TODAY! - One Year Old Steemit Account: Robyn Eggs [Reflection]steemCreated with Sketch.

in #writing7 years ago (edited)

untitled-201626.jpg

About me

Unemployed single mother who hates bowing down to the man when she doesn't have to. Poet, Goddess, Model, and former soldier in the Oregon Army National Guard. Don't fuck with me. Although I do have a high sex drive...

P.S. I am about to move to the country and I need your help!

1 year ago today

I joined the Steemit community per the advice of my friend @nebcat. My friend did not have the time to invest in Steemit, while I did. Today @nebcat is a level 58 and I am a level 66. Not bad considering I have posted way more often. Nebcat, however, has grossed higher payouts from his blog than I have. And believe me, he leads a more interesting life than me, being a photographer who is so good he doesn't have any time to post on Steemit...

Screen Shot 2017-09-05 at 1.24.52 PM.png Screen Shot 2017-09-05 at 1.37.42 PM.png

I am comparing my account

to my friend who referred me because this has been of most interest to me. Other users on Steemit have often said that payout on here is completely random. And I believe them. But part of me wants to believe there is a formula - a way to make several hundreds of dollars each post. But I have seen this to not be so common. Some users make a lot in the beginning and then see their payout decline rapidly as followers lose interest. Other users put in way more work than me and receive a well-deserved payout for all the attention they work for.

Me, I am an average social media user;

a "stay at home" Mom. I have more time than somebody fully employed has, and therefore a Steemit advantage. I do not, however, have the resources or the time to be on the platform more than 4 hours a day. I have limited wi-fi and no means to get a solid internet connection back. I have also been out of job since December and have had to power down my account to survive. I have used the rest of my time fighting to gain employment. And for this I am very grateful for Steemit.

11947474_1591200814460055_1551177687870818314_n.jpg

Steemit birthed a new outlet

for art for me. I had never put my poetry out on social media before. I was disheartened at every turn. Amazon Kindle/Unlimited couldn't sell my poetry compilation for me, not as seperate volumes, and not as a single ebook. But that's when @nebcat told me about Steemit. And so I did put my poetry out for the world to see. I put it on here. And, although my highest grossing blog was my history paper at ~$60, something is still better than nothing. And I have not been discouraged.

I have persevered

and continued to post, in spite of low payouts. And for that I have been rewarded with ~$2600 total cash in hand to date. That might not be enough to live on, but Steemit has helped me out when I needed it most. Steemit was there for me when nothing else pulled through, and Steemit will continue to help me, through this one last battle: moving to the rural country.

Without employment nor affordable rent in the area I currently reside, I will be forced to move.

I have (2) viable options

Salem, OR (or) Lakeview, OR.

Moving to either of these locations will help my current situation. I am unemployed, a single mom, and in charge of an extra-ordinary child who demands constant supervision. Thankfully, kiddo is old enough to be in school this year. I am, however, limited because of my offspring and the lack of a mate (second income). I must pay for day care if I work past 3:30pm, which leaves me with only day shift options. I have a small amount of fixed income, which I am awarded to by the government, of $440 a month plus $357 in food stamps. I do not qualify for additional aid. Therefore I need to relocate somewhere where:

  1. Jobs are more plentiful
  2. Rental criteria is more lenient
  3. The community is small enough to engage in, yet large enough to have (resource centers).

Salem

A popular idea, Salem will at least land me job at some point. And the rent is affordable. Some places don't require paying (3) times the rent to move in. Also, I would have a shot at a social and/or night life. The place I could afford to rent, though, would be in a bad part of town, and it would suck for awhile until I could get something better. Kiddo would have to go to a ghetto school and I would worry, making work more difficult. It's closer to family, though.

Lakeview

This place is beautiful, serene, and remote. Bu there are no jobs. My best bet there would be to do odd jobs for the retirement community, on the side, which is totally doable, especially if I keep steeming. Or I could work for the correctional facility (gross, but also doable and the pay is legit). The school is small, but I would feel safe and be close by, maybe even within walking distance. Rent here, though, is dirt bottom. I found a 3 bedroom, single family dwelling, with a fenced yard, for only $650 a month. That figure does not include utilities, and I would only need a 1 or 2 bedroom. Rentals, however, might not come open often.

~Which one should I pick?

Fellow Steemians

I want to thank you for all your upvotes, comments and resteems. I have benefited greatly from being a part of the community. I hope I can be here, to guide new users, and to curate the rest, as much as I can, for the foreseeable future. Thank you again for all that you do to support me and my son and the rest of the community. I couldn't be where I am today without you. I am very lucky to be able to be a part of such a dedicated group of artist and fellow poets.

I hope you embrace me as an artist and poet.

I hope you upvote this post today, to help me with my move at the end of the month. I could really use your help on this one. Please pray for me that I find a job and a place that works for me and my kiddo.

  • If you are still not sure what I am doing to give back to the Steemit community, that would deserve your upvote, please see my "One Human Basket" initiative by clicking the link:

One Human Basket - My Curator's Pledge

thank you_robyneggs_by_girlbeforemirror.jpg

Other Active Posts by Robyn Eggs:
PDC3K week 9 roll
PDC3K winners week 8
EE Wilson Part 1
Purple Joe Poem
Eclipse Poem for Him

Sort:  

Happy one year milestone. The important thing is that you hanged on for 1 year. I am also a veteran minnow whose earnings are also on the low side. The only difference being, I can afford to treat Steemit as a hobby and not as a source of income. But who would not hope to earn more at Steemit. I also put in a lot work to create quality content and I also take the time to interact with others through my curation and commenting. Hope that through your perseverance you will get better earnings.

Likewise!

I hope we can continue to provide a community for one another. If anything I have found a wonderful, exciting, diverse and intelligent community here on Steemit! XOXO Cheers~! Best wishes to you @positivesteem! :-)

leftbecomeslight_re.jpg

Happy Steemiversary! I am glad to have your poetry and art brighten my day. I know you will find the right place. Listen to yourself, what vibrates well with you will be the right choice.

Robyn Eggs

I met this girl on the Steem platform
Who, like me, was against the norm
A poet and artist, one of the best yet
Who writes lovely poems you'll not soon forget
Her esteem is rising by and by
It gives her wings that she may fly
Her fiery hair and fiery spirit
Makes some afraid, but, I want to be near it
She is the soul behind #onehumanbasket
Having her as a friend I will never regret

Cheers and many happy returns. Bless you!

Oh that's awesome @matthewtiii!

What a nice poem you have written for me! XOXO Love it! Cheers~! Wishing you all the best!

thankyoumat.jpg

You should choose the place you feel most comfortable and confident in, the rest will fall into place.
Good luck in whatever place you choose

Thank you for your kind words and support @fernandolopes! :-) XOXOX Cheers~!

Good luck with you choice, good luck with your journey!

Thank you so much @asbonclz!!! XOXOXOO

20170829_164227.jpg

Make a wish!!!!!

Go where life takes you. As long as you're happy then you are in the right track :)

Its 6 am here and this post inspired me. I wish you success. Steem on.

Thank you @st3llar! Wishing you many happy returns this beautiful day!

Thank you so much for your support @allgoodthings :-) Cheers~!

likewise... cheers!

Good luck dear @robyneggs!

Thank you so much @deleni!! XO Cheers!~!

Well, sorry to hear you have a tough choice to make. Personally, I think I'd have to go with Salem mainly due to more opportunities available. Super congrats on the one year anniversary. I hope things get a bit brighter for you in the year to come

Thank you so much @gringalicious!

I am hoping it wall turn out all right! Cheers and thanks so much for your upvote and support! XOXO

apple_re_3024sq.jpg

You are a strong woman, and your continued perseverance has been a source of inspiration for me. Being a single mother is not easy.

Salem or Lakeview is a hard choice. The certainty of Salem is coupled with the uncertainty of the surroundings. Personally, I would go with the safe environment of Lakeview and persevere like you always do to find some income.

<3 Well appreciated. Thank you for your support, prayers and feedback XOXOXO Cheers @lydon.sipe!
10995346_1535628896683914_7011700832036036679_n.jpg

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 59274.49
ETH 2983.07
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.75