'Purple Joe' ~ Poetry referencing the film "Joe Vs the Volcano"steemCreated with Sketch.

in #poetry7 years ago (edited)

purplejoe_cover_robyneggs.jpg

"Purple Joe"

I wrote this poem while looking out the window at the street below..

Purple again...
Stop touching your face
I'm secretly using your
Purple pen
And crying as she waves goodbye
While Joe throws his hat
As he sails off to jump
In a volcano
Boyfriend
Stays open
"Little island, big volcano"
A combination of Jews and druids
And Polynesian orange soda
He's slinging soda
Like holy fluids
Little money, big dick
The screen door stays open
I'd like to call him boyfriend
Eclipse food erupting
The house is jumping
As I toss in the hat
And cry as I wave goodbye
Taking my vape pen with me
I'm secretly using excuses
To touch my face
This graceful, purple day

II
I laugh as she leaps in
Or perhaps she was thrown?
A sea of people, joking
Through the town
Jostling, hustling
Foreign countries
Thoughts are falling
Out that window
As Joe continues
To drop water in her mouth
An expensive radio
Plays, I turn it up
Turn it up
He turns
One trick, two tricks
One ukulele later
A cowboy is born
She sleeps under the moon
A game is born
One evening later
He turns another trick or two
He turns it up for them but not for me
When you stare at the stars
Long enough
You'll have that radio
Epiphany, open-mouthed
The walk up the volcano continues
Opening up like a timeless window
Joe swears the sky is falling
Drifting off to another country
The streets outside hustle and bustle
As I sit here and write, downtown
Crying and laughing and joking
Watching the best movie known
Maybe you'll laugh as you leap in...
by @robyneggs

quote_purple.jpg


thank you_robyneggs_by_girlbeforemirror.jpg

one human basket


Sort:  

Maybe I'd swim if I dove in.... :) Nice work Robyn!

laugh as she leaps in..... laugh as you leap in - I like the repetition and alliteration of those lines

Thanks @geke!

  • If you look closely - you can see the poem inverts - as the lines approach the middle of each stanza they begin repeating words/references from their corresponding lines back out to the end...what do you think?

This is simply fantastic @robyneggs Made me smile inside and out :)

Thank you for your lovely comment @tinajordan! :-) Wishing you a lovely day!

Thank you SG! 🍇🍶

This is my favorite part :
A cowboy is born
She sleep under the moom
A game is born

Im trying to imagine the schene from this words so that I can create a story about this my favorite part.

That will be lovely! Let me know when you do! <3

Thank you! 🔙 🔛 🔝

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 60023.73
ETH 3191.15
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.45