The Wonderful World Of Words, 3/7/17

in #writing7 years ago

My dog is definitely my best friend. He's been with me for over thirteen years, knows me better than anyone, and loves me, still.
So, I suppose today's word describes me well. What about you?




DEFINITION:

Noun
A dog fancier; a dog lover

ETYMOLOGY/ORIGIN:

Greek (cyn-, "dog" + -phil-, "love")

PRONUNCIATION:

[si·NOPH·i·list ]
LISTEN

SCRABBLE SCORE:

21

USAGE/EXAMPLES:

"From early childhood he was an enthusiastic CYNOPHILIST, and exhibited his first dog (a Fox-terrier) at Hanley Show as far back as 1873, but without success."

--Dog Shows and Doggy People
by John G. Robertson, 1991

"Always an ardent CYNOPHILIST, he some fifteen years back paid special attention to greyhounds, and as a follower of the leash in the South had a fair share of Fortune's favours."

--Country Life, Volume 10, 1901







Thank You For Reading
&
Please Upvote If You Enjoy This Blog Because We Certainly Enjoy Creating It For You!

Follow me at @wwwords for more uncommon words to add to your ever-expanding lexicon and don't forget to read each daily installment!


*unless otherwise noted, all images are in the public domain and/or original

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 58728.31
ETH 3185.59
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.43