace such as I had never known.”



Do you use the word “niveous”?

Is there another uncommon word that you use for “snowy” or “snowy-white”? Please let us know because we love words!

Follow me at @wwwords for more uncommon words to add to your ever-expanding lexicon and don't forget to read each daily installment!

Until then, I must bid you adieu!

Sort:  

Wow.. I don't think I'll be throwing that word into conversations. I'm pretty sure no one will know its meaning!

Sometimes, that's the fun of it!

Hah, good point!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.13
JST 0.033
BTC 61959.02
ETH 3004.67
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.59